Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Tanya Mathias

 Melbourne - Preston

Experienced English Teacher - Tutoring from year 6 - undergraduate

Melbourne tutor in Creative Writing, EAL, English, English Literature, ESL, Essay Writing, Reading

I am a qualified secondary school teacher, with experience teaching English, Drama, History and Geography to students across years 6 - 12. My teaching contexts are rich and diverse. I have taught in elite and CALD Grammar, Catholic and State boys' and girls' schools in Australia and England, and have coordinated an EAL program and trained pre-service teachers whilst volunteering in Cambodia.

I offer tutoring for students in primary and secondary English (literature, speaking, reading, writing, grammar, spelling), essay writing for middle school and secondary school students, and EAL for secondary school and tertiary students. I work with my students' current learnings (homework, essay preparation...), so it is advisable for students to bring their curriculum and relevant assessment at the commencement of tutoring.

As a passionate and empathetic educator, I am committed to understanding my students' needs and objectives and regularly communicating with students, their families/carers and teachers, to support their holistic growth. I commence all tutoring sessions with a needs assessment that may involve the students' parent/carer (if appropriate). All anecdotal and assessment observations from the school will guide my approach to facilitating sessions, and I will signpost resources for further learning following our tutoring session.

I am committed to my own professional development and adopting current research in pedagogy to enhance my students’ learning.

My availability:
*6-10pm Monday - Friday (CURRENTLY AVAILABLE during WEEK DAYS - Please enquire!)
*9am-12pm Saturdays
*5-9pm Sundays

(Phone and/or Zoom sessions may be organised)

My rates are $60 per hour for sessions conducted in my home and $60 per hour and $70 if I am required to travel.

Please note that I offer a reduced rate of $50 per person per hour, for groups of 2 or more.

Contact

Experience

I am an experienced secondary school teacher who has worked with students from ages 10 - 20. My major teaching area is English, and I also have several years' experience teaching Drama, History and Geography to middle school students and EAL to young adults. I have taught middle school and secondary school students at Brisbane Grammar School, Lourdes Hill College, Mulberry School for Girls (London) and in a charity in Cambodia. Further, I trained pre-service teachers in Cambodia in a two-week intensive, and have intermittently facilitated EAL group lessons.

Qualifications

Bachelor of Secondary Education (English)
Bachelor of Creative Industries (Drama)

Rates

$60 per hour

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 31-Dec-2020 (details available on request)

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 27-Feb-2020 (updated profile on 24-Mar-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Preston
  • Home Visits within 20 kms
  • Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary)
EAL (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
English (Primary, Secondary)
English Literature (Primary, Secondary)
ESL (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors