Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Lindsay Coleman -  Melbourne - Camberwell

Overall rating of 4.7 stars based on 35 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Julia 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT, Med Application/Interv 30 20-09-2019
One day I was sitting at the State Library and overheard Lindsay tutoring another student. I was astounded by his ability to speak with great knowledge on a variety of topics and decided to approach him for tutoring myself. He has tutored me for the GAMSAT, for a variety of medical school admissions and also for a university 3rd-year subject. In the GAMSAT section that he tutored me for, he really pushed me and I scored 72, placing me in the 98th percentile, and 100% attribute this to his help. I went into the GAMSAT with so much confidence from Linsday putting his all into sharing his knowledge with me so I would be ready. He gave me the material and tools to approach a variety of topics with different perspectives. I highly recommend Lindsay if you are looking for a tutor who has not only the skills but wisdom to carry you through your highly stressful exams, no matter what area they are.

Robert 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 50 12-05-2019
Lindsay is an extremely knowledgeable tutor who knows his way around all 3 sections of the GAMSAT. He provides plenty of resources (including hundreds if not thousands of questions) for sections 1 and 3. He also attempts to walk you through the solutions so that you can grasp the concepts of each question. Lindsay also provides a great introduction to the two types of essays required for section 2. He provides excellent feedback and great examples for the argumentative. In the end, Lindsay helped me turn perhaps my worst section, being section 2, into my best. He is extremely professional and punctual and would recommend him to anyone looking for quality GAMSAT tutoring.

Steve 4.5 5 4 5 4 5 5 5 4
GAMSAT 10 10-05-2019
I enlisted the help of Lindsay after experiencing great difficulty in undertaking self-directed study for the GAMSAT test. The sheer volume and scope of assessable material was quite overwhelming, even with the help of Des O’Neill and ACER materials. I found it particularly daunting given it was my first attempt and I had never formally studied chemistry before, let alone organic chemistry. Lindsay was very approachable from the onset and was able to not only provide tutoring in selected areas, but also took on the role of mentor in helping me navigate all 3 GAMSAT sections. Lindsay provided much needed context and direction in how to approach the exam and which areas to focus on. Although I initially enlisted Lindsay’s services for section 3, Lindsay’s knowledge of the GAMSAT meant that he was able to direct me to also concentrate on areas which I would have otherwise neglected, leading to a strong performance in all 3 sections. For instance, with the help of Lindsay’s guidance in interpreting and approaching the often ambiguous and highly nuanced GAMSAT style questions, I was able to score over 70 in section 1. I would highly recommend Lindsay as someone who is experienced, knowledgeable, approachable and well worth the hourly rate. Thank you Lindsay for your help in my journey towards studying medicine!

Cheryl-Ann 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
VCE 30 14-12-2018
Lindsay took my daughter under his wing to mentor and tutor her throughout her VCE year. She didn’t have a lot of confidence and was aiming for a moderate mark. Lindsay insisted she needed to aim higher and throughout the year my daughters confidence and ability accelerated! Thank you Lindsay for instilling confidence and always knowing that she could achieve whatever she wanted to!

Dingchen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GRE 20 19-07-2018
Lindsay gave me more than 20 lesson on GRE general test and helped me to achieve 329 as the overall score. He had a very good understanding on the exam and gave me great advice especially on the essay writing. My verbal section improved for around 10 marks. I am very happy with the result. Thanks again and highly recommended.

KSS 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Gamsat 30 02-07-2017
Lindsay guided me through section 2 on the Gamsat to achieve a score of 70. I was very pleased with this result, especially given I come from a science based background. Lindsay was great at deconstructing the section 2 writing piece, to help me create a mental framework for how to approach this section. Insightful and critical feedback of my practice essays, helped to shape and improve my essays over the course of our tutoring sessions. Lindsay has an interesting take on current affairs, philosophical and political issues, which I found useful to write essays which differentiated myself from others.

Peter 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 40 12-02-2017
Over the past 2 years I have been tutored by Lindsay, in preparation for the GAMSAT. Overall he has helped me improve in all 3 sections, by discovering my strengths and weaknesses, and providing suitable and bountiful material to target them. While being tutored by him, there are been an overall improvement in all 3 sections, and has set me in a great position to do well in the next GAMSAT exam. Lindsay is a great tutor and always makes time to accomodate for his students, is active in the sessions, has great resources and very knowledgable in all areas. He helped me find a study routine that I continue to use till this day, which had helped in all facets of my life. To which I will be forever grateful for.

James S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 50 12-02-2017
I employed Lindsay close to a year ago to tutor me in matters regarding the GAMSAT. For those that don't know, it is a multifaceted exam covering topics from english writing and comprehension, logical reasoning and all biological sciences including physics, chemistry and maths. I found Lindsay to be an exemplary tutor for a number of reasons, the first being his incredible knowledge regarding the exam and the topics included. Secondly, Lindsay's resources were vast and significantly helped me in my preparation. Lindsay was also always able to explain any issue I had in an easy to understand manner and he was always happy to discuss complex issues that I had. No effort was too much. Finally, Lindsay was able formulate a long-term plan that covered my progression across the course of the entire year. To give some background, I am currently completing my PhD in Medical Oncology, I am a lecturer at a Melbourne university and have tutored tertiary students for close to 8 years. Lindsay impressed me from day 1 (and then across close to 50 sessions) with his understanding of the topics and ability to express knowledge in a highly accessible and friendly way which I have rarely seen in the education industry (and I have worked with many tutors and lecturers before). I highly recommend Lindsay for any of your tutoring needs, he should be held in very high regard. My untethered thanks goes to you, Lindsay, for your fantastic work and brilliant skills as a tutor. Thank you. I hope to stay in touch.

Electra 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
LSAT (Law School Admission Tes 30 13-07-2016
Over a three month period, I had Lindsay as a tutor for the LSAT. It safe to say there is no greater, more resourceful and more knowledgeable tutor than Lindsay Coleman. Lindsay had specific techniques that would help approach the LSAT which he explained in fine detail. Lindsay would go through slowly and repetitively things that were difficult until I understood them. Lindsay helped me develop a study plan that was specifically tailored to my predicament. By following this study plan, trusting and taking Lindsay's advice and knowledge, I began to see improvements very quickly. Lindsay was always extremely positive, honest, patient and encouraging and was completely dedicated to me as a student and to me reaching my goal. If you are looking for a LSAT tutor, look no further than Lindsay Coleman.

Virginia 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Law School Admission Test 30 28-05-2016
Over a 2-month period Lindsay assisted me in my preparation for the LSAT. Lindsay had a specific set of techniques and process for approaching the LSAT which enabled me to do preparation with him and then go away and do practice exams so that we could then review together and focus on specific areas. Lindsay was always positive and understood the pressures students face when preparing for such important exams. I am extremely appreciative to Linsday for all the hard work he put into tutoring me for the LSAT and ultimately scoring in the 85th percentile and getting accepted into Melbourne Law School. I would recommend Lindsay to anyone who is preparing for exams such as the LSAT and others (GAMSAT) given his extensive experience with these tests and his commitment to student outcomes.

Jenny 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 14 25-05-2016
Lindsay is a an exceptional tutor with many years of experience in teaching the work required to achieve excellence. He has helped me expand my knowledge further in English and teached me useful techniques and skills. Lindsay has helped me aim for my goals in English, where he has continuously helped me to do my best and motivate me to keep working, even when the set work is hard and sometimes hard to comprehend. His sessions are the highest quality of teaching and he is a very kind and enthusiastic tutor who has helped me to attain the best results in English during these sessions. For anyone looking for a tutor, I would highly recommend Lindsay.

Jessica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 30 13-05-2016
I have been incredibly fortunate to have been aided by Lindsay in preparing for the GAMSAT exam. When I contacted Lindsay I was certain he was going to refuse me- I had a strong biology background but no prior chemistry, organic chemistry or physics background, and I hadnt written argumentatively in close to a decade. He took the challenge and I am so grateful he did. Over the 5months we worked together Lindsay has transformed my knowledge and equipped me with the exact skills I needed to excel in the exam. He has remarkable insight and experience in GAMSAT preparation, adapting the sessions to meet my needs on any particular day was absolutely brilliant. As long as I followed through and completed the work, Lindsay was able to give me valuable, real time feedback that I could apply instantaneously to my study. Lindsay taught me about the way the exam is written. The questions are not what you would expect and he taught me to think differently, evaluate, consider and judge the questions efficiently so I could isolate the correct answers. When the studying got the better of me I found a great friend in Lindsay. Studying for the GAMSAT can feel like the loneliest experience however Lindsay helped me to stay strong, encouraging breaks, and then redirecting our sessions to keep me moving forward. On receiving my GAMSAT score I am stoked and ecstatic at my result, to see how far I have come is a huge personal achievement in itself. Thank you Lindsay.

Ashley S 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Business Managment 16 02-11-2015
Today I just completed my final Business Managment Exam. Thanks to Lindsay I was well prepared, confident and ready. I was with Lindsay for several months and since I started tutorials with him my marks improved significantly. Lindsay is a very unique tutor, he is able to constantly provide real life examples to back up the information tought by using humerous examples to help reinforce the information inside your head. Additionly his value for money is top notch as there are many other tutors whom charge close to double the amount with half the skills. When I had my first tutorial with him instantly I was able to tell that he is a fantastic tutor as he possessed a strong sense of knowledge, confidence and certanty. I would highly recommend him as a tutor as he evidently helped me improve my marks.

Sam Y 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 20 01-11-2015
Lindsay, a friendly, easygoing and incredibly intelligent man, guided me to my VCE success. After just 5 months, my grades rocketed from a D - D+ to a B+ - A in English and Further Mathematics. Highly recommended tutor! - Sam Y.

Benjamin G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Law School Admission Test 15 08-10-2015
Lindsay was an absolute asset in my preparation for sitting the Law School Admission Test this October. He was brilliant at explaining things in a way that I could wholly understand and he was very good at giving constructive criticism that allowed me to reflect on my mistakes. At some points he could identify issues I was having before I even realised I had the issue. Anyone who is looking for someone to leapfrog you up a few notches in score, Lindsay is a great option, as long as you come in with the right mentality and the drive to commit to hard work. Lindsay has a wealth of knowledge that he has gained over his tenure as a tutor and he is well worth the hourly rate. Out of 10 I would rate his ability to foster and his overall tutoring ability at a 9-9.5, because improvements can always be made, even if I personally cannot pin point them.

William W 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, English, Physics 94 09-05-2015
Lindsay has been helping me with English Maths and physics. He is very patient and encouraging, and is always looking to adjust his approach if I am having trouble with things. I am really grateful for his helpful and have really improved in my subjects.

Stevie 4.5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5
LSAT - Law School Prep 20 07-08-2014
After putting off preparation for the LSAT as long as I possible, I began working with Lindsay two months before my scheduled exam date. We met twice per week for both private and group tutoring. Prior to working with Lindsay, my scores on the Analytical Reasoning (Logic Games) portion on the practice LSATs I had been taking were disastrous - not at all what I needed if I were going to be accepted into a top-tier university in America. Lindsay clearly elucidated key strategies to conquer this portion of the test, and developed a study plan specifically tailored to my needs. On the day of my LSAT, I felt as well prepared as possible - and my final score reflected this. I would definitely recommend Lindsay to anyone preparing for the LSAT.

Betty 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
GAMSAT 20 16-04-2014
Lindsay is a great tutor for GAMSAT. Before starting tutoring with him I had sat the GAMSAT twice but was unable to achieve the score I needed for entrance into medicine. After 3 months of tutoring with Lindsay I actually came out of the GAMSAT feeling confident that I had done well. He is particularly great for Section II essays, he really showed me what I was doing and after only a few weeks I could see a major improvement in my work. If you are looking for a GAMSAT tutor in Melbourne contact Lindsay, he is a great tutor and sessions are never a bore.

Indiana 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 15 13-04-2014
Lindsay was an amazing tutor, and really helped me improve my exam technique. I found his insights into gamsat strategies highly effective and simplified the overall daunting process. He has an impressive breadth of knowledge that he's able to convey clearly and simply and I would definitely recommend his services to anyone looking for a gamsat tutor.

Kate 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 10 03-04-2014
Lindsay is a great tutor he tutored in the months leading up to the GAMSAT. He has thorough knowledge of what subjects are likely to be on the test, he also can give you a good indication of how many hours to spend on each subject per day to achieve the score you want. He knows what works and what doesnt, he is also the first GAMSAT tutor that Ive come across that tutors all three sections of the GAMSAT. Ive had GAMSAT tutors before and he is the best one by far that Ive found.

Sonia 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 16 31-12-2013
From a student whose confidence was down, English exam not assessed mid year and school teacher not knowing what to do, from July school holidays Lindsay tutored my son weekly and was able to help him receive a mark of C+ in the English final year 11 exam and pass SACs. That is what I call an achievement! Now we have Year 12 and I am looking forward to the year ahead. Thank you Lindsay for your support and constant communication. Look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Laura 4.5 5 5 4 5 5 4 5 5
History 40 26-11-2013
Lindsay was really able to help me in most of my IB subjects. He has a great broad knowledge, but is also able to explain concepts in detail. He tutored me in Chemistry, Maths, English and History, and really helped me improve in all of these areas.

Raj L 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
GAMSAT 20 26-11-2013
Lindsay is a dedicated and knowledgeable tutor, and I would highly recommend his services.

Ashton 4.0 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4
GAMSAT 2 25-11-2013
Lindsay was extremely knowledgeable on what you should aim to produce in SII of the GAMSAT. I found his method of teaching very effective and his insight invaluable. Highly recommended.

Kane S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT 26 09-05-2013
During the period in which I engaged Lindsay's tutoring services, he was the consummate professional. He elevated my academic ability and harnessed my intellectual potential. I would highly recommend him to anyone who wish to pursue academic excellence.

Ben J 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 25 09-05-2013
Lindsay is an exceptional tutor in both his breadth of knowledge and his understanding of the intricacies of general exam technique. These qualities were particularly appreciated as I was studying for the GAMSAT, a test that covers a broad range of subjects, while under Lindsay's tutelage. Most importantly of all, though, he conveys his knowledge clearly, in a relatable way. A very friendly and highly recommended tutor!

Stacey G 3.5 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 4
Mathamatics 1 08-05-2013
Lindsay Coleman is a very knowledgeable tutor and informative on a number of subjects. He helps on not just maths and science but also assists my sons with other subjects such as history and literature. Lindsay assist the boys with essay writing and is particularly helpful with maths problem solving techniques. He is punctual, personable and plans well in advance. Lindsay keeps me constantly informed on the boys progress. My elder son attained a very good V.C.E score and is currently studying pharm. sciences at Monash Uni. He did well in chemistry and we have Lindsay to thank for this as he helped with his studies throughout year 11 and 12.

Jai F 4.5 4 5 4 5 5 5 5 4
Economics, Psychology, Physics 50 03-05-2013
Very good and easy to work with

Natalia 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
English 10 02-05-2013
I am pleased with the level of expertise Lindsay provides. I also like his approach to deliver information in a manner which engages the student. Thank you, Lindsay.

Mary P 4.5 5 5 4 5 5 4 5 4
English 10 28-04-2013
Lindsay has only been tutoring me since the start of this year for English and so far I have found him to be very helpful. He was able to point out my strengths and weaknesses and found different ways in which I could improve. Though I had only hired him to be my English tutor, Lindsay insisted that if I had any inquiries on any other subjects I shouldn't hesitate to ask. It is because of this and his consideration for my education and success I was also able to expand my knowledge in two other subjects, biology and chemistry. He is also patient and supportive with any goals you wish to achieve and will try to the best of his ability to help you reach them. I would definitely recommend Lindsay to any other students who are looking for guidance and help in English or any other subjects.

Melanie 4.5 5 4 4 5 5 5 5 5
Mathematics 10 28-04-2013
Lindsay has been very professional throughout the tutoring sessions I've had with him so far. He's not only helped me academically, but helped me in being a more committed and disciplined student. Originally he begin tutoring me in math but because of his broad knowledge across other subjects, he now tutors me in a variety of topics. Overall I'm extremely happy with my sessions with Lindsay and will continue to have lessons with him throughout my journey in VCE.

Jack 4.0 4 5 4 4 5 5 4 4
English 20 28-04-2013
I am currently doing VCE and have been seeing Lindsay for about a year. I have found him helpful, particularly in the ideas and advice that he gives regarding essays and projects. Lindsay has helped me in a range of subjects from English to mathematics and has been friendly and supportive. I would recommend Lindsay to anyone in senior high school who wishes to have a knowledgeable and accommodating tutor.

Marina 4.5 5 5 4 4 5 4 4 5
Chemistry, Maths, Biology 15 28-04-2013
What I find great about Linsey is that he is very knowledgeable in just about any subject. He can answer all questions my daughter has and adapts his way of teaching to suit the student. I highly recommend him.

Nashwa 4.0 5 4 4 5 4 4 5 4
GAMSAT 15 27-04-2013
I found that Lindsay was extremely helpful especially when it came to Section II on the GAMSAT - essay writing. My writing has improved enormously. He has very good ideas and concepts to help you expand your knowledge and level of thinking. He helps you discover your strengths and weaknesses and then works closely with you to improve your skills in all areas of the GAMSAT. Definitely recommended for GAMSAT tutoring.

Michelle 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
GAMSAT, English 50 25-04-2013
Lindsey has tutored me for several years in Physics, Chemistry and English, as well as helped me to prepare for GAMSAT. I found him to be well-prepared, highly professional, diligent and always clear in his teaching methods. My marks significantly improved with his help in all subjects. His assistance in preparing for the GAMSAT boosted my mark significantly such that I have been accepted to study graduate medicine. In particular, my essay writing improved markedly thanks to Lindsey's insightfulness, guidance and patience (as well as unlimited number of essay topics for me to practice writing on). I have had many tutors during high school and university, but never have I been taught by someone so driven by the pursuit of their student's success. He applied his own drive for excellence to my studies, setting high goals for me, and ensuring that I achieved them. I would recommend Lindsey to any student seeking help.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors