Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Miss Nikki Patel

 Gold Coast - Robina

Qualified high school teacher and fourth year medical student

Gold Coast tutor in Human Biology, Anatomy, Biology, Physiology, Health Studies, Physical Education, Physics, Maths, Statistics, Calculus, English, Reading, GAMSAT, Special Needs, Teacher

I travel to these locations
Robina, Varsity Lakes, Miami, Burleigh Waters

Hi I'm Nikki, I am a fourth year medical student at Bond University and a fully qualified teacher. Through tutoring, I hope to help students become more enthusiastic about their learning. During my Bachelor's degree in Science, I gained a large knowledge base and developed a range of learning strategies which I think would help many students become more confident as they strengthen their study skills. As a teacher, I strongly believe in maintaining a healthy work-life balance. In my spare time, I enjoy cooking and playing social badminton and netball. I am also a Leader with Girl Guides WA, so that gives me a nice break in the week too. During my weekends, I take some time out to read as well as catch up with my friends.

Following my Bachelor degree, I completed my Graduate Diploma in Education at UWA in Perth. It was only then that I understood how important it is to recognise student individuality when it comes to learning. I have been a private tutor for over 2 years now and am also a relief teacher at Greenwood College in Perth where I teach in a range of learning areas from Science and English to Maths and Media. I have also worked as a tutor with the P&C tutoring program at Robina Primary school here in Queensland. My Graduate Diploma in Education has really taught me about how students learn and the importance of adapting how I teach in order to meet my students' individual needs and preferred learning styles. I love interacting with my students at a one-on-one level and enjoy seeing them grow over time, not only academically but their enthusiasm and self confidence too. Over my secondary and tertiary education, I have developed a strong foundation of studying strategies and revision techniques - something that I believe is just as important as learning the content itself. I'd love to share these with my students and help them find what techniques work best for them.

I tutor both lower and upper secondary Science, as well as primary and lower secondary Maths and English. With my upper secondary students (year 11-12), I believe that targeted learning is really important. My students usually come to sessions with topics/concepts/questions they have or are currently struggling with at school or for exam preparation. If not, then I prepare lesson plans and resources targeted to their syllabus.

With my lower secondary students (Year 7-10), I usually use their school syllabus as a guide and we work through the topic/s week by week, consolidating their understanding. However, this is in no way set and can always work out a plan that for works for you. I have also accumulated a range of resources and worksheets in my teaching experiences that I am more than happy to share with my students during our sessions and for them to take home and use as a source of study. I also run causal/one off sessions to help with exam revision and written assignments, for example.

I tutor Mondays to Fridays, after school, as well as weekends. I understand how busy school and other commitments can be, as I am a uni student and teacher myself, so I am more than happy to sit down and discuss dates/timings that work for us both.

Contact

Experience

One-on-one tutoring experience with Year 11 and Year 12 ATAR Human Biology and Years 7-10 Maths, Science and English.
Classroom experience teaching Years 7-10 Science as well as Year 11 and 12 ATAR Human Biology and Chemistry.
Adjudicator at Gold Coast Debating.

Qualifications

Doctor of Medicine - Bond University (2020-present)
Bachelor of Medical Studies - Bond University (2017-2019)
Graduate Diploma of Education (Secondary) - The University of Western Australia (2016)
Bachelor of Science (Anatomical Sciences) - The University of Western Australia (2013-2015)

Registered with the Teacher Registration Board of WA and Queensland College of Teachers
Valid Working with Children Check and Blue Card
National Police Clearance and Police History Check
Valid First Aid and CPR Certificate
Qualified Girl Guides Australia Unit Leader

Rates

Primary (Year 1-6): $50/hour
Lower secondary (Year 7-10): $55/hour
Upper secondary (Year 11 and 12): $55/hour
Tertiary (University/GAMSAT): $60/hour

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 29-Jul-2016 (updated profile on 07-Oct-2020)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Tutor's Place in Robina
  • Home Visits within 5 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

English (Primary, Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)
Special Needs (Primary, Secondary)

Maths

Calculus (Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary)
Statistics (Secondary)

Science

Anatomy (Secondary, Tertiary)
Biology (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Human Biology (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Physics (Secondary, Tertiary)
Physiology (Tertiary)

Health

GAMSAT (Tertiary)
Health Studies (Secondary, Tertiary)
Physical Education (Secondary)

Profession

Teacher (General)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors