Matching Students with Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students with Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Mario Galvez - Canberra, Canberra

Overall rating of 4.8 stars based on 46 reviews
These ratings are based on the results of a survey where students were asked to provide an honest assessment of their experience with this tutor.
Knowledge
98%
Extensive understanding of the subject
Communication
94%
Ability to communicate concepts clearly
Punctuality
99%
Always on time, notified student if unable to attend a lesson
Availability
97%
Available at a convenient time and location.
Attitude
99%
Enthusiastic, interested, patient, and courteous
Preparation
100%
Came prepared with lessons and activities
Improvement
97%
Helped student to improve in subject
Value for money
97%
Provided value for money lessons

Overall Rating 4.8

Poor Fair Adequate Good Excellent

Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Belinda 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish lessons with Mario 5 04-05-2018
I really enjoyed the Spanish class with Mario. The class was informative and fun, a beautiful language. Mario is a fantastic teacher, organised and always there on time. I highly recommend this class.

Harry 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish - Beginners 7 23-03-2018
Mario's classes are great, very engaging through interesting subjects and funny stories. Lots of focus on pronunciation in such a relaxed environment has really helped with my confidence speaking. I've found the course to be a great supplement to daily DuoLingo practice. I highly recommend Mario as a tutor.

Mario 4.0 4 4 4 4 4 5 4 5
Spanish (beginner) 8 07-03-2018
Very comical make the lesson very entertaining

Jill 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 5 05-03-2018
I am finding the class very good because it is in English and Spanish and gives me time to understand through comparison. The grammar is explained simply and good examples of use are given. There is a very good feeling in the class because Mr. Galvez uses humour to get his message across.

Marilyn 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 3 5
Beginner Spanish 8 02-03-2018
He is very personable and friendly. He knows his subject and tries hard to involve his students. Encouraging and not too formal. Im enjoying the class.

Joseph 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish lessons 5 16-11-2017
Mario is a funny guy and very engaging. I always enjoy his lessons.

Tess 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 10-11-2017
Mario is extremely approachable and encourages all students to participate in a comfortable learning environment. His approach to learning is such that there is never a feeling of embarrassment or failure. Mario address his students in a professional manner and I genuinely believe gains a level of satisfaction from watching his students achieve and progress. Mario provides positive feedback to all and maintains a pleasant attitude each and every lesson. Thanks Mario.

Ian 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Intermediate Spanish 8 28-09-2017
Mario was a great teacher. He made even the boring stuff fun. He has a passion for teaching Spanish and he is likeable, engaging and always keen to help.

Mario 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Continuing Spanish 5 13-09-2017
Mario brings a delightful exuberance to learning Spanish. He presents clear explanations and examples, supported by material he provides, and had us doing exercises which included reading text out loud - supported expertly as we worked through the texts. He also brought along modern music and supplied lyrics to the songs, which was a delightful way to get the rhythm (and breathing) for Spanish. I fully support him as a teacher.

Philip 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish Continuing at Lake Gin 8 19-08-2017
Excellent teaching and presentation.

Tessa 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 4 09-03-2017
Mario has been a fantastic and enthusiastic tutor so far and I am thoroughly enjoying his classes. I feel like I have learnt so much already and am excited to continue learning Spanish into the future. Thanks Mario! :)

Kara 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish Class Review 4 07-03-2017
Mario is a fantastic tutor, he is friendly, approachable, patient and makes the classes fun and interactive. I would recommend him to anyone wanting to learn Spanish.

Ben D 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 4 07-03-2017
I have had Mario once before as a teacher. The reason we came back to the lessons was because of his enthusiasm and knowledge. Learning a language is daunting and Mario makes it fun. I look forward to the rest of the lessons.

Aimee s 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 4 03-03-2017
Encouraging and supportive of people of all levels .

Michele 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 3 01-03-2017
Mario has good sense of humor and is very supportive and encouraging.

Meg P 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 3 01-03-2017
Mario is engaging and knowledgeable. He knows when to have fun and how to teach each student in the class

Ella 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 29-09-2016
Mario was fantastic! He was always very prepared for the class, very good at communicating the course material and always patient in answering all the questions the class had. His teaching style incorporated a variety of fun different learning techniques, such as singing and games, and he always made the classes interesting (even in the grammar components). It was a great introduction to Spanish!

Angeline 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 27-09-2016
Mario was great! He was always prepared and very enthusiastic and would send us links after each class for things we had learnt or helpful websites. I loved the singing, it was scary at first but a great way to learn!

Anne S 4.5 4 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish for Beginners 8 25-09-2016
This was a lively class, with enjoyable variety provided by the Chilean teacher, Mario Galvez. Each session covered areas such as: pronunciation, reading aloud, useful phrases, vocabulary, grammar, simple exercises, aspects of culture and songs, references to useful websites and apps. Anyone wanting to learn for travel or for general interest can acquire a lot in this friendly, light-hearted and focused environment.

Lorrae 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 4 4
Spanish 8 23-03-2016
Hola! It might be good to see some simple 'real' applications of the language, e.g. in other language classes I have taken it is useful to see simple brochures or signs or notices that we can learn to read. Also perhaps to listen to some simple conversation recordings? This extends us further than reading and repeating (which is also necessary). The songs are great!

Anne T 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Beginner Spanish 3 09-03-2016
I missed the first lesson due to travel and was overwhelmed by the second lesson as it appeared many of the students were advanced beginners. The content of the third lesson was perfect and I felt more comfortable.

Gabriel N 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 10 02-03-2016
Mario challenged and encourage us while being incredibly friendly and courteous. He was able to teach too two different skill levels at the same time. The classes seem to fly by with important and new concepts introduced and practiced each time.

Martin 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 7 06-12-2015
Excellent attitude to teaching

Karen B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Hola, disfrutar aprendiendo es 6 02-12-2015
Mario made the lessons relaxed and fun and actually learn espanol along the way Muy Bien

Janice M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Beginning Spanish 8 02-12-2015
As a recently retired person who is very busy with some paid work and lots of unpaid other activities, attending Mario's lessons was something to look forward to each week even though I was not able to practice Spanish very often at home. His classes involved a range of different activities and opportunities to improve our very flat Australian Spanish accents in a non-embarrassing way. Mario was always up-beat and positive about our attempts. His use of Spanish songs to improve our vocabulary and confidence in listening to the cadence of the language made it extra fun.

Ben D 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Spanish Beginner Class Review 4 19-11-2015
We are halfway through the term and it has been fantastic so far, the only thing I could think of is even though we have so much more to learn about the verbs and structures of sentences in Spanish we should spend a little time each lesson practicing some simple phrases or start trying to have some basic conversations. Overall Mario is a really good teacher.

Lora J 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Tutoring 8 18-11-2015
Mario is truly an excellent teacher. He makes great lessons that are easy to follow, provides the material and also informs you of ways to extend your learning on the subject (on top of this, he has a wicked sense of humour, which makes the classes very fun, as well as educational!). The lessons we had were a mix of reading, writing, pronunciation, grammar and increasing fluency. I have enjoyed these classes immensely and would highly recommend him to anyone looking to learn Spanish. Gracias Mario!

Don M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 4 17-11-2015
Excellent engaging teaching style. Each class he uses a variety of teaching methods and approaches. He is encouraging in nature and thorough in the mateial he delivers.

Katelyn 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish Tutoring Review 10 17-11-2015
Mario is a great teacher, always prepared and makes every class interesting and fun! Very pleased with the entire experience, learnt a lot about Spanish :)

Ewan M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Great tutor 8 16-09-2015
Mario is a great tutor. He keeps classes fun and engaging whilst covering complicated material.

Brendan 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 4 4
Spanish tutor review - Continu 6 12-09-2015
Loves to teach, and does so with a variety of materials that train you to readily continue improving in your own time. Mario is very approachable, patient and organised, and our 2hr group lessons at Lake Night Learning go incredibly quickly.

Katarina C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 3 25-08-2015
The Spanish course taught by Mario far exceeds my expectations. It is very well designed, expertly delivered and a pleasure to attend.

Sharon N 4.5 4 5 4 4 5 5 5 5
Spanish 5 25-08-2015
Mario's lessons are comprehensive and interesting. They aren't the usual predictable format (Lets learn to introduce ourselves). They are for people that genuinely wish to learn the language from the very beginning in an intuitive way. I highly recommend his classes

Tahleasin P 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 02-06-2015
I enjoy the classes a lot, and enjoy learning about Chile and the culture. Gracias Mario

Daniel 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 4
Spanish 5 26-03-2015
Mario, has been a great teacher. He's always very well prepared and very approachable if extra help is required. The classes are well structured, combining the technical and fundamentals of the Spanish language with the lighter and more interesting cultural side of the language. The classes are conducted I a comfortable and collegiate manner that creates a great learning environment.

Kalon 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 5 25-03-2015
Mario is a great tutor, he has made is fun and interesting and knows the language very well.

Katrina 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spinish 5 24-03-2015
Excellent tutor, interesting and funny

Sarah 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 23-03-2015
Mario accompanies a friendly and inclusive teaching style with an unquestionable depth of knowledge which has made learning Spanish fun! Mario goes above and beyond to be helpful and accommodating; his lessons have given me great confidence and I look forward to testing out my new skills in Spanish when I travel later this year :) ˇGracias, Mario!

Adam R 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 4 4
Beginner Spanish 3 19-03-2015
Mario was was well qualified, enthusiastic and keen for his students to progress. His technique was innovative with students wanting to learn more of the subject. I would recommend him to any beginner in the subject.

Chris 4.5 4 4 5 4 5 5 5 4
Review 4 19-03-2015
Different teaching techniques and fun, charismatic teacher. Encourages questioning material so we can learn more. Improved my spanish and understanding of the language and culture

Rowena 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish tutoring 4 17-03-2015
Mario has a great sense of humour and always makes lessons fun and enjoyable. He demonstrates exceptional skills teaching a group and engages each class member. Very knowledgable and helpful- ˇMucho gracias Mario!

Kathy 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 3 15-03-2015
Good variety of teaching techniques and great ability to teach adults. Learning Spanish is enjoyable!

Stewart F 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 14-03-2015
Mario is great. Wants the best for all his students.

Emilia D 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 8 14-03-2015
Mario is an excellent teacher. his teaching techniques are fun and make learning easy

Robyn B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 4 14-03-2015
Lessons never boring, lots of variety. Interesting approach to language acquisition. Friendly, knowledgeable and has phenominal memory! Gracias.

Jay Y 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Engineering 20 22-09-2014
Mario is a fantastic tutor and has been an enormous help with my tertiary studies. He is a great communicator and this, along with his willingness to work at an appropriate pace, meant I was able to get a thorough understanding of the subject matter that we looked at and my marks have improved significantly as a direct result. I'd recommend Mario to anyone studying any engineering or maths disciplines -he has been a fantastic help to me and has helped improve my understanding of the topics significantly.