Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Miss Matihya Chin

 Central Queensland - Toowong

Experienced English, Maths, & Science Tutor

Central Queensland tutor in Algebra, Biology, Chemistry, English, ESL, Essay Writing, Reading

Ever since I was a young child, I have always been passionate about learning and have always been mesmerized by the meaningful connection a teacher has with their students through learning and sharing knowledge with one another. Every new student a teacher has also paves a new learning pathway for the teacher. Learning happens both ways and this is one of that reasons why I have fallen in love with tutoring and decided to pursue it as a part-time job. It is undoubtedly one of the most rewarding and fruitful learning and teaching experiences out there.

Although I am only a first year undergraduate student, I am privileged to have taught Mathematics, English (reading, writing, and speaking), and Science (Chemistry and Biology) to international schools students from kindergarten all the way to high school, as well as mature age students in Thailand. Even though English is not the native language in Thailand, I have successful taught a mature age student how to read, write, and speak English fluently within the period of 6 months.

Educational Background:

-Present: Bachelor of Health Science Degree (Public Health Major) @University of Queensland

-2017: Graduated from Anglo Singapore International School, Bangkok, Thailand

Every student has their own unique learning skills and I always plan classes according to their learning skills as well as their learning habits. I usually start the class with games/ warm up exercises to get them energized before proceeding to teaching the content and handing out worksheets. I rarely give extra homework to my students unless specified by their parents because some of them already get a lot of homework from their school.

The usual rate I charge is $35-$40/hour (dependent on the distance from where I live) if I have to travel to teach my students, however, the rate can be negotiated if the class lasts for longer than 1 hour and/or is carried out at the student accommodation I stay at. I currently stay at a student apartment located close to the University of Queensland, St.Lucia Campus. There are meeting rooms as well as 24/7 study space available for use and is also conveniently located close to Toowong train station as well as numerous bus stops that connect to the city.

Teaching is a true passion of mine and I would love to continue to share my knowledge, experience, and help students become even more confident in their ability to excel academically.

If you are interested/have any further questions please feel free to contact me at 0452105420 or cmatihya@gmail.com any time.

Sincerely,

Matihya Chin

Contact

cmatihya@gmail.com
0452105420

Experience

While I was still in Bangkok, I had the opportunity to tutor international school students as well as mature age students. Mathematics, English (reading, writing, and speaking), and Science (Chemistry and Biology). I tutored international school students in kindergarten as well as elementary school.

Teaching is a true passion of mine and I would love to continue to share my knowledge, experience, and make students more confident in their ability to excel academically. I strongly believe that each student has their own unique learning style and has the capacity to become the best version of themselves.

Qualifications

Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education
- 6A*, 3A (9 subjects in total)
- Highest possible grade: A*

Cambridge General Certificate of Education (Advanced Level- International equivalent of QCS/VCE)
- Grades: 3A*, 1A (4 subjects in total)
- A* achieved in Biology, Chemistry, and Physics
- A achieved in Mathematics
- Highest possible grade: A*

IELTS
- Overall score of 7.5/9
- Reading section: 7.0/9
-Writing section: 7.0/9
- Speaking section: 8.5/9

Rates

$35 per hour

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined TutorFinder on 12-Apr-2018 (updated profile on 19-Apr-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Toowong
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Online and Phone Help

  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Toowong

English

English (Primary, Secondary)
ESL (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)

Maths

Algebra (Primary, Secondary)

Science

Biology (Primary, Secondary)
Chemistry (Secondary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region