Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Miss Elizabeth Burrell

 Mornington Peninsula - Frankston

Frankston-based English and History Tutoring for Years 1-10

Mornington Peninsula tutor in Creative Writing, English, English Literature, Essay Writing, History, Reading, Special Needs, Visual Arts

Hello,

My name is Elizabeth and I am currently completing my PhD in History through Monash University, Melbourne.

I offer tutoring to students in English and History for Years 7-10 and English literacy and grammar for primary-aged students.

Lessons can take place either from my students' homes or from their preferred library in the Frankston area. I am available Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays and as my PhD requires me to set my own research hours, I have a good degree of flexibility when it comes to scheduling tutoring sessions.

I have experience tutoring students who find reading and writing particularly difficult as well as those who struggle to find successful methods of study and memorisation. Lessons are tailored to suit the capabilities of each student and will combine classroom work with appropriate learning activities. I am very patient and want all of my students to feel that they can ask me anything without ever worrying that their question might be silly.

For our first session, I like to meet with the parents/guardians so we can all openly discuss what areas the student finds troubling alongside any upcoming goals the student might be working towards e.g. exams, placement tests, etc. In subsequent sessions, I like to set the student a small piece of homework that allows them to revise the day's topics which we will then go over together the following week.

Sessions generally go for 1 hour but can be made longer/shorter if needed.

Cost
$45 per hour for primary-aged students
$60 per hour for Years 7-10

Please contact me if you would like to arrange a session by calling or messaging 0437 057 523 or emailing elizabeth.burrell@monash.edu

Contact

Experience

2006-2008: Peer Tutoring at Orange High School, Orange, NSW
2009: Disability Assistant at TAFE, Orange, NSW
2013: The Shack Tutoring Program at University of New South Wales, Sydney, NSW
2016: Disability Assistant at TAFE, Orange, NSW

Qualifications

2008: Higher School Certificate, Orange High School, Orange, NSW.
2014: Bachelor of Fine Arts/Arts, University of New South Wales, Sydney, NSW
2015: Bachelor of Arts and Social Sciences (Honours), University of New South Wales, Sydney, NSW
2018: Doctorate of Philosophy (History), Monash University, Melbourne (completing)

Rates

$45 per hour for primary-aged students
$60 per hour for Years 7-10

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in New South Wales until 30-Nov--0001 (details available on request)

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 02-Nov-2019 (updated profile on 04-Feb-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary)
English (Primary, Secondary)
English Literature (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)
Special Needs (Primary, Secondary)

Social Science

History (Primary, Secondary)

Art

Visual Arts (Introduction, Intermediate)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors