Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mrs Erica Oakley

 Wollongong - West Wollongong

IELTS Speaking You Tuber Master of TESOL

Wollongong tutor in ESL, IELTS

I travel to these locations
Illawarra, University of Wollongong, UOW, Wollongong

I am Erica of Erica’s English on YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfSC2YWRsQVcUDiU98Zuymg
I am available to tutor at the University of Wollongong for $50 an hour. I can tutor up to 3 students at a time. I can tutor online for $50AUD ($37USD) an hour. I can travel 5km for $60 an hour, or 10km for $70 an hour. I can be flexible teaching Monday to Friday. My YouTube channel is focussed on IELTS speaking. This is my speciality.

I offer:
*timed mock IELTS speaking tests (every lesson if you wish)
*placement on IELTS level descriptors
*detailed feedback on areas of strength and weakness
*strategies for success
*resources for success

As a world traveller to 26 countries with 7 years of overseas experience, I am passionate about teaching English expression to people so they can be international. With English, you can travel everywhere and communicate with such a diverse range of people! It is an excellent language for business or study as well.

I have taught international students at a university college for 8 years. I have taught all levels from beginner to university entry level. I am happy to tutor at any of these levels. I have taught thousands of students of many nationalities from all over Asia, Europe and the Middle East, and I have loved reaching out to the world through my students. Most of my teaching has been at the elementary to intermediate level so I teach English grammar particularly well.

I also taught English and culture in Japan in the public system to people of all ages, from kindergarten to aged care homes, but most of the focus was on high school teaching.

I achieved a distinction average for my Master of Education, specialising in TESOL. I achieved three HDs. I can tutor students for their Master degree study and I can share my techniques that contributed to these marks, such as my efficient way of reading academic papers for citation in assignments. This experience also makes me a skilled teacher of English for tertiary studies.

I especially excelled in my study of pronunciation while doing my Master of Education degree. I can teach techniques for pronouncing sounds, syllable and word stress, and can direct them to the best pronunciation apps.

As for my approach to English teaching, it is multi-faceted. I believe in the PPP method, of presentation of language, practice and production. I like to incorporate communicative language teaching. I consider educational psychology and language learning theories in my teaching. I use a range of approaches from traditional to modern. I have respect for ‘old school’ direct teaching and ‘practice makes perfect’, as I spent 3 years teaching in Japanese schools, but I also love to incorporate creative and modern methods in the form of online & app based games & technology because these methods are enjoyable and powerful.

I speak Japanese, German and Finnish, so I have plenty of experience of learning a language and am very familiar with how we learn languages, and my Masters gave me a lot of time to reflect on this. I did my Masters study while I was teaching, so I was able to apply much of the theory into my practice, and this gave me a deeper understanding of the craft of teaching.

Contact

Experience

I tutored IELTS, German, Maths and English for 3 years part time mostly in my early days of teaching. I have been teaching English to international students at UOW College for 8 years. Before that I was a high school teacher of Japanese and German for 2 years. I also taught English in Japan for three years on the Japan Exchange Teaching program.
I set up my YouTube Channel, Erica's English in June. https://studio.youtube.com/channel/UCfSC2YWRsQVcUDiU98Zuymg

Qualifications

Master of Education with Distinction (TESOL), 2018,
Graduate Diploma of Education (Primary & LOTE/ESL), 2001
Bachelor of Arts (Japanese & German) 1992- 1994

Rates

3 hours for $140, or 5 hours for $220. I can teach up to 3 students at a time for the same price.

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 13-Nov-2020 (updated profile on 14-Jan-2021)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

ESL (Tertiary)
IELTS (Tertiary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors