Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Sarah Poulsen

 Canberra - Queanbeyan

Canberra tutor in Essay Writing, English Literature, English, History, Creative Writing, ESL, Maths, Reading, Special Needs, Visual Arts, Communication, Journalism, Physical Education, Media Studies, Society and Culture, Biology

I travel to these locations
Queanbeyan, South Canberra and City

Experienced tutor, recently graduated from a Bachelor of Arts in literature and history.

I have been working as a private tutor for six years, and hold a current NSW Working With Children Check.

I have experience working with children of all ages, including those with special needs or non-English speaking backgrounds. I have also tutored adults in tertiary studies, basic language skills, and technology proficiency.

I am available to help with homework, extend on school subjects with additional work, assist with improvement in problem areas, edit assignments, prepare for exams, help with study skills, work on large projects or major works, help develop English language skills, or build confidence in adult learners.

My available weekday hours fill up quickly during the school year, but I am flexible with weekend or late night classes that will suit your schedule.

Group sessions are available, just contact me so we can discuss it further.

Contact

Experience

I have tutored students from ages 5 to 30. I am familiar with the study demands of different ages, and can alter my tutoring appropriately to suit my students. I have had over twenty long term students, as well as many more who I tutored on a short term basis.

I've tutored in many locations across Australia, including Wagga Wagga, Darwin, Toowoomba, and now Canberra. As a result of this travel I've been able to experience a variety of learning styles and adjust my professional practice accordingly.

I have experience working with people with special needs, including Aspergers Syndrome, Dyslexia, and ADHD, and non-English speaking backgrounds, including bi- and tri-lingual students.

I have previously communicated with both parents and teachers to ensure my students
are achieving their goals.

Qualifications

Bachelor of Arts
Working With Children Check
Provisional 2 License

Rates

All prices are negotiable, but these are my standard rates:
Years 1-6: $35/hr
Years 7-10: $40/hr
Years 11-12: $45/hr
Adult classes: $45/hr
One-off classes: $40/hr
(these classes are great for exam preparation or working on a particular assignment)

An additional $5 an hour will be charged if travel to the Northern Suburbs is required.

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 12-Dec-2016 (updated profile on 29-Jan-2019)
Tutoring Location
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
English (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
English Literature (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
ESL (Primary, Secondary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Special Needs (Primary, Secondary)

Maths

Maths (Primary, Secondary)

Science

Biology (Primary)

Social Science

History (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Society and Culture (Secondary)

Health

Physical Education (Primary)

Communication

Communication (Secondary, Tertiary)
Journalism (Secondary)
Media Studies (Secondary)

Art

Visual Arts (Introduction, Intermediate)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region