Matching Students with Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students with Tutors

Ms Claire Grant

 Canberra - Acton

Experienced Psychology and English Tutor

Canberra tutor in English Literature, Psychology

I travel to these locations
CBD, Northern Suburbs, Southern Suburbs, University, Library

Hi! My name is Claire. I am a 19 year old student currently studying Arts/Law at the ANU. My main areas of interest and academic excellence throughout my schooling, both secondary and tertiary, have been Psychology and English Literature. In both areas I have previous experience tutoring.

I base my tutoring strategy around 2 key areas, 1) subject demand and 2) client preference.

In my initial session I like to consider how the materials are being presented from the school and then how they may be examined, whether the main focus seems to be on short answer questions or essay writing, for example.

Then I try and understand how the client likes to study, what their habits are and what areas they feel they are weak in. I believe the best methods incorporate skills across oral debate, written response, rote learning (e.g. dates, quotes), and visual diagrams.

I am happy to come to you or have you come meet me, whether at a library, cafe, or study area in my on-campus accomodation.

Afternoons from Wednesday to Friday and during the day on weekends are best for me, and am happy to do sessions from 1 hour as well as longer ones, particularly before exams.

If you're interested in contacting me, calling my mobile is the easiest way and I will always call back within the day if I miss you.

Contact

Experience

I have a years worth experience tutoring years 11-12 in Psychology, and experience tutoring years 7-9 English Literature

Qualifications

I completed the International Baccalaureate in 2016 at Wesley College Melbourne and am currently studying a Bachelor of Law and a Bachelor of Arts (Psychology major, Philosophy minor).

I also currently hold a Working With Children's Check and have previous experience working with secondary school students as a tennis coach.

Rates

$50 per hour

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 17-Aug-2018 (updated profile on 17-Aug-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Acton
  • Home Visits within 8 kms
  • Online Help
  • Private Tuition
Tutor in Acton

English

English Literature (Primary, Secondary)

Social Science

Psychology (Secondary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region