Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Ben Debney

 Ballarat

Ballarat tutor in Anthropology, Communication, Creative Writing, English, English Literature, ESL, Essay Writing, Geography, History, Journalism, Legal Studies, Media Studies, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Reading, Society and Culture, Sociology, Teacher

I travel to these locations
Ballarat and surrounds, Online

Can't make head nor tail of your set novel for English? Don't know your Madison from your Machiavelli? Are your essay writing skills needing a fine-tuning or even a major overhaul? Look no further; I can help with all your English and Humanities needs. I can also help with many other secondary subjects.

I am a Victorian Institute of Teaching-accredited English/Humanities secondary teacher, and have been tutoring around Western Victoria since 2012. I most often tutor in these areas, but have also worked quite successfully in Maths and Science. My approach to teaching is more concerned with modelling the process of learning and enquiry than being a font of wisdom, so I often end up learning as much as my students.

To reiterate, teaching for me is less about stuffing brains with knowledge ('filling an empty jug with water'), and more teaching students how to think ('watering a plant so it can grow'). I believe that when students are helped to learn how to think, not what to think, they are far more successful learners.

In addition to my teaching qualifications, I have an MA in History from Melbourne University and am currently a PhD candidate in history at Western Sydney University. I am a semi-professional writer with one completed novel, one academic manuscript in the works and a variety of paid and unpaid articles published online and in print. I have one semester of sessional lecturing and tutoring at the tertiary level and more in the works.

I am based in Ballarat but can Skype to anywhere, and am available evenings and weekends.

Rate: $60 per 60 minutes.

Contact

Experience

I have tutored secondary students since 2012, in a variety of subjects including Maths and English. I am currently tutoring English.

Qualifications

BA (Hons), La Trobe
MA, University of Melbourne
Grad Dip Education (Victoria University)
PhD, Western Sydney (cont.)

Rates

$60 p/h. Free consultation and learning plan.

Student Discount

Mention that you found this advertisement on Tutor Finder and you will receive your first lesson for half the normal hourly rate ($30 instead of $60).

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 26-Oct-2023 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 19-Sep-2015 (updated profile on 19-Mar-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
English (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
English Literature (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
ESL (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)

Social Science

Anthropology (Secondary)
Geography (Secondary)
History (Secondary, Tertiary)
Legal Studies (Secondary)
Philosophy (Secondary)
Politics (Secondary, Tertiary)
Psychology (Secondary, Tertiary)
Society and Culture (Secondary, Tertiary)
Sociology (Tertiary)

Communication

Communication (Secondary, Tertiary)
Journalism (Secondary, Tertiary)
Media Studies (Secondary, Tertiary)

Profession

Teacher (General)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors