Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr John Fox

 Gold Coast - Southport

Qualified High School Maths Teacher. Experienced Tutor.

Gold Coast tutor in Further Maths, Maths, Maths Methods

I travel to these locations
Southport

Hello, my name is John,

I'm offering Maths Tuition to high school students in Southport (Gold Coast). I'm a registered Teacher and have been Teaching for a couple of years in a School in Melbourne (St. Columba's), however recently moved back home to the Gold Coast. I have extensive tutoring experience (QLD, VCE & IB) and a strong background in Maths. About 18 months ago I created an online mathematics resource (www.revisionvillage.com) which is now my day-to-day focus now that it's making some revenue. It is going very well, and I look to supplement this with some tutoring in the afternoons/ evenings.

I believe my strengths lie in communicating simply to students and can also offer advice on exam strategy, studying habits and graphics calculator tips and tricks. One of my strategies with students is to work regularly on a whiteboard, as I have found students are far more inclined to 'have a go' and not be scared to make mistakes when they can just wipe it off with their finger. This leap of not being scared of mistakes is critical with a students maths progression.

I believe the ideal tutoring arrangement for a student who makes actual fundamental progression (rather than band-aid solutions) is 2 x 90 minute sessions per week in person, then access to the tutor in other hours for quick help with questions via a messaging platform (email, messenger etc, which ever the parents/ student is most comfortable with). I am looking for this arrangement with 2 families, and will offer this service at $150 per week.

If this sounds like a good arrangement for you, please feel free to get in touch at the contact details below:

johnfox1@gmail.com
0408066930

Thanks!

John

Contact

Experience

Extensive tutoring in QLD in the OP and IB curriculum.

Created and now run an online maths exam revision website for students studying IB: www.revisionvillage.com

This will give you an idea of my teaching and explanation style :)

Qualifications

Bachelor of Engineering.
Graduate Diploma in Education (Mathematics).
Registered Teacher with QLD College of Teachers.
Working with Children Check.

Rates

$50 per hour

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 23-Jun-2022 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 21-Mar-2013 (updated profile on 15-May-2019)
Tutoring Location
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Online Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

Maths

Further Maths (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Maths Methods (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region