Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Liam McIntyre

South toowoomba, Brisbane

Mr Liam McIntyre Brisbane Tutor in Computing, Biology, Microbiology

I teach programming/coding in python.

I am a Bioinformatician - a scientist who studies DNA using programming. I have been teaching and tutoring on and off for many years in fields such as biology, english and programming. I have taught a wide range of people from a wide range of backgrounds and cultures. For example, I taught basic science to a class of year 7 and 8 students in Mexico for a year and more recently I was teaching advanced programming skills to PhDs in Adelaide.

Given the government is dragging its feat adding programming to the Australian curriculum I offer tuition to help fill the gap. I teach beginner and intermediate programming in Python. Python is a great first language and is used to build many off the worlds largest websites. It's also the language of science and data science. Proficient Python programmers attract one of the highest salaries so its a very good language to know.

I have many learning resources but no set course - I tailor my classes to the students needs with the aim to get them to the point where they don't need me any more (once you have a good foundation you should be able to teach yourself the rest online). I normally teach small groups in home (mine or yours) and if its a long drive for me I'll need to be doing a 2 or 3 hour class. I currently live in Toowoomba and am moving to Brisbane next Feb.

I'm happy to teach anyone thats interested to learn (any age and background), I'm not interested in providing babysitting services. If you or your child has zero programming experience thats not a problem but please be aware it will require at least 10 lessons to get to the fun stuff, like making games.

It's better if you have your own computer. Doesn't matter if its Mac, Windows or Linux. If you don't have your own computer we can work together on mine, but that won't allow you to go away and practise so I strongly encourage people to have their own - doesn't have to be fancy but the bigger and clearer the screen the better.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Liam

Subjects

  • Computing - Secondary, Tertiary
  • Biology - Primary, Secondary, Tertiary
  • Microbiology - Secondary, Tertiary

Service Areas

Toowoomba, Gold coast, Brisbane, Sunshine Coast

Experience

I have tutored and taught for at least 5 years. I have taught maths, english, science and programming at various levels. I am currently focused on programming in python.

Qualifications

Masters of Bioinformatics from UQ. Tesol cert 4 for teaching English as a second language.

Services

  • Private Tuition
  • Group Tuition
  • Teaching Tuition
  • Home Visits
  • Phone Help
  • Online Help

Rates

$100 per hour

Gender

Male

Updated

Profile last updated on 07-Nov-2017 (registered 30-Oct-2017)

Contact

shimbalama@gmail.com
0428904881
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region