Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Shannon Gerard -  Melbourne - Niddrie

Overall rating of 4.8 stars based on 68 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Sarah 4.0 4 4 5 4 5 4 3 4
English 30 21-01-2019
Shannon greatly assisted with my preparation for the Year 12 English exam. I was required to complete a number of practise exams at home, to exam time limits, to ensure I was able to plan well for exam conditions. Shannon provided great instructions and exam hints and tips throughout the year. He was always encouraging and supportive. I highly recommend him as an English tutor. Thanks Shannon.

Adam 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Tutor 45 16-12-2018
Shannon litterally saved my VCE English grades I was failing all through year 11 but from his help i was able to not just pass but get solid Bs and sometimes an A with his help!

David 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting 20 05-11-2018
Fantastic Tutor, very patient, very comprehensive skills, definitely helped my Daughter for her Year 12 Accounting Tests and Exams.

Bernie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 5 02-11-2018
Shannon was kind enough to tutor our year 12 son in English. We found Shannon by means of a friends recommendation and within a short amount of time he managed to bring our sons results and confidence up in the lead up to final exams. Worth every cent. We are thrilled Shannon has agreed to tutor our year 11 son next year in math. Shannon's professionalism, logic, patience and hard working approach gets results. Forever grateful.

Danijela 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English/Maths 40 12-02-2018
Shannon has helped my daughter prepare for the select entry test. He is knowledgeable, patient, supportive, empowering, organised, effective communicator. I would highly recommend him to any new families looking for a tutor.

Sanja 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 4 4
English and maths 80 02-02-2018
Shannon has been a great tutor explaining maths using simple terms and helping my son with English. He is patient and organised and the environment is always friendly. Whenever there is any difficulty with an assignment or test Shannon is always happy to discuss and explain. I would highly recommend him.

Natasha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 55 20-12-2017
I've received tutoring services for English by Shannon for about a year and a half and he helped me incredibly in improving my English skills. He was capable of expressing his knowledge to me so I could understand how to fix my mistakes and enhance my knowledge.

Adrian 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting 50 15-12-2017
When we first met Shannon, he tested my daughter with quick fire Accounting questions to assess her knowledge. Immediately we knew he knows his Accounting being a CPA. In addition, his temperament and friendliness appeals to the teaching of this subject. Always supportive and instills confidence. End result was a 45 in Accounting which validates his knowledge, teaching and guidance. Highly recommended for VCE students.

Blaz 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 5 15-12-2017
Shonnon improved my daughters writing immensely...more importantly helped with her confidence. Friendly caring tutor always available...highly recommend..

Clairw 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 4 5 5
Maths & English 5 12-12-2017
Shannon has been my children’s tutor (10ya & 12 yr old) for over a year and we couldn’t have been happier. Both have improved their grades and more importantly their confidence has greatly increased. We would strongly recommend Shannon.

Diane 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths & English 1 11-12-2017
Cannot recommend a better tutor than Shannon, his supportive , knowledgeable with great communication. My son enjoys going tutoring with him .

Elizabeth 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 50 06-07-2017
It's truly pressure having the opportunity to have Mr Shannon Gerard as my son's tutor. He puts evident effort into his work, he is kind, caring and has friendly character that makes him a role model for my son who has made great progress since the beginning of the tutoring. I cannot say thanks enough for Mr Gerard's hard work that produced quality results in my son's learning. We really appreciate a positive difference and the lifetime skills that he is teaching my son. If you want real accomplishment, Mr Shannon Gerard is the tutor to count on.

Jennis 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting 5 22-04-2017
Shannon was great at explaining the topic in a straightforward and easy way so that my son understood the work and didnt just learn it Highly reccomend !

Mist 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 4 4 4
English 30 14-04-2017
This tutor has helped me a lot in regards to improving my English writing skills, especially when it comes to Language Analysis and Text responses. He also provides quite insightful notes on the novels that I am currently studying in year 12. I would thoroughly recommend anyone in need of english help to receive tuition from Shannon.

Danijela 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
English/Maths 5 09-04-2017
Shannon is a knowledgeable, patient, supportive and encouraging tutor. His lessons are structured, he is introducing new concepts gradually. His fees are reasonable. Our daughter has learned a lot in the past few months but most importantly she feels more confident in her writing and maths skills. We are very happy with Shannon's teaching style and hope that he will continue supporting us in the future.

Mist 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 4 4 4
English 30 08-04-2017
This tutor has helped me a lot in regards to improving my English writing skills, especially when it comes to Language Analysis and Text responses. He also provides quite insightful notes on the novels that I am currently studying in year 12. I would thoroughly recommend anyone in need of english help to receive tuition from Shannon.

Leigh 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 4 4
Accounting 14 23-12-2016
As a parent of a year 12 student who was basically abandoned by the government school teacher, the help that Shannon was able to provide was immeasurable. At a time when my daughter had lost interest in the subject, Shannon managed to restore her self belief and provide her with the knowledge to actually pass - versus certain failure otherwise. I have no hesitation in recommending Shannon to everyone. He is first rate.

Craig 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting 14 22-12-2016
Very Patient and knowledgeable tutor. I started with zero knowledge and he patiently explained the core concepts to me. Thank you. I got a great score.

Jeeyantha 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
English Literature 1 15-12-2016
Excellent patient tutor who took time out to explain key concepts and ideas. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Ethan D 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 90 28-11-2016
Right from our initial lesson I was very impressed with his professiionalism, experience, wealth of knowledge and a down to earth style of teaching. For those parents out there that have kids that have no interest at school but you know he/she is an astute child but doesn't apply themselves. Shannon is the perfect tutor to ignite your child's ability to learn and stay focused. Without Shannon my son would not have completed year 12. For a kid who didn't want to go to a tutor he came out every lesson feeling positive and enthused about his future! Thank you Shannon for all the patience you had with my son and the positive impact you had on him. Vlenia

Andy 3.5 4 5 4 2 3 5 5 3
English 30 25-10-2016
Very dedicated and experienced teaching VCE English

Aleks 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 40 10-09-2016
I would strongly recommend Shannon to anyone that needs any help with any of the subjects that he is tutoring.

Catherine 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, English 50 17-08-2016
I found Shannon on the Tutor Finder website whilst looking for a local tutor for my daughter who was in Grade 5 at the time. From the outset, I have been thrilled with Shannon, and importantly, my daughter who had resisted previous tutoring, is likewise really happy to attend. Shannon has helped her enormously in Maths, and has helped stretch her in English. She recently applied for a very competitive select entry secondary school, and was accepted based on the results of an academic test. There were approximately 500 applications for 60 places, and I put her success in a large part down to Shannon, who has not only increased her skills, but also her confidence and her love of learning. I can highly recommend Shannon to all parents, for students of both genders and all ages.

Jaden 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 4 5 3
Accounting, English 60 16-11-2015
Excellent tutor that helped me improve the many skills that I was lacking prior to attending his classes. Very patient and knowledgeable in his teachings. Highly recommended. :)

Peter N 4.0 4 4 5 4 5 4 4 5
English 28 12-11-2015
Shannon was an extremely helpful at motivating me. When i was with him i was writing up to three essays a week. He really helped me to learn how to write fluent essays and provided me with unique ideas especially for text response and context. Would highly reccomend.

Steven L 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 28 06-11-2015
Shannon has assisted me throughout this year and I am averaging an "a" grade average. He is very friendly and generously provides great depths of knowledge for texts and films that are being studied. Shannon is always on time, organised and has kept me far beyond well prepared for upcoming sacs and ultimately exams. I would reccomend Shannon to anyone who wishes to improve their grades whilst working with a great guy!

Jordyn 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 25 02-11-2015
Working with Shannon this year has greatly improved my english and essay writing skills. He acknowledged my areas of weakness and helped me to improve on many aspects of essay writing. He also has a great knowledge of the novels and contexts of the year 12 course.

Trish B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 32 27-10-2015
Fantastic! He has helped my son improve his VCE English results!

Aleks 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 1 23-10-2015
As a mother of a student in year 11 who is tutored by Shannon, would strongly recommend that if you need any help with any of the subjects that he offers help with, please contact him.He is highly professional, patient and with great communication skills. Thanks kindly Shannon for all the help that you are giving to my son Marika

Bala 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Economics, Accounting 46 17-10-2015
My son, who is in year 11, has been tutored by Shannon since January for Economics and Accounting. Since Shannon started tutoring my son, we were able to see a significant improvement in his school reports. Shannon is an outstanding teacher, who is also very professional. He is very patient, and his teaching techniques makes it easy for students to understand the task. He explains the subject in a simple and systematic matter in order to achieve the most affective outcome for students. I am pleased to recommend Shannon to others as he is a very enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tutor who provides excellent support for students to achieve the best result.

Jessica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 5 05-10-2015
Has helped me significantly in preparation for my year 12 english examination! Would 100% recommend

Rosanna 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 13 05-10-2015
Shannon is very dedicated to his students and extremely friendly. He encouraged me to write lots of essays which greatly improved my writing. He is very knowledgeable and gives clear feedback on work. Would definitely recommend to others.

Renee 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, English, Legal, Psych, 25 01-10-2015
My daughter has been tutored by Shannon since March 2015. He is a fantastic communicator and is extremely patient and knowledgeable. He is very familiar with the current curriculum. He has helped my daughter greatly. She always leaves her lesson more confident and positive. We consider ourselves extremely lucky to have had Shannon as our tutor and we can highly recommend him to others.

Josh 4.0 4 5 3 5 3 5 5 5
English 6 30-09-2015
Great tutor, easy to get along with, breaks down what you have to do in a simple but effective form.

Rachel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 35 25-09-2015
Shannon is patient, friendly and very helpful. He motivated me to write lots of essays which improved my writing skills immensely. He made essay writing a lot easier to approach and handle, making sitting SACs and exams less stressful. Always very punctual and knew the texts well. Thank you!

Claudia Z 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 25-09-2015
Thank you for all your help Shannon ! I really appreciate it

A. J 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English & Maths 20 17-08-2015
Shannon has been tutoring my son in Maths and English in the last six months. During the course of the hour, he has accommodated our requirements beyond our expectations as smart teaching techniques are applied to achieve the most effective outcomes. He possesses excellent communication skills to explain the subject in a simple and systematic manner and his patience makes any student comfortable in the subject and understand the content being taught. His excellent knowledge across a range of subjects is impressive and the ability to address the needs of the student reflects him as an outstanding teaching professional. Also, through his teaching, my son was successful in gaining entry into a selective school. He is a very enthusiastic teacher who displays genuine concern for the advancement of his student and it is my pleasure to recommend him to others.

Osi 4.5 5 5 5 5 4 4 5 4
Yr 12 English 20 12-04-2015
He helped me improve my writing immensely. Motivates you to write lots of essays.

Nivine 4.5 5 5 4 4 5 5 5 5
English 200 17-03-2015
Thank you so much Shannon for being there for my children.

Vikram 4.5 4 5 5 3 5 4 5 5
English 25 02-01-2015
Shannon was an amazing Year 12 English tutor. He definitely helped me obtain amazing results and achieve above my expectations. Will definitely recommend to all

Jeet 4.0 4 4 5 4 4 5 4 4
English 20 15-12-2014
I had Shannon as a tutor for English in Year 12 and he knew my texts frim the back of his hand. Would definitely recommend him as an English tutor.

John N 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting & English 125 10-11-2014
Shannon has great depth of knowledge in English topics and can explain questions, themes and ideas exceptionally well for me to understand. He was very efficient and prepared resources and was very kind, professional, patient and helpful. I would recommend this tutor. Thanks for everything Shannon!

Andy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English and Maths 120 07-11-2014
Started with Shannon at the start of year 10 and he really helped me progress with my English and maths ! Always on time, knows his stuff and is always keen on viewing my marks and giving me feedback ! Highly recommend getting Shannon as a Tutor.

Jack H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 40 07-11-2014
Shannon has been tutoring my son in Maths for the last two years. Early in Year 9 it became obvious that my son would need some help with this subject. Now with Shannon's help it is one of his strongest subjects. He has gone from hiding his results to being quite proud of them. I hate to think where we would be without Shannon's help. Jack H

Thulasi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting & Economics 49 06-11-2014
Choosing Shannon as my tutor for VCE Accounting and Economics was the best decision I made regarding these subjects. I have improved substantially in these subjects from last year where I was pretty much just passing, all thanks to Shannon. I highly recommend him as he is very knowledgeable, easy to understand and get along with. If you do not understand a certain topic, he will explain it thoroughly using various examples until you understand it. I believe that without his help, I would not have been able to go into my exams with confidence. Thanks Shannon:)

Anne S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Grade 6 - maths and english 18 04-11-2014
Shannon has been of excellent assistance for my daughter (grade 6) and she has now improved in all areas of her school work. Shannon has given my daughter the confidence she needed and this will give her a great start to year 7. He is very patient and copes well with a talkative girl. My daughter's one hour a week tutoring has made for a much better second half of the year. Thanks Shannon. Anne

Daniela 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 90 29-10-2014
We've contacted Shannon over 2 years ago, to help get our son through English VCE. I must say, Shannon's help was invaluable. His patience was endless and he really helped him so much. Our son has now successfully completed his year 12 VCE (and has 2 uni offers already) and we have to thank Shannon for this. He did go above and beyond his duties and always kept contact to see what the teachers feedback was at any given time. His knowledge is fantastic. He knows all the required tasks and essays, is always punctual and his passion for teaching is wonderful. So, if you or your child is struggling with English (my son could not even write an essay in year 10!), I can highly recommend Shannon. I can't imagine a better tutor. Again, Thank you Shannon!

Kaylene V 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 50 29-10-2014
Shannon is more than we could have hoped for our son. We contacted him at our wits end unable to find a suitable tutor on our side of town. Our son was failing English which was not an option given his desired career path. Shannon was upfront with us and our son from the start and did not paint a false glossy picture but rather a realistic outline of what was required and the work that would need to be done for our son to achieve his goals. Shannon taught our son the techniques and guided him to seek the correct information required. Shannon was able to teach our son how to think for himself and write his essays independently. Shannon also kept an eye on upcoming sacs and ensured our son was prepared well in advance for everything that was required of him throughout the curriculum. Within a few months our sons marks had already risen by 15%. Fast forward a year and a half later and today our son has just sat his exam. Despite a unexpected curve ball being thrown at the children in this exam he was able to cope and do better than he expected thanks to the thorough preparation. We can't thank Shannon enough for his assistance and would recommend him highly to anyone seeking a tutor for their child.

Jessica 4.5 5 5 4 4 5 5 5 5
Mathamatics 50 28-03-2014
really improved in math heaps!

Joseph 3.0 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3
Accounting English 35 21-01-2014
Shannon is knowledgeable and patient. He was able to tutor me in a way that simplified all those hard concepts, and really left and impression. He was definitely a help with English and made a difference to my study score. I highly recommend him to those who want a high atar.

Janek 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 17 10-01-2014
Shannon, was great and patient. Great knowledge and cares about his students. Highly recommend.

Minura I 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 75 16-12-2013
Shannon was incredible in improving my scores in English. I started with him mid-way through year 11 where my SAC average was about a C. After finishing year 12, my SAC average for both Units 3&4 was A+. He was also very eager and helpful in teaching me Legal Studies. A very friendly and knowledgeable tutor.

Francesca 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
MATHS 30 05-09-2013
We first engaged Shannon in early 2013 and cannot thank him enough for the assistance given to our daughter in the subject of Maths. Shannon's dedication, patience and effective quality of teaching provided is first class. His commitment to ensuring that the student builds confidence in their abilities and a thorough knowledge of the subject is evident in the improved results and feedback we are receiving from our daughter's school. Would have no hesitation in strongly recommending Shannon to others.

Simon 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, Accounting 8 03-03-2013
Very patient and focused on the welfare of his students. Thanks, will be using services again

Hai L 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Englsih, Accounting 12 17-02-2013
Very dedIcated and passionate about his students. Thank you for your help. I got my 1st preference/offer. Thank you.

Jordan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 20 28-01-2013
Choosing Shannon as my tutor for English was the best decision I made regarding my education. I was never the strongest English student, however with the help of Shannon my marks improved immensely. Sometimes I had questions to ask outside the tuting lessons and Shannon was happy to answer them which goes to show how caring and helpful he is towards his students. At the start of the year I wasn't expecting a study score over 35, however, I was able to exceed the this and receive a 39 study score in English. I was honestly stoked and happy that my hard work payed off. I highly recommend Shannon as a tutor especially in English as he knows the content of most vce English books, If not will study them in his own and help you every step of the way.

Justine H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting 12 14-01-2013
Shannon helped me get through advanced financial accounting, without his help I would not have got through. He is very knowledgeable, patient and makes complex issues very easy to understand. I would definitely recommend him to other students as he is a great tutor!

Grateful P 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 25-12-2012
Able to establish good rapport with student and get a much better result than was expected.

Jerome D 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 3 3
English 7 09-12-2012
Shannon, Just a short note of thanks for all your help. I'm well on my way with my studies and have achieved a greater result than I thought I would great. Highly recommended, very patient and capable.

Joe m 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 9 14-08-2012
Shannon was patient and extremely helpful. He had well developed and easy to understand strategies that made essay planning and writing a lot easier. He has a genuine concern and patience for his students. this is extremely rare. Happy to recommend him.

Ragini S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting 6 10-07-2012
Great tutor. Highly recommend for Accounting and other subjects also. Very knowledgable. Easy to understand and get along with. Helped me achieve a great mark for a university subject I had VERY little interest or knowledge on in about 3 weeks. Would definately recommend to other students. But get in early for your lessons as he gets booked out VERY quickly!!

Sam G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 16 19-06-2012
Shannon was exceptional, very patient, knowledgeable and always helpful to me. I could not have got through without out. A BIG THANK YOU

Jen W 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Marketing, Law and Economics 15 24-03-2012
Shannon is great, and so knowledgeable. I would not have passed got such great results without his help. Thank you soooooooooooo much.

Steven B 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
English, legal, accounting 14 19-01-2012
I got the result I wanted and now an offer. Thank you. Appreciate your help.

Lal B 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Accounting 11 16-01-2012
Shannon helped me with my accounting studies and I found him to be very knowledgeable and patient. He also helped me with exam technique,preparation and note taking. I got a great result. Thank you very much.

Debra M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Economics, Marketing and Accou 13 22-12-2011
Shannon is a very knowledgeable tutor. He broke down complex concepts and explained with real world examples. He is always punctual. I would not have been able to get through my uni subjects without Shannon's help. If it wasn't for Shannon, I would not of done so well!!!

Kim P 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Accounting and English 26 25-10-2011
Shannon was great, excellent knowledge of subject matter and material. Very patient and encouraging. Created an excellent study environment.

John F 4.5 5 5 4 4 5 4 5 5
English, accounting legal 35 27-11-2010
Very knowledgeable about subject matter. Very patient and very helpful.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors