Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mrs Nicola Vragalis

 Brisbane - Coorparoo

Yrs 1 – 10 Maths, 1-10 English, primary, parent consultations

Brisbane tutor in English, Essay Writing, General Science, Maths, Available to consult with parents who need assistance with educating online

Service areas
Online

My tutoring skills are :
- I can adapt to different personalities and communication styles very quickly
- An ability to quickly build rapport with the child
- An ability to quickly understand how the student thinks
- Ability to work out where the “gaps” are in knowledge and skills and work on building these foundational skills
- Analytical thinking ability
- Able to break tasks down into more manageable pieces
- Build up the student’s self-confidence
- Strong skills in maths myself

A few years ago I studied a maths subject through USQ that covered maths topics in junior high school. I did well in this subject (HD) and feel confident to teach Maths up to and including Year 10. I have also studied uni subjects related to teaching of maths and ways in which students misunderstand maths.

I hold a current Blue Card and can provide referees on request.

When we first speak, I would love to learn how I can help your child. Tutoring is $40 per hour, minimum time of one hour.

Availability:
weekdays during school hours
after hours
weekends

Contact

Experience

Skills I offer students
- Years of experience as a teacher aide which has given me an understanding of how children learn
- Ability to break a complex task into simpler components, then slowly build up so that the task becomes achievable
- Praise and encouragement for consistent effort and perseverance, which are the building blocks for success
- Help students goal set and understand how to approach schoolwork
- break down self-belief barriers by fostering a growth mindset (as described in Carol Dweck’s research)

Skills I offer parents
- Initial discussion with you to understand your child
- available to consult with parents who need assistance planning online learning for their child/ren

Qualifications

I have eight years of teacher aide experience in primary schools and have completed half of a Masters of Teaching (Primary) from UTAS.

I am well educated, having been awarded a bachelor degree with honours (UNSW) and a postgraduate diploma (UTS). I have experience working in both allied healthcare and information technology.

As I understand how to interpret the Australian Curriculum, I will be able to align my tutoring with the requirements of the Australian Curriculum.

Rates

$40 per hour

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 28-Jun-2019 (updated profile on 27-Mar-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Private Tuition

English

English (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Secondary)

Maths

Maths (Primary, Secondary)

Science

General Science (Primary)

Other Subjects

Available to consult with parents who need assistance with educating online
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors