Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

ACT Maths Home Tutoring -  Canberra - Harrison

Overall rating of 5.0 stars based on 22 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Krishne 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double Specialist Mathematics 200 28-01-2019
I attended Siva’s tutoring for Specialist Mathematics Core and Specialist Mathematics Options for the entirety of my time at Narrabundah College. We hit the ground running from day one, and his lessons were thorough and very helpful. He planned the lessons for each Narrabundah session very well, so that we finished the syllabus 2-3 weeks early, and we would have plenty of time to prepare for exams with the preparation material he provided. He adopted many useful study techniques and his recommendations on what to focus on in the lead up to exams were very helpful. He is very committed, and puts in immense effort to prepare us to do our best on assessment tasks. His preparation material is always relevant and his written solutions to these were very thorough. I always felt comfortable asking questions in classes, and he would encourage us to email him with any other questions he had throughout the week. I felt much less stressed knowing that there was someone who was preparing me well for my math assessments and boosting my learning journey. I would definitely recommend Siva to any Narrabundah specialist mathematics student.

Vithuran 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double Specialist Mathematics 200 25-01-2019
I started maths tutoring with Siva in about October of Year 10 in preparation for College at Narrabundah. These lessons helped me understand the workload and pressure that I would undertake at Narrabundah. When I started Year 11 double maths tuition with Siva, he started weeks in advance which confused me. Towards the time of exams was when I realised that Siva had done this in order to finish the syllabus 2-3 weeks earlier. This gave me and his other students more time to practice questions and study more in depth for the tests. At the same time, to make sure everyone in the group was keeping up, Siva advised us well of how to keep up with school work and homework by providing his own written solutions. His solutions were written so that each of understood the process better and he made sure that we weren’t hesitant to ask for his help. Siva always made sure that every student was looked after well and offered catch-up and extra classes to ensure that his students reached their full potential. In class, Siva covered a lot of content in class which showed that he was dedicated and committed for us to achieve high results. In the two years of college, Siva always maintained his efforts to help us and I am so grateful for everything he has done. With so many years of experience in tutoring and successful results from his students, I highly recommend Siva to anyone seeking a maths tutor.

Devmi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double Specialist Mathematics 200 16-12-2018
I have attended Siva’s tutoring for Specialist Mathematics Core and Specialist Mathematics Options for the entirety of my time at Narrabundah College. I began tuition with Siva in the summer before college, anxious for the upcoming years but determined to succeed. I quickly found that Siva shared this determination and would truly work with me, to help me succeed. There has not been a single lesson in the past two years where Siva has not shown the utmost patience, encouragement, enthusiasm and dedication towards me and all of his students. The group class structure that Siva’s tutoring provided proved beneficial. Siva often encouraged and facilitated group input when tackling questions which quickly built an environment where his students felt comfortable to voice their ideas and doubts. Despite being a group class, Siva always left every single student feeling deeply cared for. During class, Siva would often help his students on an individual basis too, when required, and would always offer catch-up lessons to students so that no student ever fell short. In fact, all coursework was often completed weeks before the final exam which allowed his students to not only be on top of their school work but also identify and manage gaps in knowledge early on and learn more extensive testable material. Siva is exceptionally skilled in the work he does. Having tutored for many years, he is equipped with comprehensive and in-depth knowledge of the subject, extensive learning and test preparation material and the ability to effectively communicate and teach the necessary material to anyone. I’m very grateful for the help Siva provided me and I highly recommend Siva’s tutoring to anyone seeking help in Mathematics.

Emily 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Mathematics Options 60 16-01-2018
I have only attended Siva's tutoring for Specialist Options in year 12 (2017). I have had several tutors during my year 11 and 12 studies but Siva was by far one of the best. Siva was always prepared, he had the complete class syllabus 2-3 weeks ahead and since he has been teaching Narrabundah students exclusively for years, he has extensive knowledge in the assignments, in-classes and exams, allowing his students to be better prepared. Siva also taught his classes by staying ahead of school lessons, this way of teaching allowed us to learn class material beforehand making it easier to understand in class to effectively and efficiently learn. He was able to effectively go through weeks' worth of school content within each individual session and I always left with the confidence of being able to complete the rest of the work that I had remaining. Despite his fast pace way of teaching, we were always able to stay behind after classes finished to ask questions if we didn't understand anything. Siva always covered the whole syllabus thoroughly a few weeks before Narrabundah does, allowing students to have extra time to revise. Siva is very dedicated, knowledgable and professional in tutoring Mathematics, he shows his impressive skill and knowledge to effectively communicate and transfer his knowledge to his student. Siva often has better methods of teaching compared to teachers at school, and goes through difficult questions which are not seen in school textbooks. Giving his students a better idea of how to solve difficult problems during exams. Furthermore he was able to provide extensive resources and material including past papers, worksheets, practice papers, his own questions, online papers, and worked solutions, to supplement the work that I was completing in class. Consequently my school results continued to improve during year 12 bringing my atar up, and I was left with solid foundations and advanced skills in Specialist Mathematics. I highly recommend Siva to anyone who is willing to learn and improve their mathematics. Siva also provides water to students :)

Robert 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 60 14-01-2018
I started tutoring with Siva midway through session 2, year 11, and have since attended all lessons for both Specialist Core and Options, and after consistent attendance, my scores rose from mid 70 to mid 90, and I owe a debt of gratitude, for this saw a significant improvement in my atar. He maintains a fast pace of teaching which may take a few lessons to adapt to, but once the student is able to follow, they should see significant improvement in their abilities. The lessons he provides give enhanced teaching to what is done in school, often teaching more efficient and effective methods for problem solving than those taught in school. His teaching helps significantly with both class work and assessment pieces, working the group through difficult, thought provoking questions which often show up during tests, and giving students experience in problems they are unlikely to encounter through schoolwork. His knowledge on mathematics is deep, and is always willing to help students with difficult questions. One thing to note is that, for many routine questions, he will often only complete part of a solution, leaving the student to answer in their own time, which, while beneficial for the student's learning, may be divisive with some. Also know that he keeps a high standard of teaching, and expects an equally high work ethic from his students, and as such I highly recommend him to any students willing to seriously commit to learning. Robert Ohms

Amaldev 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double specialist mathematics 150 30-07-2017
I have attended tuition at Siva's tutoring for years 11 and 12 (2015 to 2016), for both Specialist Mathematics Core and Options. Siva is a kind, respectable and knowledgeable tutor who goes out of his way to help students. He has been tutoring for several years now therefore has comprehensive knowledge in the subject and has the entire Narrabundah syllabus remembered. He usually finishes the entire syllabus in 5-6 weeks leaving plenty of time for revision and other practical work. If you are struggling don't be afraid to come see Siva at the end of the class he will help you with any doubts you have been having. Overall a very good tutor 10/10.

Apoorv 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Maths Core 30 07-12-2016
I studied Specialist Maths Core at Narrabundah College. After seeing numerous tutors, I found this tutor as easily the best. The tutor has strong dedication (does not cancel classes), was very well prepared, helps with assignments and practice exam questions, and was a good communicator. I enjoyed the class environment, as opposed to one-on-one, as all students feed off each other and the tutor facilitates a fun and engaging learning environment. My marks improved through this tutor, highly recommend.

Saabiq Z 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Mathematics 200 24-11-2016
I have attended Siva's tutoring for Specialist Maths Core and Options in both years 11 and 12. Siva is a fantastic tutor who was always committed to help students improve in Mathematics. Concepts that were explained by him were explained in such a manner that it enabled students to gain an excellent understanding of them. He is very enthusiastic and always is determined to motivate students and give them the confidence they need to perform well in Specialist Mathematics. He is very efficient and covers all content of the syllabus numerous weeks before the exam, which allowed students to have extra time to revise. This would also enable students to have an excellent understanding of this content when it is taught at school. He prepares students very well for assessment tasks such as in-class tests and exams. Not only does he teach us the content we need to know, but he also provides very helpful advice and techniques that would help us perform well in assessment tasks and this is something me and other students really benefited from. My marks improved a lot from Siva's tutoring, not only due to his enthusiasm, efficiency and knowledge, but also due to his understanding of how to approach and complete assessment tasks to an excellent standard. I would strongly recommend him to anyone who is looking for a tutor for not just Specialist Mathematics, but for any level of mathematics.

Tiffany 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Math 100 22-11-2016
I have attended tuition at ACT Maths Home Tutoring for years 11 and 12 (2015 to 2016), for both Specialist Mathematics Core and Options. Siva is an incredibly dedicated, motivational tutor. Each lesson is organised to deliver the syllabus in a clear, concise manner, and Siva ensures every students' learning style is met. His teachings ensure that students have a thorough understanding of mathematical concepts, so students can tackle any challenging problems in tests and assignments. He covers all content from the school syllabus comprehensively. His efficiency allows for the class to cover all content and schoolwork many weeks before the final exams, and this gives the class extra time to revise and consolidate all materials from school. Additionally to helping students with school textbook questions and worksheets, Siva will provide extra worksheets and many practice tests. He always provides help with in-class tests preparations and assignments, having a good understanding of the expectations and content of school assessment. Siva is always punctual, and unlike other tutors, he never cancels classes. He always encourages his students and his enthusiastic, confident approaches to mathematics keeps students motivated. I am very happy with the marks I have received under Siva's guidance, and I recommend his tutoring to any student who wishes to excel in Specialist Mathematics.

Lushimi U 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double Major Specialist Maths 200 20-11-2016
During my two years at Narrabundah College, I attended ACT Maths Home Tutoring classes for both Specialist Mathematics Core and Options. Siva is incredibly dedicated to the success of his students. He understands how to modify his teaching strategies according to particular students and subject matter. Additionally, Siva's enthusiasm and love of maths inspires students to be constantly engaged and motivated. He encourages students to understand concepts thoroughly and develop their critical thinking skills. All content in the syllabus is efficiently covered several weeks prior to final exams. This allows students to revise diligently and complete practice exams with Siva's guidance and support. Students are bound to excel in all their assignments as Siva never fails to provide comprehensive and in-depth explanations of all topics required. Siva is reliable, hard working and his extensive knowledge of various fields of mathematics is commendable. For these reasons, I highly recommend him.

Avnet 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 30 15-11-2016
Home tutoring has a highly dedicated tutor with a lot of knowledge in all fields of maths. Home tutoring was very helpful during year 12 while I studied specialist mathematics. There were no cancellation of classes, which was very helpful as Siva was available during high pressure assignment and exam times. Home tutoring was also beneficial for assignments as well as exams as Siva prepared practise questions that were challenging and prepared us well. We also did class practise tests that had exam style questions. I would strongly recommend this tutor to all students studying mathematics and especially for years 11 and 12 specialist mathematics.

Michael L 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Mathematics 50 16-09-2016
I received tutoring from Siva for both Year 11 and 12 Specialist Mathematics Core. I thoroughly enjoyed this experience where the tutoring was of high quality. He provided in-depth explanations of the concepts and topics covered in Maths each week, by using the school's textbook plus other resources as examples. Tutor lessons were well structured and the syllabus was normally completed a few weeks prior to exams which gave us a lot of revision time. Overall, Siva improved my score greatly and is highly recommended.

Nisha G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Mathematics Core 60 10-09-2016
I received tutoring from Siva for both Year 11 and 12 Specialist Mathematics Core in both 2015 and 2016, while attending Narrabundah College. I thoroughly enjoyed this experience where the tutoring was of high quality. He was very encouraging, patient and enthusiastic every lesson and dedicated towards each one of his students. He was also very punctual every lesson where he avoided cancellations. He has been tutoring for several years now therefore has comprehensive knowledge in the subject. He provided in-depth explanations of the concepts and topics covered in Maths each week, by using the school's textbook plus other resources as examples. He covered various different styles of questions every lesson, which some even appeared in the exam. He also provided material to help us in any assignments and in-class tasks that we were assessed on. I was extremely benefited from his style and methods of teaching which helped me to either be consistent or improve in my marks. He too provided this helpful tutoring at a very reasonable rate which was definitely worth its money. I would recommend Siva to any student who wishes to have that further assistance in any level of mathematics they study at school.

Elizaveta P 4.5 5 4 5 4 5 5 5 5
Mathematics 100 25-05-2016
Siva did an amazing job at preparing me for my final exams in both Core and Options math. He is very dedicated to his students, gives ongoing support and really pushes students to do their very best. I continue to seek his guidance and advice in mathematical and statistical studies while I am in University. His commitment and hard-work makes him a great role-model for students wanting to get the best results in high-school and further education.

Shuang M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 50 11-06-2015
Siva was a great tutor. He was always punctual and on time. The best thing was that the students that attended were always well prepared for upcoming tests and assignments because of the amount of effort he put in to teach us the concepts. We were given a lot of past tests and practice questions all with written solutions that helped further enhance our math skills. Tutor lessons were well structured and the syllabus was normally completed 2 to 3 weeks prior to exams. All in All, I highly recommend Siva as a maths tutor. He is definitely the tutor to go to in Canberra, especially if you are studying at Narrabundah College.

Darren W 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Mathematics Double Major 150 07-03-2015
Excellent tutor. Would complete all coursework for the given subject a couple of weeks ahead of the college's schedule, allowing enough time to target weak spots in understanding and to thoroughly prepare for the final exams. In addition to excellent tutoring in each subject, written answers to exercises in the the given exercise books are provided where needed and thoroughly explained. Assignments are not a problem and will usually take 2 hours at the absolute maximum to complete with his help, leaving more time to study for exams or other assessment pieces.

Tom M 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Maths 70 15-11-2014
If you want to be prepared for all your math tests, this is the tutor to go to. He is an excellent tutor who will make sure you understand the topic, and will provide you with all the skills you need to pass your exams. He communicates excellently, prepares as much, if not more than the amount of time he actually spends tutoring, and actually cares a lot about how the students are doing, and about the students themselves. He is definitely the best math tutor for anyone doing or planning to do math in Narrabundah College.

Audrey 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Y11 maths specialist and core 50 11-05-2013
Parent review: Siva is the best maths teacher/tutor my son has had. His approach is structured, he prepares students well ahead of time for tests and keeps a close eye on what is being expected of the students in class. In addition to a thorough grounding in maths ,this close attention to class activities gives the students the chance to maximize their potential for achieving well in tests. This reduces the stress of college for both students and parents, as there are no last minute panics. Good maths students, who may still find it difficult to get down to work and practice, will benefit in particular as college teachers appear to have little time for assisting those who are doing OK. Siva helps these students to move from average to top results. The small groups with similar level teaching also gives great value for money and class mates to work with. Highly recommended.

Shima M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 200 18-02-2013
A really great tutor. Very punctual with lessons and always puts more than 100% effort towards each class. Excellent mentor and teacher.

Geethan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 200 13-02-2013
For anyone that requires assistance with maths and hopes to substantially improve both their understanding and marks, I would strongly recommend ACT Maths Home Tutoring. This tutor is polite and respectful, and is able to cover a large amount of the curriculum in a small amount of time. Regardless of how quickly the syllabus was covered, he was always able to ensure that everything was understood, whether it be a basic or difficult concept. In addition to the fact that he essentially covered every example the Narrabundah syllabus had to offer, he also thoroughly went through test papers, which definitely made an immense contribution to my ability to perform during tests.

Divya K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 30 18-01-2013
I would highly recommend this tutor to anyone that wishes to make significant improvements in their marks. The tutor will explore numerous examples and ensure that you fully comprehend the mathematical concepts explored, which is something that I definitely found very helpful during my final years of college.

Athe V 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 30 02-12-2012
ACT Maths Home Tutoring is really helpful. I could learn a weeks worth of maths in an hour. I recommend anyone who is looking for affordable and effective tutoring to try ACT Maths Home Tutoring.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors