Matching Students with Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students with Tutors

Mr Leo Mares

 Melbourne - Brunswick

Experienced tutor offering music and academic tutoring

Melbourne tutor in English Literature, Essay Writing, Japanese, Keyboard, Music Theory, Musicianship, Philosophy, Piano, Psychology, Reading

I travel to these locations
CBD, Northern Suburbs, and any libraries in those areas, Melbourne University

I am an experienced Melbourne based tutor that can teach in a number of academic subjects. I completed VCE in 2016, achieving dux of my school and an ATAR of 99.35. Since graduating high school, I have taught a myriad of students — both in classroom settings or 1 on 1. My particular specialisations are in VCE English and junior english, however I have sufficient experience tutoring all subjects listed.

Currently, I am in my second year of a Bachelor of Arts degree at the University of Melbourne, majoring in Psychology, Philosophy and Japanese. Concurrent to my degree, I am studying piano with a teacher at the Australian National Academy of Music and am currently at around LmusA level. I am also able to teach piano, and would be very open to tutoring students in music theory and musicianship also — in particular, VCE music subjects.

I have a real passion for teaching both in academic and musical disciplines, and find the exchange of knowledge to be an immensely fulfilling process. I very much enjoy building a rapport with students and helping them to meet their goals.

I would prefer if lessons are held at the State Library of Victoria or any Melbourne University or library near Carlton, however I would consider coming to students' homes if necessary. I would be happy to structure lessons as students see fit — this could involve helping students to workshop their current or previous assignments in order to achieve better outcomes. However, I would also be willing to devise a mini curriculum or study plan if that is what students require.

I am available most of the day Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I am also available Monday evenings. Other times would definitely be negotiable if this is necessary. Contact me via email at leomares@mailite.com or on my mobile, 0435 452 451. Cheers!

Contact

Experience

In 2017 and 2018, I was employed for ten months as Junior English tutor at the Broadmeadows branch of The Intuition Centre — a weekend tutoring school. This involved tutoring 90 minute classes of 1-5 students in English from year levels 5-9, using a curriculum similar to the Australian English curriculum. For the majority of 2018 I worked at Meridian One, a private tutoring service. My role was predominately tutoring year 11 and 12 students in VCE English, however I also covered VCE Literature, Psychology, Philosophy, and all VCE Music subjects. In addition, a large part of my work was dedicated to providing practical advice to students on how they could hone their study and organisational skills in order to improve their marks. This often entailed reviewing past assessments with students and helping them to critically reflect on what they needed to work on in future study. At Meridian One I also gave regular seminars to large groups of students on exam and study strategies for various VCE subjects. I also have experience doing independent private tutoring and teaching piano to a variety of students.

Qualifications

I completed VCE in 2016 achieving Dux of my school and an ATAR of 99.35. My raw study scores were:

English Literature: 48; Psychology: 42; Philosophy: 39; Music Performance: 43; Music Style and Composition: 46 (received Premiers award and #1 score in Victoria); Music Investigation: 50.

I am half way through my Bachelor of Arts degree and have a GPA of 84. I would be very much open to tutoring any subjects (or similar subjects to those) that I've completed at University so far.

The school I attended was the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School — a select-entry specialist school for the performing arts, where students spend half their day completing an academic curriculum and the other half of the day studying their specialist discipline. My discipline was classical piano and I have played for around 10 years — I'm currently still studying piano and am at about LmusA level.

Some awards I've received for music are:
1st prize in VCASS/Austral Salon’s Outstanding Soloist Competition for Instrumental Music, 2016
Recipient of the Ian Harrison Composers Award, 2016
Recipient of the Phyllis McDonald Scholarship for Piano, 2016
Grand Finalist and Distinction Award winner in Melbourne Youth Orchestra’s ‘Virtuosity’ Concerto Competition, 2016

Rates

$40 per hour

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 17-Aug-2018 (updated profile on 30-Aug-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Brunswick
  • Home Visits within 7 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Brunswick

English

English Literature (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)

Language

Japanese (Introduction, Intermediate)

Social Science

Philosophy (Secondary, Tertiary)
Psychology (Secondary, Tertiary)

Music

Keyboard (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)
Music Theory (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)
Musicianship (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)
Piano (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region