Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Dr Yu Sun

 Sydney - Burwood

Maths and Python tutor in CBD, USyd and Burwood

Sydney tutor in Algebra, Biochemistry, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Further Maths, General Science, IELTS, Maths, Maths Methods, Physics, Programming, Statistics

I travel to these locations
CBD, University of Sydney, Burwood, Ashfield, Strathfield

Who I am
I am a lecturer in University of Sydney (the Institute of Medical Physics under School of Physics to be exact). I hold a PhD in machine learning for medical systems from The University of Melbourne and moved to Sydney about 18 months ago (don't ask me which city is better).

What I am good at
Maths including algebra, geometry and calculus at the tertiary level. Apart from that, I am proficient at programming with Python and R.

Why I want to tutor
Two reasons: 1. I want to make good use of my time. By tutoring I am able to know more about the local people and enrich my life. 2. I want to help more people to improve. As a learner myself, I appreciate how important a good teacher is. I hope through my teaching, the student not only learn how to solve a question, but also how to think and react to challenges. Attitudes are sometimes more important than techniques.

My available time
I work full time in the University so for weekdays it will be after 6 pm - 9 pm on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. For weekends, available for both days, but best contact me to arrange a time.

How to contact me
By email: sunyu0410@gmail.com
By Phone: 041 2211 067

Where to meet
If you're close to CBD, the University of Sydney (where I work) or Burwood (where I live), I can come to your place. Otherwise, contact me and we will decide the location together.

Mistakes I can help avoid
Imagine you admire someone who can play multiple musical instruments, while you are struggling with even one. The reason is those people typically have a good perception of music. What they need is simply find a physical thing to produce what's in their head. In order to do that, they practise to produce the rhythm they're happy about. So music comes first, then playing the instrument. If you reverse that, it will work less efficiently.
Back to math, one can simply get too focused on the technique of problem solving, without having a decent understanding of the subject itself. This is similar to practising based on a songbook without any feeling of music and how music flows. So understanding first, problem solving second.
I hope my role is to guide you through the understanding process. If you truely go through that, you will be amazed by the progress made by yourself.

My academic background
Bachelor of Science (biochemistry) + PhD (machine learning for medical data)
4 scientific papers + around 10 conference papers
Visited more than 6 countries to present the research work, including USA, UK, Austria, The Netherlands, etc.
Several prestigious awards including the Varian Award (for my machine learning work) and Kenneth Clarke Award for the best annual paper in the ACPSEM journal (1 paper selected from all papers published in 2017).
Some more, if you would like to know, I will share that.

Why I enjoy tutoring
The 'A-Ha' moment from the student.

Levels of tutoring
Mainly secondary and tertiary

What I expect from you
Curious, hard-working and determined to improve. Once you understand, solving a question is just a matter of time. My role is to guide you through this process.

Contact

Experience

Math tutors at RMIT for second year Engineering Maths (advanced calculus and algebra);
Python and R programming for machine learning;
IELTS tutors for reading and listening (both score 9);
Currently as a lecturer in School of Physics at University of Sydney.

Qualifications

I hold a Bachelor of Science (biochemistry) and a PhD in machine learning for medical systems in The University of Melbourne. Have a mixed science and engineering background. Highly experienced in math tutoring (algebra, geometry and calculus). Proficient with Python and R programming (for machine learning).

I hope to help someone who really wants to improve yourself. Accomplishment (teaching you well) is more than the money earned. Contact me for things I have listed as well as machine learning (if you're interested). Hourly rate negotiable if you're a committed learner.

Rates

$35 per hour

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 29-Jan-2019 (updated profile on 29-Jan-2019)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Burwood
  • Home Visits within 15 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

IELTS (Tertiary)

Maths

Algebra (Secondary, Tertiary)
Calculus (Secondary, Tertiary)
Further Maths (Secondary, Tertiary)
Maths (Secondary, Tertiary)
Maths Methods (Secondary, Tertiary)
Statistics (Secondary, Tertiary)

Science

Biochemistry (Secondary, Tertiary)
Biology (Secondary, Tertiary)
Chemistry (Secondary)
General Science (Secondary, Tertiary)
Physics (Secondary)

Technology

Programming (Secondary, Tertiary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region