Matching Students with Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students with Tutors

Student Reviews

Northern Beaches Tutoring - Sydney, Sydney

Overall rating of 4.8 stars based on 23 reviews
These ratings are based on the results of a survey where students were asked to provide an honest assessment of their experience with this tutor.
Knowledge
94%
Extensive understanding of the subject
Communication
96%
Ability to communicate concepts clearly
Punctuality
99%
Always on time, notified student if unable to attend a lesson
Availability
96%
Available at a convenient time and location.
Attitude
95%
Enthusiastic, interested, patient, and courteous
Preparation
98%
Came prepared with lessons and activities
Improvement
94%
Helped student to improve in subject
Value for money
97%
Provided value for money lessons

Overall Rating 4.8

Poor Fair Adequate Good Excellent

Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Louise 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Selective and scholarship test 15 11-06-2018
Lindy tutored my son for selective and scholarship tests for high school. Lindy was very well organised for lessons and was patient with him. She helped him with exam techniques, time management, speed of maths and essay planning. Overall, he felt that his exam techniques improved and as a result, he has been offered 3 scholarships! We are still waiting to hear about selective school results.

Adrian 4.0 4 4 5 4 4 5 5 4
English and Maths 50 30-05-2018
We started tutoring after advice from our year 5 sons school that he was not completing his classwork and falling behind. He also exhibited very low confidence and overly emotional behavior in test conditions. During Lindy's tutoring his confidence increased and there was a marked improvement in school results. In year 6 he confidently tackled the high school GATS tests and achieved good results.

Lucy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Selective and GAT test 30 24-05-2018
Lindy tutored my daughter for the year 6 selective exams. Lindy did a great job, she was knowledgeable, patient, encouraging and supportive. My daughter was well prepared for the exams, is now more academically focussed, has improved academic results and more confidence in her own abilities. I would definitely recommend Lindy.

Liz 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Selective and Scholarship Test 40 06-05-2018
Lindy worked with both my children helping them to prepare for High School entry tests (Scholarship, Selective and Academic Placement). I highly recommend Lindy. She was always well prepared, easy to communicate with, gave and listened to feedback and gave quality, competent tutoring, which worked for my children - they were both successful in being awarded scholarships to our school of choice. For a full hour's tutoring by a qualified teacher, Lindy also provides excellent value for money.

Nat 4.5 4 4 5 4 4 5 5 5
Selective test 5 01-02-2018
Professional teacher, efficient and organised. As Planned ahead with her she helped our son and improved his writing ability and made sure he was ready to his year 6 year for the extension class in Balgowlah Boys Campus. Eventually my son got it to the program as he had a successful results

Amanda 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths and selective studies 65 01-08-2013
Lindy helped both our children. My year 7 child improvised her maths immensely moving from the 3rd maths group to the top group and now doing maths a year above her school year. She gave her the confidence and understanding that enabled her to move forward and to actually enjoy maths for the 1st time. She also helped prepare my younger child for the selective test for which she was successful. She was patient and always well prepared for each lesson. Our outcomes were very successful and I would thoroughly recommend her.

Christine M 4.5 5 5 5 3 5 4 4 5
Maths 70 04-07-2013
My daughter Paige has shown steady improvements in math's with Lindys' support. Very reliable and excellent communication skills, made concepts easy for Paige to understand. Paige enjoyed going to tutoring which is rare!

Karen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths and English 40 03-06-2013
Lindy has tutored both my boys for the past year. Both sons would comment after each lesson on Lindy's patience and kindness. It is vital for the children to have this connection with their tutor in order to feel safe to ask questions and hence gain the maximum benefit from the experience. Lindy kept detailed records of the tasks completed and was able to direct me in areas the boys were lacking confidence. She was available for regular updates over the phone and showed a genuine interest in achieving our goals - which incidently were achieved as a result of combining my boys' skills with her expert instruction. Apart from this she demonstrated a sincere concern for the boys and delighted in their successes. We have assured Lindy that we will employ her services again when our girls are appraoching tNAPLAN and high school examinations.

Sally 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths and English 12 20-07-2012
Great preparation for the selective high school examination, would definitely recommend.

Andrew B 4.5 4 5 4 5 4 5 5 5
Maths 80 20-12-2011
Lindy was a tremendous help with the transition to high school. We have seen consistent improvement in our son's school results in Maths and his subsequent confidence in the subject.

B S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 24 04-08-2011
Lindy is a great tutor. She has worked extremely hard in helping my son to prepare for his Selective Exam ( English). She was very patient and helped my son to focus in his writing and work on his comprehension skills. We believe her dedication has played a role in helping my son to secure a place in the selective school of his first choice. Thanks so much Lindy!

Sion G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 60 23-02-2011
Lindy helped me for all my Year 7 scholarship testing. Particularly in creative writing and comprehension. End result a huge improvement and the academic/all round scholarship to one of Sydney's finest schools.

Liz G 4.5 5 5 5 5 3 5 4 5
Selective School Test 19 08-07-2010
Lindy provided excellent practice and preparation for the Selective School Test

Eva M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 26 19-09-2009
Lindy was a very patient reliable and knowledgeable tutor

Simin R 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 13 11-09-2009
She is very good teacher and have a good understanding of student situation.

Jill R 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5
Maths 12 28-01-2009
Lindy was a great help to my daughter in year 5 and she will be the first one that I call on in the future if we need some extra help.

Diane 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 5 4 5
Essay writing 4 07-07-2008
Lindy is a very professional, enthusiastic and patient tutor. Each lesson was prepared by Lindy in order to cover all relevant aspects of essay writing. I recomend Lindy as a tutor who communicates concepts clearly and who is committed to helping students to progress and succeed in attaining their potential in the topic being studied.

Jenny S 4.5 4 4 5 5 5 5 4 4
General academic - yr 6 10 08-06-2008
Lindy was a pleasure and I'm sure she assisted my daughter particularly in exam-technique.

Debra S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
SSE and ACER exams 30 07-05-2008
Lindy has been tutoring our 11 year old son (Year 5 / 6) for 8 months. The purpose of this engagement was to prepare our son for the Year 7 Selective School and ACER Scholarship exams. Lindy is an experienced teacher, which can be seen in the way in which she interacted with our son. Her points are expressed in a friendly, quiet, but instructive manner. Lindy is very organised and is also well versed in the Selective School and Scholarship exam process. Our son has enjoyed working with Lindy and has found the time to be rewarding as well as a learning experience.

Zach C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 14 14-04-2008
Lindy tutored my son in English for a term in Year 9 and a term in Year 10 and the results of this is my son's attitude towards English is refreshed and his confidence lifted which in turn has earnt him good grades. Lindy is a very caring tutor who get's on your child's level, listens and shares her knowledge , to your child's benefit. I would gladly recommend Lindy as a English Tutor.

Sally 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English and Maths 23 12-04-2008
Lindy was very professional, punctual and was always interested in how the kids were progressing at school. We noticed a great improvement in their English and Maths within a few lessons. We have been very impressed. Lindy is patient, understanding and gets results. We wouldn't hesitate in contacting Lindy again in the future if we need to and certainly recommend her highly. Thanks Lindy.

Peter C 4.0 4 4 5 5 5 4 4 4
OC exam 7 05-08-2007
Excellent attitude and professionalism and a sincere desire to have the student do well.

Briony D 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 15 17-07-2007
Lindy helped my daughter grasp some of the maths basics she had somehow missed at school, which enabled Georgia to overcome the difficulties she was having. Lindy also taught her how to organise her study and homework more effectively and this has proved very beneficial. I was very satisfied with the tuition Georgia received.