Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Georgia Bushell

 Melbourne - Preston

Professional Tutor in VCE Maths and High School Maths

Melbourne tutor in Algebra, Calculus, Further Maths, Legal Studies, Maths, Maths Methods, Statistics

I travel to these locations
Online, Melbourne, Northern Suburbs, Preston, Northcote, Coburg, Brunswick, Essendon, Hawthorn, Kew

(1 student review)

Melbourne Tutor in VCE Further Maths, VCE Maths Methods (year 11 only for new students), and High School Maths (8-10).

Contact

Experience

I have extensive tutoring experience and have supported many students to achieve academic success in high school maths, VCE Further Mathematics, VCE Methods, VCE Psychology, VCE Legal Studies, and Law School Subjects (LLB and JD).

While I have experience in many areas of mathematics, I have a keen interest and specialise in high school maths from years 7 - 10, as well as students undertaking VCE Further Mathematics.

As a result of the many years of working closely with students and parents, I believe that many students are not supported or pushed adequately in the early years of high school to develop the essential mathematical foundations, problem solving skills, and visual mathematical associations that are critical for success in VCE mathematics.

Thus, I enjoy and largely focus on working with students who need assistance building solid mathematical foundations in early to middle school years, with a view to helping them succeed long-term in VCE mathematics. Please note that for this reason, I only progress students into maths methods and specialist maths if they either have worked with me from junior school and I am confident that they will be able to handle advanced maths subjects.

Regarding General and Further Mathematics, my goal is to help students who otherwise fear mathematics or who have fallen behind in mathematics, gain confidence and proficiency in working with mathematical concepts. This allows my students to gain an appreciation for the statistical, financial, discrete logic and other skills that will be learned in this subject and apply them to their main pursuits such as psychology, logistics, business, accounting, and computing/coding.

My tutoring style involves ensuring that my students understand problems through a variety of learning methods and perspectives. In addition to helping students with the current subject matter covered in their classes, I provide additional instruction and exercises to close existing gaps in the student's knowledge and problem solving skills. I also encourage and provide ongoing support and coaching between sessions via email to ensure that my students are kept engaged with the material.

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE:

My professional experience in Neuroscience involves working at Harvard Medical School in a neuroscience laboratory (MRI imaging) for two years, as well as completing two summer internships in neuroscience at the National Institutes of Mental Health and the Stanley Brain Research laboratory.

My professional experience in law involves working at a top tier law firm for two years, as a law graduate (articled clerk) and solicitor (Commercial litigation, Intellectual Property, Banking and Finance). I also completed seasonal clerkships at top-tier firms (Intellectual Property), and worked as a volunteer solicitor in a community legal service for a year.

I also have considerable general experience in teaching adults and kids of all ages, as I was a part-time tennis coach for 3 years, in addition to having worked as a volunteer assistant tennis coach for the MIT women's tennis team while I was in Boston.

Qualifications

DEGREES, DIPLOMAS AND LICENCES:

B.A. Psychology (biopsychology/neuroscience), Magna Cum Laude (3.79/4.0), State University of New York at Stony Brook.

JD, Juris Doctor, Second Class Honours (74%), University of Melbourne Law School.

B.Computer Science (in progress), University of New England (Current GPA: 7.0/7.0)

GDLP, Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice, College of Law.

20 October 2009 - Admission to practice as an Australian Lawyer in the Supreme
Court of Victoria. November 2009 - Admission to practice in the Federal Court of
Australia, and High Court of Australia.

Tennis Australia Junior Development Coaching Qualification and Certificate III in Sports Coaching.

I also hold a current Working with Children Check and police record check (within 12 months), which are both available upon request.

ACHIEVEMENTS:

During my law degree, I received the subject prizes for Evidence Law and Criminal Law.

During my undergraduate degrees, I received 90% or higher in 13 subjects (from social psychology to special topics in biopsychology). I also received 90% or higher in subjects ranging from mathematics, philosophy, biology, python programming, and statistics, to creative writing.

I also received the school prizes for English and English Extension in Years 11 and 12 of High School (QLD - Kelvin Grove State High School).

Rates

Please read carefully the 2019 Rates below:

Local Rate Students (My home, Online, Coburg, Thornbury, Preston only)*:
$60 - for students years 7-9
$70 - for students years 10-12.

Standard Location Rates: All other locations, as stated above:
$70 per hour - Standard rate for students in years 7-8.
$80 per hour - Standard rate for students in years 9-12, university students, and professionals.

Other locations - please contact me regarding locations outside the above areas. Non-catchment fees will usually apply.

Payment methods and timing
Cash, Credit Card (1.9% fee), or direct transfer on the day of tuition (face-to-face)
*Payment must be made in advance for online tutorials

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 25-Jul-2014 (updated profile on 21-Oct-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Tutor's Place in Preston
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Private Tuition

Maths

Algebra (Secondary)
Calculus (Secondary)
Further Maths (Secondary)
Maths (Secondary)
Maths Methods (Secondary)
Statistics (Secondary)

Social Science

Legal Studies (Secondary)

"One thing Georgia has done is gone above and beyond is to provide ongoing support. Anytime I had a question or a concern, Georgia would give it more than due time and attention to explain and resolve things. It didn't matter how long it took, Georgia would see things through to the end. If there was a pressing matter, Georgia would manage to fit me in. It is markedly inexpensive tutoring given the time, attention and knowledge she brings to the table. I am forever indebted to her. Thankyou Georgia, you made everything better."

Anon    
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors