Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Laura Gibson

 Melbourne - Doncaster

English, Literature and ESL tutor (ATAR 99.75)

Melbourne tutor in English, English Literature, ESL, EAL

I travel to these locations
Eastern suburbs (Doncaster, Camberwell, Kew)

I have extensive qualifications and expertise in English literature and English as a Second Language, and many years of tutoring experience.

I was educated at private girls' school in Melbourne, and achieved an ATAR of 99.75. I received a perfect score of 50 for English and Health, and 48 for Literature. I was awarded my school's academic prizes for English, Literature, Australian History, and Health and Human Development.

I studied Arts/Law at the University of Melbourne, and graduated with First Class Honours in English. I completed an additional Honours by Research year, and received a First Class Honours grade for my thesis in English literature. I have also completed the Cambridge Certificate of English Language Teaching to Speakers of Other Languages (CELTA) and received the highest possible grade.

In my legal career I specialised in the education sector, and I have many years experience working as a senior advisor in University management. I always wanted to teach and now that I have two young children of my own, I am enrolled in the 2020 Master of Teaching (Secondary) at the University of Melbourne.

I love teaching and tutoring and I really enjoy helping my students. I tailor my teaching to you, and your specific needs. I am friendly and professional. In our sessions, I will follow what your teacher has set for you, working with you to achieve the best possible marks. I can help you with understanding the complexities of a text, language analysis, understanding essay questions, planning a well-structured essay, and written expression. I specialise in teaching English for years 7-10, VCE English, VCE Literature, and English as a Second Language for teenagers and adults.

I am available on weekday evenings after 7pm, and I have some weekend timeslots. I live in Doncaster and I'm happy to travel short distances to neighbouring suburbs (Doncaster, Doncaster East, Bulleen, Lower Templestowe, Templestowe, Balwyn, Balwyn North, East Kew, Kew, Box Hill, Box Hill North, Mont Albert North, Blackburn North).

I hold a current Working With Children Check. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me. I offer the initial meeting free of charge to give you the opportunity to interview me and decide whether I am the right tutor for you.

Contact

Experience

I am very experienced tutoring year 7-12 English and Literature, and English as a Second Language for teenagers and adults.

Qualifications

VCE (ATAR 99.75, study score of 50 for English, 48 for Literature, 50 for Health)
Bachelor of Arts majoring in English Literature (University of Melbourne)
Bachelor of Laws (University of Melbourne)
Honours by Research in English Literature (University of Melbourne, first class honours)
Cambridge Certificate of English Language Teaching to Speakers of Other Languages (CELTA, grade A)

Rates

$75 per hour

Student Discount

Special Offer - First meeting free of charge

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 02-Apr-2019 (updated profile on 13-May-2019)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Doncaster
  • Home Visits within 5 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

EAL (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
English (Secondary)
English Literature (Secondary)
ESL (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors