Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Ashley Akers

 Melbourne - Balwyn

For students who struggle in traditional classrooms like I used to

Melbourne tutor in Creative Writing, EAL, English, English Literature, ESL, Essay Writing, Japanese, Management, Reading, photography, videography

My tutoring is for Primary to Secondary students who struggle in traditional classrooms like I used to. It's for kids who need content delivered in an alternative way so they can understand it. Because it is possible to get there with the right teaching. (Believe me, I did it.)

There's lots of tutors here boasting about the highest ATAR's and study scores. You want to know what my study scores were? Let's just say they weren't great and I may have only finished VCE when I was 20 years old at TAFE. But you know what my University marks are? HDs and a WAM of 82%. Because by quitting high school the first time (unable to learn in a traditional classroom), working jobs, returning to VCE, working different careers and finally starting uni as a mature age student, I learnt how my brain works. I learnt how to adapt traditional study for my non-traditional brain. I learnt that it actually is possible for me to learn, I just need to do it the right way, not the traditional way.

That's what motivated me to start uni and pursue a teaching career. I was unsatisfied with every career I tried, so I quit everything for a working holiday in Tokyo. It was a particularly smart but distracted 11 year old girl I was tutoring that inspired me to become a teacher. She reminded me of myself when I was in school (maybe without the smart part), and I wanted to figure out a way to make the content work for her. I wanted it to be engaging because learning was the problem I had. It wasn't my ability to understand the content, it was my ability to learn it in a classroom setting designed for 90% of students. That's when I knew I had to become a teacher. I had to help those that needed it explained just slightly different like I did. So I immediately enrolled in uni. Now as I've completed my undergraduate, I'm about to start a Masters in Teaching. Any passions I have will quickly develop into further skills. I'm excited to understand how the child learns and adapt/explain content in this way.

I'm very laidback, but organised and efficient. One of the reasons I delayed university so long was because I didn't think I could do it. I didn't think I could learn like university wanted me to learn. But what I realised was: I just had to figure out how I learnt, and adapt the university content to work for me. And because of this, I have not only learnt the content, but I've learnt how to understand learning and alternative approaches to learning.

Available: Most of the time around university classes including weekends, afternoons, evenings and some daytimes. Travel: I can travel a little bit. But I'm on public transport/bicycle (uni student--keeping it cheap), so if I get busy, I will prioritise nearby.
Areas: Primary - All areas. Secondary: English/ESL, early years Japanese (not VCE).

Contact

Experience

I've done ESL tutoring in Tokyo, covering a range of primary school aged children (6-11) and adults, including conversation and advanced topics like Maths vocabulary.

Qualifications

I have a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Creative and Professional Writing (essay writing, creative writing, literature, etc) and minoring in Japanese, with a WAM of 82% (HD). I have just accepted an offer to study a Masters of Teaching in Primary and Secondary (English/ESL) in 2022.

I also have a Certificate IV in Marketing and Communications. I have worked for years in restaurant management, photography and videography.

Rates

$30 here. $35 there.

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 07-Jun-2026 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 25-Nov-2021 (updated profile on 31-Dec-2021)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Balwyn
  • Home Visits within 5 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary)
EAL (Primary, Secondary)
English (Primary, Secondary)
English Literature (Primary, Secondary)
ESL (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)

Business

Management (Secondary)

Language

Japanese (Introduction)

Other Subjects

photography, videography
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors