Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Sam Johnson

 Sydney

Make a Difference Now! Exceptional, Experienced-Based Tutoring K-HSC

Sydney tutor in Maths, English, Economics, Business Studies, Essay Writing, Algebra, Calculus, Creative Writing, English Literature, Accounting, Finance, Further Maths, General Science, Geography, Geometry, History, Management, Maths Methods, Reading, Statistics

I travel to these locations
Woolwich, Hunters Hill, Mosman, Lane cove, Riverview, Ryde, Artarmon

(1 student review)

My name is Sam Johnson, a recent graduate of St Ignatius College Riverview, with a 2019 ATAR of 98.30. I am offering the highest quality tutoring to students undertaking K-10 studies; Prelim and HSC Economics, Business, History (modern and ext.), English (adv. and std.), and Mathematics (adv. and std.). Prepare yourself for awesome results!


Hello,

I'm Sam Johnson and I am very keen to help students from years K-12 in a massive range of subjects. Having graduated last year from St Ignatius College, Riverview, I am now very excited to share all the information, strategies and techniques that I accumulated and developed over the years with students going through the same exciting process. My experience is already quite extensive for a recent graduate - including my current group of more than twenty students (ranging from year 3 to HSC), tutoring other students while at school and assisting younger siblings with homework and study. As a result, I am an experienced tutor, yet with a solid knowledge and strong memory of all the little (and big) things that form part of being a student. I understand both the expectations that teachers have of students and the struggles students often face while at school. This experience also means that I am keenly aware of all the best strategies and techniques that will help students see massive improvements in school and beyond.

In the recent HSC I received an ATAR of 98.30, which can be viewed as the product of the many strategies and techniques I mentioned above. In Business Studies and Economics my performance was particularly strong, achieving HSC marks of 97 and 95 respectively. My tuition in this area is further enriched by the fact that I am currently undertaking a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Dalyell Scholars) at the University of Sydney. In addition to my achievements in the domain of commerce, I also achieved band 6's in English Advanced (92), Modern History (92) and History Extension (E4: 47), while Mathematics was just a fraction off of a band 6.* I strongly believe that I can assist students in reaching a similar level of performance (and an even higher level of performance) through my unique approach to tutoring, and due to a range of uncommon strategies that I believe my performance evinces the effectiveness of.

I cater to students at all levels in their academic journey from K-12. I strongly believe that I can help ignite motivation in students that are struggling to find it, as well as assist already motivated students in reaching their highest potential. I am patient with my students, guiding them through the processes of solving problems, answering questions, et cetera., no matter how long it takes for them to pick it up. An example of one of the ways in which I help students struggling to understand difficult concepts is by pretending that I myself do not understand the concept, and working with the student to figure out a way of solving the question or whatever it is they are struggling with. I prefer not to simply lecture my students but guide them through the process of finding the answers and conducting the research themselves. This not only helps with their understanding but develops critical problem-solving skills. As can be seen, many of the teaching methods I espouse are quite unique (and often are unable to be done effectively in a class setting), though I believe are extremely effective. This assertion is supported by the high level of student engagement and results I have noticed in my current group of students. I myself found tutoring at a younger age a very unpleasant idea, and declined to cooperate with any tutor. As a result, I am also keenly aware of what works and what does not work when tutoring. If all this is insufficient to entice you, I also offer a much more extensive after-lesson service than most other tutors. This includes closely examining student work and providing extensive feedback and may even extend to include video tutorials to assist students negotiating difficult terrain. As I only recently graduated from high school I have piles of the latest in resources, especially for years 7-12. Furthermore, I have experience with the new HSC syllabi, a factor unique only to those of the 2019 HSC group. Overall, I dearly hope to serve the role as a mentor for my students as much as an excellent tutor, guiding them as they walk that walk on their journey to success at school and beyond!

I offer one-on-one tuition for those needing a more focused environment that better enables the student to overcome impediments to his or her success in a more private setting. I also offer group lessons which provides room for rich and sophisticated discussion of topics which can assist in both engraining and expanding students' knowledge. Group sessions could involve multiple students of the same age learning the same content, or students of different ages from the same family where my assistance will be more needs-based.

If you are interested in seeing tremendous improvements in your son or daughter's (or both) studies, a tutor that is motivated, engaged and fun - then I believe that I am the one for you! Please see below for more information regarding current availability, pricing, contact details et cetera. Of course, I also have a Working with Children Check and proof of HSC achievements, which can be made available upon request.



AVAILABILITY:
In terms of availability, I am available on weekdays and Saturdays, while Sundays are reserved for make-up sessions etc.




TRAVELLING AND LOCATIONS:
I can travel to your house, libraries or I can tutor from my home in Woolwich. For students that see me for tutoring at my home I will provide additional time as a complimentary benefit. I am more than equipped to operate lessons from my home and have multiple very quiet, superbly clean and sufficiently spacious areas that offer optimal study conditions. Parking and traffic are also not issues in my area.



ADDITIONAL SERVICES:

An after-class, easy to access line of communication between students and myself via phone and/or email. (FREE)

After-class review of drafts, work, etc., and assistance with urgent questions/issues regarding students' studies. (FREE)

Access to an extensive assortment of materials, notes and other resources. (FREE)

Access to regular feedback on student performance, cooperativeness etc. either through in-person discussion, via phone call or by text/email. (free)

Voice recording of lessons for later review ($5 per lesson)

Extensive proof reading of major works prior to submission (price to be negotiated upon request)

Assurance that I will always offer a more favourable alternative/solution in the event that an unexpected circumstance results in me being unable to attend a lesson (in addition to fast communication as soon as I become aware of any impediment to the lesson occurring at the specified time).

More additional services to be specified at first lesson.




PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT ME ABOUT ANYTHING AT ALL! I WILL ENDEAVOUR TO RESPOND TO ALL QUERIES ASAP, AND CERTAINLY WITHIN 24 HOURS.


GET IN FAST LIMITED SPOTS STILL AVAILABLE AND THEY’RE RUNNING OUT!


CONTACT DETAILS:

EMAIL ME:
Email: samj66676@gmail.com

TEXT ME:
Phone: 0413 777 175 (please email or text before calling)





*I have since spent time ensuring that I can tutor Maths Std. at a band 6 level, and I am able to teach almost all the content confidently in Maths Adv.

Contact

Experience

Current tutoring experience with HSC and non-HSC (K-10) students (20 current students as at 9 May).

Previous experience tutoring other HSC students and non-HSC students while at school.

Frequent tutoring of younger siblings.

Qualifications

2019 ATAR: 98.30

Received a band 6/E4 in Economics, Business Studies, English advanced, Modern History, History Extension and a band 5 in Mathematics

Economics and Business Studies were my highest performing subjects, receiving a HSC mark of 95 and 97 in them respectively.

My other band 6’s were in the mid-90s, while my band 5 in Mathematics was only slightly off a band 6.

Rates

RATES:

For students in years K-9, I offer tutoring at $60 per hour.

For students in years 10-12, I offer tutoring at $70 per hour.

In addition to offering excellent one-on-one private tutoring, I also offer group sessions. However, as I insist on exhibiting the same high standards and quality of service for all students within the group, I will have to charge an additional $20 for each student on top of the base price. This can be for groups of students of the same age requiring assistance in similar areas. Alternatively, this may also be useful for families with children of different (or the same) ages in need of a high-quality tutor to both monitor and to provide assistance to their children during after-school study.

Student Discount

Special Offer - Get a friend on-board for a FREE LESSON!

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in New South Wales until 06-Dec-2024 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 29-Dec-2019 (updated profile on 06-Aug-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Tutor's Place in Sydney
  • Home Visits within 120 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary)
English (Primary, Secondary)
English Literature (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)

Maths

Algebra (Primary, Secondary)
Calculus (Primary, Secondary)
Further Maths (Primary)
Geometry (Primary, Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary)
Maths Methods (Primary, Secondary)
Statistics (Primary)

Science

General Science (Primary)

Business

Accounting (Secondary)
Business Studies (Secondary)
Economics (Secondary)
Finance (Secondary)
Management (Secondary)

Social Science

Geography (Primary)
History (Primary, Secondary)

"Sam is a great tutor. He is patient , professional and well prepared."

Eliza    
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors