Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Hilary Bowman

 Melbourne - Yarraville

Specialist Philosophy tutor

Melbourne tutor in Essay Writing, Philosophy

Hi!

I am a friendly, experienced and professional tutor, and I am looking forward to helping students achieve the best results they can!

I am a PhD student at the University of Melbourne, in the Department of Paediatrics. My area of research is in bioethics. I am also working as a research assistant in the same field. I have a BA/BSc(Hons) from Monash University. In my science degree, my major was genetics and molecular biology, and I received a H1 for my Honours thesis (N.B. my Honours thesis was focused on ethics of genetic technologies). In my arts degree, I have a double major in philosophy and classical studies. I also have a Diploma of Languages in German, and have completed a year of classical studies and Latin, in German, at the Free University of Berlin. I have been a participant in a bioethics program at Yale University in the United States.

I have extensive experience working with children and young adults, in both an employment and volunteer capacity. I am personable and friendly, and know how to work with you to get the best results. I am very experienced working with younger children. For older students, I know the mechanics of the VCE system for the subjects I teach very well and can help guide you through such subjects with careful attention to the study design.

I completed my VCE in 2009 at Mac.Robertson Girls' High School, with an ENTER of 98.20. My subjects were Latin, English Language, Philosophy, Mathematical Methods, Chemistry and Psychology.

I have extensive private tuition experience at the secondary and tertiary level. I have also worked at Melbourne Grammar (Grimwade House), Footscray City Primary School, and as a private nanny and tutor in Germany. I have worked and volunteered extensively with youth-focused organisations such as SYN Media and Very Special Kids. I have a current Working with Children Check.

I believe the best way to achieve concrete results is to really start off with a good idea of what you're aiming for and what learning style is the best way for you to achieve that - it's not all rote learning! There are different ways to achieve results in different subjects. Subjects such as philosophy require development of critical thinking skills and their application.

VCE Philosophy is my specialised subject. I am also happy to tutor in general essay writing skills and GAMSAT prep.

Email is a preferred method of contact, but I am happy to have a chat to you about your studies anytime.

I am located in Yarraville and can drive reasonable distances (within 10km).

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Hilary

Contact

Experience

I have extensive experience in the private tutoring sector, with a variety of age groups.

Qualifications

BA/BSc(Hons)
Dip. Lang.

Rates

My rates are $50p/h. I am happy to do group tuition; for each additional student please
add $10.

Please note that if significant travel is required, a reasonable travel fee will be charged to cover petrol costs.

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 26-Jun-2023 (details available on request)

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 21-Dec-2009 (updated profile on 14-Feb-2019)
Tutoring Location
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)

Social Science

Philosophy (Secondary, Tertiary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region