Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Akash Stephen Thomas -  Melbourne - Balwyn

Overall rating of 4.9 stars based on 26 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Sujay 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 4
English, Math, science 20 21-11-2020
Akash is a great tutor. Has a great understanding of the subjects he's teaching and how to pass on his knowledge to us.

Nishka 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, Maths, and Science 102 16-11-2020
Akash is a really awesome tutor. He is really knowledgeable and good at communicating and explaining topics. The fact that he is quite young also helps him to be relatable and engaging. I have been doing lessons with him for a fair while now, and it is safe to say that I have greatly improved in all my subjects and am way more advanced in my knowledge than before. Akash is also not scared to teach extension work and more advanced topics to us, which gives an element of interest and even more learning. All in all, Akash is a very suitable and highly competent tutor, and I very much recommend him to anyone who wants to learn in depth and at a fast pace.

Samaira 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 4 5
Englush-Science-Maths 20 16-11-2020
This tutoring class has been much better than most popular tutoring classes that I have attended. I have definitely learnt a lot this year from this tutorer, and it's showing in my grades at school. Thanks!

Lachy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Methods 16 16-11-2020
Akash help with methods 3/4 was invaluable, I could not have gone as well as I did without his help.

Nicholas 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English maths and science 100 16-11-2020
Akash is a very special kind of tutor, he also talks like your his best friend. The topics in each english class, help expand my knowledge in thinking, the science topics he teaches me has helped my in school. Akash’s teaching in maths has helped as well, as I feel i caught up in my studies. Remote tutoring du not change any of that, as he managed to teach us still as we were at his place. Akash is a very well liked tutor.

Daniel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 150 16-11-2020
Very experienced, friendly and straightforward.

Adrienne 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Creative writing 21 16-11-2020
My son was under Akash tutoring since June and he has improved tremendously in his creative writing and applied his learning in school homework. Thank you Akash for your dedication in teaching

Sargun 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
VCE-Chemistry Unit 1/2 20 07-11-2020
A really good tutor had some trouble with the lockdown but was quickly able to work around it and adapt to a new system. Provides quality material and bang for your buck.

Ramodh 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 30 06-11-2020
Akash is a very committed and knowledgeable tutor who I'd highly recommend. He is very flexible with class times and rescheduling, and always prepares new material to be covered in each lesson. Akash's teaching style is very effective to learn content, and he also teaches you the tips and tricks needed to get the highest marks. He is a great bloke who is very approachable with any questions, similar to talking to a friend. He's boosted my chemistry grades so much this year, and by being able to learn all the content of the course well in our weekly lessons, I've been able to get consistent A+'s without having to spend time reading textbooks or making notes. If you choose to invest in Akash as your tutor for a subject, you'll be making a very good decision for your education.

Rohan 4.5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5
English Language 10 05-11-2020
Started with Akash as a tutor mid year 12 due to at-home learning, and it was one of my best decisions of the year. Going from barely knowing the meta language of the subject, to gaining an in-depth understanding on both content as assessment matter has made an enormous difference to my marks. Akash’s 1-on-1 tutor style promotes engagement and means no weak area will go unnoticed.

Luca 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Language 3/4 15 05-11-2020
I joined in search of help for my y12 english language subject, having been tutored by 2 other people this year. Akash really helped me push and improve on the subject and gives great feedback. Definitely a good choice for any subject.

Sharanya 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, English, Science 35 03-11-2020
Overall a great tutor- Although it took many lessons, saw so much improvement in my overall essay writing in terms of fluency. He explains math and science concepts very well, and also found huge amounts of knowledge gained and information learnt.

Sankeert 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths Methods 40 27-10-2020
I decided to join Akash's VCE Maths Methods class after attending a trial session at the start of the year and have seen nothing but improvement. He is especially proficient with the subject as he has recently graduated and knows all the ins and outs of how to tackle exam-style questions. His teaching method is clear and concise and covers everything there is to know. This is also augmented with his handouts and practice tests. Akash has also helped me out with more than just maths, providing tips on how to manage my time and how to study for exams in general. I would definitely recommend him anyone who needs that boost in maths, and look forward to learning with him for the time to come.

Emily 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Methods 151 26-10-2020
Akash is a great tutor. I have seen a huge improvement in my results through the 2 years he has tutored me. He is young so it is much easier to be informal and talk about anything with him. He gives pretty hardcore and honest feedback which really hit home but he always tells you what to do to do better and how to improve. He is also very flexible in his timing as well, if I have a sac I can always reschedule to another day or time in the week, given that the slot is not already taken. He really cares about my learning in not only the subject he teaches but also other subjects. Akash is not only my tutor but also my friend. I am very lucky to have him as a tutor.

Saravanan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Methods , chemistry 70 26-10-2020
Joined Akash in the middle of the year, looking for a tutor who could really help me. Akash did that for me with his engaging teaching style , where he will explain a concept in a way that , you are actively thinking and constructing your idea of that concept through his use of questions and explanation. A rare teaching technique among tutors that Akash has proven to be effective at using , would highly recommend him as a tutor, he is very passionate, caring and reasonable with you , and helps you to unlock your better learning habits. Quality tutors like this are hard to come by , and from class number 1 to class number 50 his passion is always visible. You don’t find many tutors like this, credit to Akash where it’s due. prices are also very reasonable for a tutor , especially for a 1 on 1 tutor.

Asha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Language 30 25-10-2020
Akash is an amazing tutor! He is young and informal which makes tutoring with him a really comfortable environment. He is always willing to answer my questions and goes above and beyond in correcting my work to ensure I receive detailed feedback. I saw immediate results after seeing him, with my goals increasing from a 70% average before seeing him to an 85% average the first SAC I took after seeing him. Akash also provides detailed notes that we went through together, which I found really helpful :)

Samuel 4.5 5 5 4 4 5 5 5 5
English language 20 25-10-2020
Perfect for me when I was struggling with e Lang, took me on straight away and made an effort to catch me up. He has greatly helped me to improve not only my knowledge of the study design but the skills required for the top marks. I highly recommend for all those who want higher marks in the subject.

Andrew 4.0 5 5 5 2 5 5 4 4
Methods 3/4 30 25-10-2020
Well experienced tutor with knowledge of the process and procedure of VCE having completed it last year. Better than a professor with esteemed credentials but does did not go through VCE. He is the most organised and chill tutor I have (can be strict at times) which is a pro, really encourages students to study, and a bonus of teaching life skills. Every lesson is broken down into sections and he has planed all the lessons for the year, saving time during class.

Ajit 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Math methods 100 25-10-2020
Great tutor, plenty of resources, very chill to talk to and extremely passionate in tutoring. Would highly recommend!

Hodge 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 30 25-10-2020
Joined late 2019 knowing very little in my VCE subject with little hope in Chemistry. However, after joining with Akash, never had I thought I would be the top of my class towards the end of the year. His passion is just hard to compare with any of my current tutors in my other subjects and only wished he did my other VCE subjects so he could've tutored me there to :)

Ruth 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Science, English 60 25-10-2020
Joined with Akash early 2019 after being referred to by a friend. Amazing is the only word to define him as a tutor, I couldn't believe that he quit university to put more time into us. just unbelievable the levels he went to help me do well. I can't wait for what the future years will bring as Akash has helped be almost 6 months ahead of my cohort

Andre 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Math methods 40 25-10-2020
Legend, flexible, easy to talk to and was worth every cent. Thankyou Akash

Maddi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Language 40 23-10-2020
Akash is an excellent tutor for English Language! He is always willing to answer any questions I have had and goes through each aspect of the study design in a great level of detail so I can be assured I will be well prepared for SACs and the exam. He is always well prepared for each lesson and has a great level of knowledge to assist those wanting to know the basics to those wanting to aim high. He is great at tutoring through zoom, even before COVID-19, and has all the resources he needs to effectively teach and provide feedback. Definitely recommend!

Tanya 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, Maths, Science 3 22-10-2020
Akash is a really good tutor compared to other tutoring centers I have attended ie. James An College and Excel With Us. He sets a substantial amount of homework which consolidates the knowledge gained in classes. I have definitely felt that my work ethics and knowledge has increased considerably ever since coming to his lessons. I am currently ahead of my accelerated class in school in Science and Maths and have found, that tutoring classes cover topics before regular school. This has made me ahead in class as I already know what to expect. There has been an upsurge in the quality of my writing in English, as I now know the proper format of formal and creative essays and know what teachers look for in essays. I definitely recommend Akash's tutoring as he makes time for each student for any queeries, is willing to prepare more work for those who want the extra work or want to revise. Despite having to tutor 30+ students a week by himself, he knows the strengths and weaknesses of each and every student. He takes this into account when planning the materials and courses, in order to improve each students performance. I also find that the prices for the lessons are very reasonable compared to similar businesses in the area and for the knowledge gained and materials given.

Neil 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, Maths, Science, AMC P 200 21-10-2020
One of the best tutors I have had, left common tutoring centres such as James An and Kumon and it has been an absolute delight and 100% worth the money getting tutored by Akash. What makes Akash great is that he doesn't just act like a tutor, but also a close friend you get to know over time. Akash has tutored me in Science, English, Maths and AMC problem solving and it has been an absolute delight so far :)

Ann 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, Maths, Science, AMC P 200 21-10-2020
Took both my kids (Years 4 and 8) out of James An and sent them to Akash. Could not have been any happier on the decision made. My daughter passed the Accelerated Program Test in Balwyn High and my son is continuously getting high distinctions/distinctions in the subjects Akash tutors them. His transition to online tuition was seamless and extremely well organised for one person to handle around 35 students a week. Thankyou for your help so far :)