Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Fifi English Specialist and HSC -  Sydney - Eastwood

Overall rating of 4.9 stars based on 31 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Seb 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English advanced 40 21-12-2020
I have never had an English tutor prior to Fifi. However, I can say without a doubt, that choosing Fifi as a tutor was a fantastic decision. She was able to fundamentally change the way I viewed the subject and my writing style for the better. She was able to go through my work with a fine-tooth comb and point out whenever I had gone off-topic, whenever I provided unnecessary information, whenever my paragraph structure was flawed and other issues that I was oblivious to before-hand. She helped me in studying for the exams by teaching me to adapt to the variety of questions that can be asked rather than just simply providing a pre-written essay. She was able to provide a study plan for the trials and HSC that aimed to prepare me for the unpredictability of the exam. As a result, I was more than prepared for the HSC and was able to confidently adapt to everything that the exam threw at me. Thanks to her, I was able to ace the HSC and obtain my dream coarse at the Australian National University.

Manjari 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Advanced 47 25-09-2020
I've never been very confident in my English abilities and it has always been a really difficult subject but after starting tutoring with Fifi at the end of last year, I began to really understand what markers were looking for. Thanks to her help, I've seen so much improvement and been able to achieve high marks in all my assessments, and a high rank overall. She has always pushed me towards achieving my best and taught with dedication and kindness! I definitely recommend her as a tutor :)

Brendan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 41 12-09-2020
Truly, Fifi's someone who can unravel the mysterious inner workings of English. Her logical approach to writing let me appreciate English as a dynamic subject, instead of just mindlessly memorising paragraphs and hoping for the best. If you're looking for a supportive and insightful tutor, you can't go wrong with Fifi.

Angela 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 5 24-04-2020
I am taking this opportunity to give my personal recommendation of Fifi for English tutoring. I found her at the Tutor finder website one year ago, at that time I was looking for a tutor who can help my son preparing the selective school test. Fifi brought with her an extensive background in teaching and English literature, along with a positive attitude and engaging personality. With Fifi’s help, my boy’s score about English writing improved dramatically. The outcome was always staying at the top 5% of both AAS and ACER scholarship tests. What Fifi can bring is far more than English teaching. She also cares about the student’s character and quality development. To me, she is far beyond an English tutor. We talked very closely on kids’ education and future planning. She is an excellent mentor to my son and a priceless friend to me. Fifi can inspire students to explore their gifts, and I am confident that she will continue her positive influence on many students to come.

Ryan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 70 04-02-2020
English has always been a particularly challenging area of my schooling life. Throughout my high school journey, I have had many English tutors, none of which compare to Fifi. I started with Fifi at the start of year 11 after having difficulties in keeping up with the demanding workload of senior year. Immediately after beginning with Fifi, I knew something was different, as I saw instantaneous improvements in all areas of my class, something that I hadn't experienced before with other tutors. Fifi's perfect mix of professionalism and enthusiasm created an environment that I looked forward to learning in, as I knew after leaving Fifi's I would be feeling more confident and ready to tackle whatever was thrown at me. Her extensive knowledge coupled with her unique teaching style meant that my approach to any task in English was exactly what the HSC required, meaning that by the time the HSC did arrive, I was proficient and accustomed to all areas of the course. Looking back now after completing the HSC and achieving a raw HSC English mark of 90, starting with Fifi was the best decision I ever made, as it was through her guidance and perseverance that I am privileged to attend university doing my dream course. Highly recommend !!!

Hiroi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Advanced + English Ext 200 06-11-2019
I have been going to Fifi for tutoring since Year 7 and have stayed with her all the way until the end of the HSC - without a doubt one of the best decisions I've ever made! She is so lovely, welcoming and understanding, and I can't thank her enough for everything she has done for my learning and growth over the years. What I noticed every year was that all of the activities I did with her in the younger years gave me all the skills I needed in my senior years. Everything started flowing more naturally and my marks shot up in an instant. She also tutored me in maths and gave me so much advice for music, which really reflects her generosity and kindness. Fifi genuinely cares about each of her students and I feel so lucky that I've been able to meet her and have her support throughout all the stress of schoolwork. Not only is she the best tutor, she is the most amazing mentor and friend. 100% recommend!!

Lilly 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Advanced and Extension 70 06-11-2019
I have had numerous English tutors over my years of schooling and have never met a tutor who is as knowledgeable and proficient as Fifi. I started tutoring with Fifi in 2017 for help with advanced English where I was receiving mainly band 4s and the occasional band 5 however, after a term with Fifi a band 4 and 5 was foreign... a band 6 was the new norm. I have done really well thanks to Fifi and without her guidance I would not have attained the brilliant marks I received in the HSC. She taught me how to write band 6 essays and marked them critically, guided me and edited my extension 2 major work and helped me immensely in extension 1. Fifi is a warm and kind person who wants the absolute best for you and will go that extra mile to ensure that you achieve your very best results. Thank you so much Fifi. I could not have done it without you :)

Daniella 4.5 5 5 4 4 5 5 5 5
English Advanced 100 07-01-2019
During the two-and-half years that I spent with Fifi, she was not only an amazing tutor but a great friend as well. I always had a fun time at her lessons and never hesitated to ask her any questions that I had (even if they were dumb). Although I am not a fast learner, Fifi was very patient in identifying my mistakes and helping me to understand how to correct them. Unlike my teachers at school, Fifi didn’t “spoon-feed” me, giving me an overload of useless materials, but she taught me to actually understand how to achieve a good result in the HSC. I’m so glad that I got to meet Fifi, and I am forever grateful for her dedication and kindness.

Alina 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 60 21-12-2018
I studied English with Fifi for Year 11 and 12 and she helped me by marking my essays and creatives, helping me formulate arguments and topic sentences and motivating me to achieve amazing results - top bands (band 6's and E4's) in English Advanced, English Extension 1 and English Extension 2. I ranked 13th/160, 2nd/55 and 4th/13 respectively at an academically selective school. By brainstorming the best ways to tackle the syllabus, finding sophisticated techniques in texts, and completing a huge MAJOR WORK with Fifi, I can honestly say that she helped alleviate the stress and pressure of HSC English and made it an experience I can be proud of. Fifi is intelligent, knowledgeable, kind and considerate. She has spent time rearranging her schedule to accomodate me, allowed access to her never-ending resources, given me career advice, spent extra time with me when I needed more help than usual, and pushed me to do my best by not "spoon-feeding" me like other bad tutors can do. This allowed me to create unique and well thought out material which was appreciated by the markers. Her cute dog was also a welcome respite from it all. Would highly recommend.

Alan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 17-12-2018
Fifi is an amazing English tutor who will definitely help you improve in English! She will easily identify your mistakes in essays/creatives and will patiently help you in correcting and improving them. Furthermore, her knowledge of English texts and access to resources was definitely helpful in providing multiple perspectives of certain ideas, which was incredibly helpful when it came to writing essays. She is also very friendly and approachable! Getting tutored by Fifi was definitely one of the best decisions I have made for my HSC.

Kun H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Advanced 120 13-12-2018
Before meeting Fifi I briefly attended a large English tutor however, I struggled to maintain a C grade in year 10. Unlike many other tutors, Fifi was extremely patient in reinforcing my mistakes and how to efficiently improve on them despite my lackluster English skills. She has overwhelming knowledge of English and a passion that really motivated me to work harder to get those high grades and ranks that I thought were impossible before. I even started to enjoy English more than maths! By believing in Fifi's teaching and working hard, I could see massive improvements in my writing and everyday use of English through my senior high school years. Not to mention, I look forward to every single lesson as she is friendly and funny which helps put off stress from a week of school. Time literally passes by! When it comes time for exams and assignments I've never stressed too hard as she makes me prepare weeks earlier in advance, allowing me to allocate time for other subjects. Fifi is the best teacher in the world and she can make you into the best student too if you just trust her word! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Also she has a cute dog for extra stress relief!

David 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Advanced 100 05-10-2018
I graduated from Trinity in 2018, I came to Fifi when I was midway in year 11 where my half-yearly result was 14/30 and the ranking was 75/121. Now, after trials, my official ranking is 19/121 - a significant jump to which I am so grateful for. Fifi has demonstrated a passion to help other students to improve their marks significantly. Her students have always achieved band 6's and even state ranking. Therefore, I highly suggest that those who need help with English should contact her.

Anany 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Advanced 80 25-12-2017
What differentiates Fifi from other tutors out there is her level of dedication towards her students and her ability to help them improve their writing skills, tremendously. Her teaching style enables the students to truly understand, the requirement to achieve top band in HSC English. The methodical approach she takes towards Essay writing and creative writing helped me improve my ranks significantly at my high school (Normanhurst Boys HS) and do well in the HSC exams as well. Her friendly and helpful attitude towards her students help them gain confidence in their abilities and thus positions them to achieve high marks. Additionally, Fifi helped me with my UNSW Co-op application and LAT exam, her tips and input allowed me to gain entry into UNSW Dual Law and helped me in securing an interview for the Actuary co-op. With Fifi as your tutor, English is one subject you won't have to worry about during your HSC.

Jess 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Advanced English 100 01-12-2017
Fifi has helped me with my advanced english studies since the beginning of year 12 and has significantly helped me improve my English ranks at school (PLC Sydney) and writing skills - making one of my weakest subjects, one of my strongest!! Fifi was super dedicated and patient in helping me reach my potential, I never knew I was capable of :) She is definitely the best english tutor anyone could have! I definitely recommend Fifi as an english tutor, and can guarantee that she will be able to improve your marks and writing abilities, immediately!!

2017graduate 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 18-11-2017
Fifi helped me with English Adv and Ext 1 in terms 2-4 of year 12 and I have seen so much improvement in my essay writing skills.Having attended a high school which is quite strong in english (go Pymble!), I never thought I could climb the ranks so dramatically in English, however, with Fifi's help the impossible seems to have happened as my final internal ranks places me in a relatively safe position to attain the highest band (according to data from previous years). Would definitely recommend!

Cindy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Adv & Ext 1 40 17-11-2017
Fifi is an AMAZING tutor that has helped me so much throughout the year!! She has helped me with not only english advanced, but also english extension 1 and is definitely one of the biggest reason for my good assessment marks!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE IN YEAR 12!!

Will 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English/Music 75 17-12-2016
Fifi taught me in HSC English Advanced and the practical component in Music 2 and was seriously the best tutor and friend. Compared to other tutors that I had, Fifi stood out because she didn't make the subject boring and was able to teach using modern concepts so that I understood them easily. It was hard to admit but I even started liking English after I started seeing myself improve in my marks at school. She adjusted her explanation to my level and I cannot thank her enough for my band 6 marks for english advanced and my music practical this year! I cannot rate Fifi any higher and would definitely recommend students of all ages to her tutoring lessons!!!!

Daniel D 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
English 4 17-12-2016
Hands down best english tutor. I came to her 3-4 weeks before my HSC, averaging high 80s however not able to reach the A range in standard english. Although it was definitely last minute and rushed, she was patient with me every lesson, providing all the knowledge i need for all of my essays. After 2-3 lessons with her, my teachers commended all my essays and told me that i was definitely ready for the HSC. Honestly, she is probably the reason why i got a band 6 in English! Regardless of what level of English you have she is guaranteed to get you an A. Would definitely recommend her to anyone!!

Shruti 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 12 15-12-2016
Fifi was really really good!!! She was super dedicated and had a good understanding of what makes a Band 6 response. In the short time that I was with Fifi she improved my comprehension and essay writing skills dramatically!!

Nelani 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Engli 60 02-03-2016
Fifi is the best English tutor I have ever had. I go to a private school and have been to MANY English tutors but none of them have been able to bring my grade up to an A. I Started seeing Fifi and the beginning of year 11 where my average mark was a C and I found English to be my hardest subject. Fifi taught me with passion and dedication, which was seen in the results of my first assessment task with her which I scored a high B in. After that my marks were in the A range, which I never thought was possible and I am ranked first in my class. Fifi is a dedicated and hardworking tutor who has all the resources and knowledge needed to get a band 6 in English. Regardless of what level of English you have she is guaranteed to get you an A. I highly recommend her to anyone that is looking for a band 6 in English!

Qi x 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 50 22-09-2015
She is a best English tutor in the would for my son Gordon. My son's English ranking was at the last in his high school year 12. After about 2 month tutoring, he started to catch up. Now, about 10 months after her tutoring, my son's English ranking is at the middle of a selective high school. That is a great improvement for my son. I am extremely grateful. She also tutors my son how to select the courses for Universities. This is very helpful as my son is not able to make up his own decisions. She understand my son's character and help him to choose the best courses that suit him. Yes, she is a excellent tutor in the would for my son Gordon, I am only too happy to recommend her to anyone that needs her help in English.

Jeremy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 52 15-10-2014
Fifi is probably the best English tutor there is! She's always really supportive and helped me along every step of the way! She is the only reason I got Band 6 in the HSC! Would recommend her to anyone! :)

Emma 4.5 5 5 5 3 5 4 5 4
English 25 15-10-2014
Fifi helped me improved significantly in all aspects of English particularly essay writing as well as helping me with confidence within this tough subject. I strongly recommended her!!

James Y 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 52 14-10-2014
She was helpful towards the english advanced course.

Terence G 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 3 5 5
English 11 13-10-2014
English is a tough subject to tutor though I think Fifi managed to do a great job.

John C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 52 11-10-2014
Very good and helpful all the time.

Amy M 3.0 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3
English 10 21-02-2014
Well, strongly recommend her for English lessons. Really efficient and effective. My essay writing skill improved a lot after the lessons.

Mandi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Standard 10 07-10-2013
Helped me improve my essays, marked my practice AOS papers, etc. She is very helpful and understanding, happy to assist with whatever I need help on. :-)

Steven X 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Piano 30 29-09-2013
Fifi is the best piano tutor as I did not know how to play piano before and now I can play muost of the songs I like! Highly recommend :D

Lalitha K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Englsih Advanced 10 21-05-2013
I went to Sydney Boys High School and received english advanced tuition form FIfi in year 12. She was great assistance and I only have thankful words for her!

Louise L 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 25 21-05-2013
Fifi is amazeballs! she is such a good tutor! she actually knows her stuff and helps people become better at the subject :) ily