Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Dr Agnese Bresin

 Melbourne - Reservoir

Highly qualified Italian tutor. More subjects available

Melbourne tutor in Italian, Maths, English, History, Geography, Essay Writing, German, Spanish, IELTS, TOEFL, Society and Culture, Algebra, Calculus, Geometry

(3 student reviews)

Ciao!

My name is Agnese. I am an Italian native speaker with a PhD in Italian linguistics from the University of Melbourne. I am passionate about teaching my language, but I can also help you with a variety of subjects, such as Maths, English, Linguistics, Spanish, German, History, Geography, etc.

Whether you are a university student, a VCE student, a primary school kid, a vocational learner, a beginner or a very advanced learner... I can assist you with your learning. Your goals are what matters to me. We can build strategies together to develop and refine your learning skills, making sure that, with each class, we work towards your goals and also that we have a good time in the process. Learning is fun! :-)

Contact

Experience

Institutional roles at tertiary level:
2019 Lecturer in Italian studies at La Trobe University, Melbourne. Subjects: Italian 1, 2 and 5.
2013 – now Sessional tutor at the University of Melbourne. Subjects: Italian 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7. Language and Society in Europe.
2017 – now Sessional tutor at La Trobe University. Subjects: Italian 1, 2, 5 and 6.
2018 – now Indigenous Tutorial Assistant at the University of Melbourne. Subjects: Language, Culture and Society. Italian 2. Intercultural communications.

Institutional roles at secondary level:
2011 – 2012 Comenius Program, European Union. English language assistant teacher in secondary school. Kosice, Slovakia.
2009 Co.As.It. Italian language assistant teacher in Epping Secondary College.
2005 – 2006 British Council Scotland. Italian language assistant teacher in a secondary school. Glasgow, Scotland.

Private tutoring:
From 2001, I helped students of all levels and backgrounds in many subjects, including Maths, English, German, Italian, Spanish, History, Geography, Linguistics. Whilst my area of expertise is Italian (I am also a native speaker of Italian), I am able to assist students in a wide range of subjects. This is because I have a holistic approach that looks at the student(s) with all their needs, including motivation, study strategies, emotional support, identification of key concepts, presentation skills, memorisation etc. I value my relationship with each of my students and I appreciate the uniqueness of their life experiences, their personalities and, above all, their aspirations.

Qualifications

- PhD in Italian sociolinguistics (2017), University of Melbourne.
- Specialist Certificate in Teaching for Graduate Researchers (2014), University of Melbourne. First class honours.
- M.A., Modern Languages and Literature (2008), La Sapienza University, Rome, Italy. English and German. 110/110 cum laude.
- B.A., Translation and Interpretation (2003), Scuola Superiore per Interpreti e Traduttori Carlo Bo, Rome, Italy. English and German.

Rates

$50 per hour

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 26-Sep-2022 (details available on request)

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 12-Apr-2021 (updated profile on 05-Oct-2021)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Tutor's Place in Reservoir
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

English (Secondary)
Essay Writing (Secondary)
IELTS (Secondary, Tertiary)
TOEFL (Secondary, Tertiary)

Maths

Algebra (Secondary)
Calculus (Secondary)
Geometry (Secondary)
Maths (Secondary)

Language

German (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)
Italian (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)
Spanish (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)

Social Science

Geography (Primary, Secondary)
History (Primary, Secondary)
Society and Culture (Secondary)

"Agnese was extremely helpful to me during my exam times. The one on one Italian discussions combined with feedback are very useful in language acquisition, and personally I think I learnt Italian faster during my time with her than I did at any other point in the year. Online lessons were not an issue, though personally it's always nicer in person. That wasn't really a choice though due to COVID-19. Overall, I had a very positive experience."

Yiannis    
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors