Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Joel Wilson

 Wollongong - North Wollongong

Passing on a love of science and learning

Wollongong tutor in Algebra, Calculus, Chemistry, Further Maths, General Science, Maths, Maths Methods, Physics, Statistics

Since finishing my own university studies, tutoring has been a constant highlight of my week. I studied at the University of Cambridge, where I thrived in a high-pressure learning environment and was fortunate to receive teaching from the world's top scientists. Following this learning experience, I have found I enjoy helping students learn and develop even more than I enjoyed my own studies. The experience of seeing a student break through a previously troublesome concept is incomparable.
My approach to tutoring is to follow the same curriculum that students are using in school, and use my experience and the individuality of a tutoring session to present information in an alternative way. The nature of classroom learning is that students can easily miss information presented by teachers to classes, or struggle to engage with a certain style of learning. I pride myself in my ability to explain concepts in multiple ways to suit all students.
My tutoring is for HSC students in mathematics and chemistry who are facing critical examinations and deserve the opportunity to perform to their potential. I can also tutor in physics, and for years 7-10, however I am not as familiar with the curriculum in these areas.
I can be contacted by email and try to reply to all inquiries within 3 days. I run tutoring sessions in public places only, normally either Wollongong City Library and Wollongong University Library. I am available evenings from 1530-1800 and weekend mornings, however this can vary depending on work and family commitments.

Contact

Experience

I have taught chemistry to first and second-year university students in both a classroom and laboratory setting.
I have tutored individual first-year university students in chemistry and mathematics
I have tutored individual high-school students in chemistry.

Qualifications

Master's Degree, Atmospheric Chemistry, University of Cambridge (UK)
Bachelor's Degree, Natural Sciences (Physical), University of Cambridge (UK)

Rates

$60 per hour

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 06-Oct-2018 (updated profile on 07-Oct-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Home Visits within 25 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

Maths

Algebra (Secondary)
Calculus (Secondary)
Further Maths (Secondary)
Maths (Secondary)
Maths Methods (Secondary)
Statistics (Secondary)

Science

Chemistry (Secondary, Tertiary)
General Science (Secondary)
Physics (Secondary)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region