Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Dr Soumendra Patra - Glen Waverley, Melbourne

Overall rating of 4.9 stars based on 17 reviews
These ratings are based on the results of a survey where students were asked to provide an honest assessment of their experience with this tutor.
Knowledge
100%
Extensive understanding of the subject
Communication
97%
Ability to communicate concepts clearly
Punctuality
100%
Always on time, notified student if unable to attend a lesson
Availability
96%
Available at a convenient time and location.
Attitude
100%
Enthusiastic, interested, patient, and courteous
Preparation
100%
Came prepared with lessons and activities
Improvement
98%
Helped student to improve in subject
Value for money
98%
Provided value for money lessons

Overall Rating 4.9

Poor Fair Adequate Good Excellent

Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Chamali 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 40 01-02-2019
Dr Soumendra Patra I is a very enthusiastic and dedicated tutor who puts in a lot of effort to help his students excel in Chemistry. His approach to teaching and the way he structures his lessons make his classes interesting for the students. He is also very approachable and keeps parents updated on the children's progress. My daughter was lucky to have found him to tutor her in year 12. Then we enrolled our son for advanced Science lessons in year 10. We highly regard him and reccomed him as an excellent Chemistry tutor.

Jan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 25 25-01-2019
Being an enthusiastic tutor, Dr Patra’s lessons are always refreshing and relevant as he often provides extended knowledge. His teaching style inspires students to engage and contemplate. With a small class, Dr Patra can identify my son’s strengths and weaknesses, thereby helping to improve his school grades. He is a dedicated tutor who sets out to ensure his students truly understand the topics. He uses the board to explain difficult concepts, he sets tests to determine their knowledge. Most importantly, my son does not see the class a bore, instead he looks forward to learn. That says it all.

Deepak 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 50 08-01-2019
Dr Soumendra Patra has got in depth knowledge about the subject and the VCE Chemistry requirements. Our child comments that "He explains the topic very well and ensures that all students understand the topic before moving further". Soumendra also focuses on the revison and practice tests which are absolutely critical.

Teresa 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 12 14-08-2017
Soumendra is a passionate teacher who wants his students to learn and understand Chemistry. My son initially felt lost with this subject but under Soumendra's tutelage has become excited, more confident and eager to learn more.

Therese 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 30 23-06-2017
Highly recommend this Tutor he puts so much effort into his classes and his passion inspires his students to build on their knowledge. He has great clarity of topics and puts much effort into helping the student progress, with their understanding. As we come closer to SACS, his preparation puts students more at ease as they become more confident in their knowledge base. This tutor has made a positive contribution to my child's Year 12 experience.

Vathany 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 50 21-06-2017
Very good tutor, I would highly reccomend. Gives lots of materials.

Prithi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 60 10-05-2017
Dr Soumendra is passionate about Chemistry teaching. He puts in a lot of effort in preparing and delivering lessons. My son has a special liking for Chemistry because of his teaching methods. The unit tests and revision classes have helped him a lot towards preparing for SACs and Exams.

Khing T 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 40 05-09-2016
Dr Patra is a very keen chemistry tutor. My daughter learns to appreciates chemistry and has a better understanding of the subject. Dr Patra keeps me updated on my daughter's progress and provide encouragement and advice to my daughter when deemed necessary. The monthly chapter reviews and tests are very helpful in preparing her for her SACs.

Steph O 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 50 16-08-2016
Dr Patra is very knowledgeable and he prepares me well for my SAC tests and VCE exam. The small group tuition works very well for me as Dr Patra is able to explain the Chem concepts in detail. Also his workshops on exam questions were helpful.

Wan M 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 28 26-07-2015
Helpful and interesting lessons! Ways of teaching is fun and lively. Questions that were provided in class were sometimes challenging which helped increase my knowledge. Serious tutor who always provides notes and special question answers that help to get higher marks. I always achieve high SAC marks and hope to get a high mark in VCE Chemistry.

May W 4.5 5 4 5 4 5 5 4 4
Chemistry 0 20-07-2015
Helpful and interesting lessons! Ways of teaching is fun and lively. Questions that were provided in class were sometimes challenging which helped increase my knowledge. Humourous tutor who tries to make every lesson as fun as possible!

Jasmine T 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 20 15-07-2015
Attending Mr Patra's class really helped me to stay on track with my progress and I gradually see improvement in my Chemistry results. He provides students with many wider knowledge that we can't learn from textbooks or in school. Mr Patra is also very helpful in terms of the preparation for my SAC, he replies messages sent as soon as possible, sets test and exams questions do to under exam conditions and gives tips on how to write a full mark explainations. Mr Patra is also very engaging and enthutiastic which makes Chemistry interesting and fun to learn.

Chris L 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 25 22-11-2014
Dr Patra is a very passionate teacher with a clear drive to help students improve. He always has the session planned out with a clear goal in mind. I think his structured approach of explaining the topic, usually by engaging in discussion, then reinforcing it with exercises works really well.

Selena O 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 8 03-11-2014
I am a parent. Soumendra is an honest, knowledgeble & enthusiastic tutor who is committed to help his students achieve a higher outcome in Chemistry. He responds quickly to his students' needs ie responding quick to prepare them for upcoming SACs & tests. I am very happy with his tutoring in getting my son motivated and more interested in the subject.

Michael O 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Tutor rating 17 01-11-2014
Soumendra has help me improve a lot in chemistry. He really goes into a lot of detail into the topic. He even makes the lesson fun by throwing me discussion questions that forces me to think on my feet. All in all, I would recommend a tutor like him to anyone.

Skye 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 9 18-06-2014
Soumendra is a gold mine to find. He has gone above and beyond as a tutor. His knowledge, expertise,advice and guidance is invaluable. He brings multiple resources to lessons from various sources that aims to clarify and consolidate any possible grey areas. Similarly, at the start of every lesson, Soumendra explains exactly what we will be covering, for how long and what we aim to cover in the upcoming lessons. Ever since I started tutoring with Soumendra, my grades and understanding has increased exponentially and I believe that under his tuition I will be heading for an A pass in VCE or higher.

Cherlie 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Chemistry VCE 15 15-05-2014
Soumendra was found very honest, humble and having excellent knowledge in Chemistry. She used to prepare me for tests/SACs whenever I needed with even a short notice. I got special notes from him that helped to achieve higher marks than others.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors