Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Christine Nowotny

 Perth - Doubleview

Perth tutor in Creative Writing, English, Maths, Reading, Special Needs

(9 student reviews)

I am a literacy specialist with a Bachelor of Education degree majoring in the teaching of reading. I have been in education for over 30 years and am currently teaching in a western suburbs' school in Perth, Western Australia.

I have been involved in delivering a literacy programme called "Cracking the ABC Code" for the past four years and the results have been quite extraordinary. Its primary focus is not only on teaching phonics, but also moving knowledge from short term memory to long time memory, which has been proven to be fundamental to learning, especially with regard to the enhancement of literacy skills.

The programme extends over 14 weeks which includes a comprehensive diagnostic pre- assessment, a 12 week individualised instructional programme and a comprehensive post-assessment. This literacy programme has proven to be highly successful with results increasing reading and spelling age by up to 4 years.

I have always had a passion for improving students' literacy and see them achieve success and enjoy the academic journey.

I have recently been preparing many primary school students for the NAPLAN tests in both literacy and numeracy. The students under my tuition have achieved some excellent results.

I am available Wednesday, Thursday and Friday from 7:30am to 6pm and Saturday and Sunday from 9am.

Contact

christine.nowotny52@gmail.com
0414912070

Experience

I am currently teaching two days in a primary school in Nedlands, Western Australia as
well as delivering a literacy programme called " Cracking the ABC Code" which has
improved students" reading and spelling up to 4 years over a 12 week period.

Since the NAPLAN tests have been introduced Australia wide, I have been tutoring
students from Year 3 to Year 9 in both literacy and Mathematics.

I am available to tutor on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays from
9am to 5:30pm.

Qualifications

Diploma in Teaching
Bachelor of Education

Rates

$90 per hour

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined TutorFinder on 24-Apr-2011 (updated profile on 23-Mar-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Doubleview
  • Online Help

  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Doubleview

English

Creative Writing (Primary)
English (Primary)
Reading (Primary)

Maths

Maths (Primary)

Social Science

Special Needs (Primary)

"My daughter has now been seeing Christine for about 1 1/2 years. Her school teachers identified she was struggling with her spelling and reading. During this time we have been doing the "Cracking the ABC Code" program. Over this time Jess has made significant improvements in spelling, writing and reading and now reads a book a week and loves borrowing my Kindle. Christine has been instrumental in helping Jess with all of this. She has amazing patience, a good sense of humour and has developed a great teacher relationship with Jess meaning she never minds going back each week for more work! I would recommend Christine highly to any-one seeking help with their childs English Thanks!"

Monique Sandford     
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region