Matching Students with Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students with Tutors

Miss Ayshah Pearson

 Adelaide

Biology Teacher

Adelaide tutor in Biology, Human Biology, Microbiology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, General Science, Special Needs, Essay Writing, English, Maths, Algebra, Anatomy, Calculus, Maths Methods, Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Sociology, Society and Culture, Creative Writing, Geography, Reading

I travel to these locations
Metropolitan Adelaide and surrounding suburbs

Hello everyone!

I'm a qualified secondary school teacher (I teach the big kids) who specialises in tutoring Year 5-10 science - all subjects, Year 8-11 geology, Year 9-12 biology, Year 9-12 chemistry, and Year 7-12 mathematics. In addition, I have experience in tutoring undergraduate biology students. Likewise, I have tutored first year university students in writing distinction-worthy essays.

Why am I into tutoring? Well I love tutoring for the following reasons: I find it rewarding, am a huge fan of researching new things myself, and consider education the most important thing in life! :)

I am super enthusiastic about what I do, professional, friendly, & easy to approach. I can also cater for EALD Learners and possess an understanding of how to empathise with + teach students who may be highly intelligent - even intellectually gifted, but have a learning difficulty. For example, a student with dyslexia, ADHD (attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder) or an ASD (autism spectrum disorder). I myself have a form of ASD ;) Albeit mild, it is one of the many reasons why I feel I can really sympathise with diverse learners.

Moreover, I don't view tutoring as just another money-making avenue, nor as a way to boost my curriculum vitae. Rather, I choose to do this because I love nothing more than making a positive difference in students' lives, encouraging them to believe in themselves, and seeing their hard work obtain the results that they deserve. Plus, I'm a huge nerd and genuinely take an interest in the subject matters I teach (my friends will tell you that I'd rather watch David Attenborough's Blue Planet II DVDs over commercial television, ANY day).

I have a full drivers license, car, + office space if need be. I prefer to tutor at private residences though, or in a local library (for instance one of the Adelaide CBD libraries, Hamra Library or Glenelg Library).

I am available to tutor most days from 10am until 8pm, except on Thursday and Saturday.

After spending quality time preparing for my fun and engaging tutorials before they begin, I generally start my lessons with re-capping learned material. I then introduce new concepts or information, & finally, I sometimes move on to testing if I feel it is necessary. I always use visual aids (such as a mini white board I bring with me and markers of all colours of the rainbow, bright and colourful PowerPoint slides and/or flash cards. Sometimes, for the younger students, I even bring play dough) because I think it makes learning easier and more fun. It's annoying how text books just have lots and lots and lots of never ending words words words, with hardly any decent PICTURES... gross! ;) I know. I've experienced that myself. I've been there, and I hated it. Hate hate hate. This is where I step in and endeavour to make learning more engaging.

I have had 1.5 years of experience in tutoring, & am looking to add many more years to that.

Thanks for reading & I hope to hear from you soon,

Ayshah Pearson of TUTOR TIME
TUTOR TIME Mobile Phone Number: please email me for this.

Contact

Experience

1.5 years experience tutoring 11 different secondary school pupils from South Australia and Queensland, + 5 Adelaide-based undergraduate university students. All awesome. Reviews are available upon request.

Qualifications

Year 12 Certificate. VCE, UAI or ATAR score of 88.7 (& this is despite attending a government or state school in a relatively lower socio-economic area, and coming from a working-class + single-parent background. You do NOT have to spend heaps of money, attend a top private school, or be at the library every single day for hours upon hours reading text books to achieve high grades. I found that it was more about strategy, using visual aids, focusing on the most relevant information and spending time on THAT, taking advantage of what your school/uni/local libraries have to offer, and of course maximising potential. With this being said, however, I was raised by my dad who used to be a teacher and is now a lecturer lol, so I can't lie, that helped).

Bachelor of Science majoring in biology from the Australian National University or ANU. Distinction Average, and that was achieved with a part-time job plus hobbies playing hockey and soccer in my free time.

Queensland's equivalent of SA's Master of Education, or more specifically: Postgraduate Diploma of Education (Secondary) from Queensland University of Technology or QUT. Distinction Average, and in the last semester I was achieving High Distinctions in absolutely everything, merely due to spending more attention to detail, such as perfecting my reference lists. More than happy to prove. And if I can do it, then YOU can do it too! ;-)

Rates

$60 for the first 1.5 hours (I prefer to work in 1.5 hour blocks, as I believe this is better for the student), then a further $50 if a second 1.5 hour block is purchased to take place straight after.

FREE first meeting to establish what is being learned and major goals, and evaluate work completed so far.

Student Discount

Special Offer - $195 for 5 x 1.5 hour tutorials. AMAZING value!

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in South Australia until 14-Jul-2020 (details available on request)

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 17-Dec-2017 (updated profile on 10-Sep-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Adelaide
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Adelaide

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary)
English (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)

Maths

Algebra (Primary, Secondary)
Calculus (Primary, Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary)
Maths Methods (Primary, Secondary)
Statistics (Secondary)

Science

Anatomy (Secondary)
Biochemistry (Secondary)
Biology (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Chemistry (Secondary)
General Science (Primary, Secondary)
Human Biology (Primary, Secondary)
Microbiology (Secondary)
Physics (Secondary)

Social Science

Geography (Primary, Secondary)
Psychology (Secondary)
Society and Culture (Secondary)
Sociology (Tertiary)
Special Needs (Primary, Secondary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region