Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mrs Annie Alexander - Doncaster, Melbourne

Overall rating of 4.9 stars based on 10 reviews
These ratings are based on the results of a survey where students were asked to provide an honest assessment of their experience with this tutor.
Knowledge
100%
Extensive understanding of the subject
Communication
100%
Ability to communicate concepts clearly
Punctuality
100%
Always on time, notified student if unable to attend a lesson
Availability
96%
Available at a convenient time and location.
Attitude
100%
Enthusiastic, interested, patient, and courteous
Preparation
100%
Came prepared with lessons and activities
Improvement
100%
Helped student to improve in subject
Value for money
100%
Provided value for money lessons

Overall Rating 4.9

Poor Fair Adequate Good Excellent

Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Harry 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry and Maths Methods 30 30-01-2014
Annie is an exceptional tutor of many years experience in teaching the work required to achieve absolute excellence. I received not only the highest quality teaching in these two subjects, but the continued mentoring and assessing she did of my work, and SAC preparation work resulted in amazing success, so much more than I expected to achieve. I have loved maths and chemistry, and worked well with Annie. She trained me to analyse the quality of my work. She helped me draw up a homework timetable that allowed me to fit home work and SAC preparation time for all subjects each week. In my lessons with her, she demonstrated the process of high quality solutions that if done in the exams, they can earn maximum results. As a result I was always ahead of my class in both subjects, always ready to do the SACs and earn A+ for all of them, and I have been trained to do exam questions out of the Checkpoints all year, and finally I have done more than 20 practice exam papers in readiness for my exams. I got 50 for Methods, and 48 for Chemistry. My score was an amazing 99.2 and I gained entry into Melbourne Uni BioMed Science with GUARANTEED ENTRY INTO MEDICINE. Thank you so much Annie, I will always be grateful for your insight and leadership to get me to where I got in this amazing year. Harry

Leila 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chemistry 30 14-01-2013
I am very greatful to Annie for being such a visionary tutor. She was always a few steps ahead of me in planning and organising the next topic to be taught. She always taught me in advance, and monitored my progress by indicating to me every lesson not only what work I had to do, but how much, and how to do it. In Chemistry and Maths Methods. this covered weekly reading and summaries of topics, step by step flowcharts of solution processes, that helped me to to solve basically any problem I encountered. She emphasized examination work and techniques all year, that helped me to be very proficient in exam work, by laying out correct solutions steps, spending the right amount of time, and answering comprehensively, to get the full marks for every question. She was very helpful in preparing me for all the requirements of each SAC ahead of time, so not only was I ready for every one of them, I knew the work very well and achieved very high result. My scores were 48 & 46. and my overall score was 96.25. I am now starting Law at Monash University, and I am so thrilled about the results. It was hard work all year, but worth all the travel and hours of homework and revision with Annie. So words are not enough to thank you for all you did for me, for I know for sure I would not have achieved these results with your ongoing help and guidance. I know my brother is coming to see you this year, and he is looking forward to start the tutoring. So thank you. Leila

Michael 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths Methods, Chemistry 66 25-02-2012
I started my orientation at Monash Uni Medical Science course, and I could not help but reflect on the amazing effort you put in to help me achieve what I achieved. Right from the start I could see that you were a different kind of teacher, you were not just a tutor. What I got from you was total committment to my success. You taught me the topics at least weeks ahead of time, you connected all the topics to each other so I could see the relevance of each and I was able to make the connections, and the work made far more sense, and as such I was able to achieve far better results. Because of the early preparation for each of the SACs I was able to get high results, mostly A+ and some A. You helped me draw up a plan for study like a homework timetable, You helped me organzie the work in a systematic way, that I was able to manage all the tasks on time, you showed me how to test the quality of what I was doing so I knew what marks I would get, and then know if that was good enought. I achieved this by studying the topics, answering text book questions, concentrating on work for the SACs, and preparing for exams progressively after each topic was completed, by doing check point work, that you contiually monitored and corrected. You assessed my effort and my work all the time , and told me quite often, when my work was not of the standard that will allow me into Medicine. I contiually was monitored and mentored, so I was able to achieve what you knew was so important for me to get so I can achieve my dream course. I dont know how to thank you, except to say, that I will try to do good with what you have given me, and may be able to give back in some good way. Thank you, thank you. I am so happy with my results, I am so grateful I found you when I did. Michael.

Richard 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chem , Biol 48 19-01-2012
Dear Annie The time has come to thank you for the amazing results I got as a result of a full year of tutoring with you. You have made a new student out of me. You trained me to be organized, critical, and high performing student. Thank you for the skills you taught me right throughout the year. Not only efficient study techniques, but exam techniques, problem solving, and readiness for everything, including the weekly SACs that I had to confront in the subjects, and all the A's and A+'s I got. I found your knowledge of the subject content is so superior, my own classroom teachers faded by comparsion. I sometimes was so ahead in class, my teachers were acting puzzled. I highly recommend you to the VCE student population of Melbourne, I drove from Sunbury to Bulleen every week, and it has paid off. I went from being a good to average student in year 11 to scoring 96.7 in year 12, and got into Monash Engineering/Commerce and I am still in the clouds. My results for the subjects were Maths 46, Chem 44, Biol 48. What can I say, but God Bless You, I will always be grateful. Thanks, Richard

Kate C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chemistry 30 05-10-2011
Annie has been my rock in VCE this year. I felt since I met her that I met a professional who is strong in their field, but also committed to getting the best results for the student. She is knowledgeable, beyond what is expected of a teacher, this comes from world travels and being a versatile person with so many interests. Her advice regarding advancing, teaching techniques that improve the quality of study in the shortest posssible time, and recently in advising me to the best tertiary course, its prerequistes, and employment potential for this area. I have learnt to be organised, responsible, well planning, and always ready for all assessments in VCE, leading me to achieve great results in the SACS and now in my practice exams that I have recently done. She has trained me well in all areas of application work in my subjects, by getting me to do all checkpoint work very early on in the year. have been doing practice exams for a long time and now I am able to score well, finish the paper with time to spare. I am so grateful to Annie, as she is so competent in finding most of a student's strengths and weaknesses and enhancing them to help the student achieve excellence in their performance. Thanks Annie, I will always be grateful for what you have given to me, to make me a high performer. Kate

Chris 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chemistry 44 06-08-2011
Dear Annie, It has been an amazing journey for me to be tutored by you for Maths & Chemistry. I came to you in year 11 last year and this year I am achieving very high results. You teach in a systematic logical way, that shows the structures of the subject, foccusing on Exam training. I am forever grateful for all the exam practice you gave me, and when you told me in April I had to do 15 practice exams, I laughed. You insisted and I obliged. The result is that I did amazingly in my mid year Chemistry Exam and I am 3rd in my class in Maths Methods. The teacher is trying hard to figure out what happened to me but I am keeping you as a secret. I know I will do exceptionally well at the end of the year in my VCE exams. You got me to finish my checkpoints by July and I am now doing end of year exams with you. I am nearly finished the syllibus for the year I am actually 3 topics ahead of my class in both subjects. I feel very priviledged to have you as my teacher, and my sister is on a waiting list to start next year. My mum wont even consider someone else. A million Thanks, Chris

Jessica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
VCE Maths, Chem , Biol 32 06-05-2011
Thank you so much for what you brought into my life. You taught me smart study and problem solving techniques that are so advanced, and the notes and summaries you often give me are so clever, my teacher copied them to use them in the classroom. After seeing you twice a week for Further,Methods, Chemistry and Biology, I am now so ahead of class, and getting A/A+ for all Sacs so far, my class room teacher can"t believe the progress I made so far from humble beginings. I now not only feel great confidence in my own abilities to achieve, but much of your passion for knowledge and achievement has been very infectious. I must say I admire you and respect you greatly, ten years from now you are one great teacher i am going to remember I had.

Jacinta 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chem , Biol 28 04-04-2011
I found Annie to be exceptional in her knowledge and ability to teach application to the work. She made me do alot of SAc work and EXAM work, and I was able to score A+ in my Biol, chem and Maths SACs that I had done so far. I met some of her other students doing the same work and they also cant believe the speed at which they improved in their work and were able to score high results. Annie is also teaching my brother in year 10, and my mum is delighted at his progress. I would highly recommend Annie to other students. Jacinta

Tamara 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Biology & Chemistry& Maths 15 13-02-2011
Annie is one of rare tutors who teaches from the heart and with all the energy and passion so missing in many tutos that i have tried, She is so prepared and organised and her teaching style makes the work so easy to understand, i was able to understand much work in vert short time. Her continual reference to exam material is great, now I know where excellence can be achieved, and how to best be prepared for exams. Thanks Annie for showing me the way to achievement. Tamara

Gina a 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 30 22-01-2011
This tutor is amazing, above all my expectations. I was so lucky to find her, god bless Kath. Gina

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors