Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Liam McIntyre

 Melbourne - Parkville

Learn to program in Python

Melbourne tutor in Programming, Linux, Data Science, Bioinformatics, Computational genomics, Next Generation Sequencing

I travel to these locations

(2 student reviews)

I teach programming/coding in python.

I am a Bioinformatician - a scientist who studies DNA using programming. This makes me an expert with functional programming, data science and analysis. I work (remotely) for the University of Melbourne.

I also run where I primarily teach absolute beginners. I regularly teach using turtle and pygame - we make fun games. Some people prefer to get straight into the serious stuff though, either way is fine.

I have been teaching and tutoring on and off for many years in fields such as biology, english and programming. I have taught a wide range of people from a wide range of backgrounds and cultures. For example, I taught basic science to a class of year 7 and 8 students in Mexico for a year and more recently I was teaching advanced programming skills to PhDs in Adelaide.

Given the government is dragging its feat adding programming to the Australian curriculum I offer tuition to help fill the gap. I teach beginner and intermediate programming in Python. Python is a great first language and is used to build many off the worlds largest websites. It's also the language of science and data science. Proficient Python programmers attract one of the highest salaries so its a very good language to know.

I have many learning resources but no set course - I tailor my classes to the students needs with the aim to get them to the point where they don't need me any more. I'm happy to teach individuals or small groups. If its a long drive for me I'll need to be doing a 2 or 3 hour class.

I'm happy to teach anyone thats interested to learn (any age and background). If you or your child has zero programming experience thats not a problem.

It's better if you have your own computer. Doesn't matter if its Mac, Windows or Linux. If you don't have your own computer we can work together on mine, but that won't allow you to go away and practise so I strongly encourage people to have their own - doesn't have to be fancy but the bigger and clearer the screen the better.

I don't teach Django (web dev) as this is not my field.

I live I Brisbane and visit Melbourne regularly for work, therefore I have two separate listings - one for each city.

Please let me know if you have any questions.




I have tutored and taught for at least 10 years. I have taught maths, english, science and programming at various levels. I am currently focused on programming in python.


Masters of Bioinformatics from UQ. Tesol cert 4 for teaching English as a second language.


$100 per hour




Joined Tutor Finder on 13-Jun-2018 (updated profile on 01-Nov-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Parkville
  • Home Visits within 100 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition


Programming (Secondary, Tertiary)

Other Subjects

Linux, Data Science, Bioinformatics, Computational genomics, Next Generation Sequencing

"Great tutor, really helped me with my python programming!"

Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region