Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

whY Tutoring - Mr. Yuming Lin -  Canberra - Ngunnawal

Overall rating of 4.7 stars based on 58 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Simone 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Math, Chemistry 5 17-11-2020
Literally such an amazing tutor. Knowledgeable and easily explains various concepts, provides extra resources as well. Nice and patient. Thanks Yuming!

Xander 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Maths, Chemistry, Physics 25 15-11-2020
Extremely helpful tutor. Confidently explained concepts for 4 of my classes (Spec A, Spec B, Physics and Chem) and has a very good understanding behind the material. In addition, he put in large amounts of effort to ensure I was following and provided me with additional resources to help practice. Lessons are worth it.

Celina 4.5 5 4 5 4 5 4 5 5
Chemistry and maths 100 15-11-2020
Genuinely an amazing tutor, super patient and explains concisely.

Eugene 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 4
Double Maths, Chemistry 50 15-11-2020
Being a great maths and chemistry tutor overall, Yuming is able to thoroughly explain challenging concepts in both maths and chemistry. He also holds a wide range of practice questions that he will share and patiently go through with you if you ever have any trouble. Thanks a lot for your help Yuming

Sarah 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
IB Mathematics SL, IB Chemistr 90 01-11-2020
Yuming is the best tutor that I have ever had. He has helped me significantly in year 11 and 12 mathematics and chemistry. Yuming is very knowledgeable in these areas, and has helped me quickly and logically understand concepts that were particularly confusing at school. Yuming both explains the content very well, and uses sample questions to solidify understanding. When concepts are hard to grasp, Yuming is very patient and explains the concept in a different way. Yuming is extremely nice, easy to talk to, and supportive. In light of current events, Yuming also conducts very effective and quality lessons online using Skype. I couldn't have asked for a better tutor, and would highly recommend. :)

Tait 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist maths 80 25-08-2020
Yuming is very kind, enthusiastic and patient. He is able to explain complex, abstract concepts in different ways that are easy to understand. He will answer any question a student has for him and encourages his students to strive and do their best. I couldn’t have asked for a better tutor.

Trent 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double maths, physics, chemist 90 26-11-2019
Yuming is an academic life saver. He truly is the only reason I was able to excel in my secondary studies and I would not have been able to pass Spec B maths without him. He is great at explaining difficult concepts in easily understandable ways. For example, if a student does not completely understand a given topic, he is able to explain a topic thoroughly through utilising different language choices and comprehensive examples. Yuming is a great tutor who puts his students first, and is extremely knowledgeable of the subjects he teaches.

Zac 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double Maths, Physics, Chemist 80 25-11-2019
Yuming is honestly one of the best tutors I have ever met. He has helped me tremendously throughout Year 11 and Year 12 in my studies of double maths, physics and chemistry. Yuming is extremly knowledgeable in all areas of these subjects and has been able to quickly, easily and clearly explain even the hardest questions. He is extremly talented in maths and is practically a human calculator. Yuming is also a very nice and easy going person and is extremly easy to get along with. He is always eager and willing to help in all areas of study. Overall, I could not have asked for a better tutor and would definitely recommend Yuming to anyone seeking help, improvement or excellence in their studies.

Stefan 4.5 5 5 5 5 4 4 5 4
Maths 84 24-11-2019
Yuming has been an amazing tutor for the past few years, he is extremely knowledgeable and helped me a lot with my IB sl maths. He is able to explain concepts well as he has a variety of ways of explaining and methods to help solve problems. He also helped me with my assignments as well which was very useful. Overall he is worth it as he could always quickly explain any question I was struggling with.

Ishita 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Physics, Chemistry, Maths 60 22-11-2019
Yuming has supported me in Physics, Chemistry and Maths over the past two years. He is extremely knowledgeable, patient and has effective teaching methods for even the most complicated concepts. Thank You for all your help, Yuming!

Angela 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths & Chemistry 30 21-11-2019
Yuming is one of the best tutor I've ever had, he is very dedicated and helpful; he also offers constant email support and extensive resources. My marks have improved significantly, thank you so much for all your support! :)

Anson 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Mathematics/Methods 60 19-11-2019
Thank you so much for tutoring me over the past two years. Yuming has helped me so much, easily solving every math, chemistry, and physics problem I presented to him - many of which my school teachers would not be able to solve or answer. He explains difficult concepts clearly, and provides useful notes which he emails to you after each lesson.

Sarah 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Specialist Maths, Physics, Che 50 19-11-2019
Yuming has supported me through most of year 11 and all of year 12. He is extremely helpful across a wide variety of subjects. He is very efficient and makes difficult content interesting and easy to understand. I found that after a just few sessions with Yuming, my scores were already much better than they were before. Thank you so much for all of your help Yuming!

Dani 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Maths & Chem 40 16-11-2019
best help I could've asked for throughout year 11 & 12 in both maths and chemistry

Annie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Physics & Chemistry 70 16-11-2019
Over the past two years, Yuming has helped me to improve my skills in maths, physics, and chemistry. He is very supportive and patient, and always reliable even when seeking his help outside of tuition hours. Thank you so much, Yuming! :)

Daniel 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
Physics, Chemistry, Double Mat 80 16-11-2019
Yuming has been a tremendous help in my years of study of year 11 and 12. He is knowledgable in a variety of subjects and is always keen to learn more himself. It is also not an exaggeration when I say that he knows almost anything around the areas he tutors. He's essentially a human computer that can explain theories and concepts at all types of levels, beginner, intermediate, etc. Easy to get along with and is always willing to help and improve the areas you have difficulty in. Yuming has been an excellent tutor for me, and I would definitely recommend him to anyone seeking help and improvement in their studies.

Sanjana 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Methods/Physics/Che 25 13-11-2019
A really great tutor, helped me improve so much in my subjects and always provided me with great support and guidance. He explained concepts with clarity and made sure to continuously check up on me and help me if I appeared to have trouble understanding something. I am really grateful for all the help and appreciate it so much :) Thank you Yuming!

Craig 4.0 5 5 5 2 5 5 4 4
Maths, Physics, Chemistry 40 11-11-2019
Excellent tutor, takes the time to explain difficult concepts clearly and concisely. He is very knowledgable in a wide range of areas which allowed me to ask a multitude of questions from different subjects and he'd always have an answer.

Kat-E 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Double Specialist Maths 70 11-12-2018
Been a great help this year with my mathematics, I have really improved on study ethics and preparation for exams. He has helped me understand a lot of difficult concepts and is able to explain concepts in a simpler way for me to understand. I have improved my Spec B grade a lot this year thanks to his help. His knowledge of high level mathematics has been a great asset when assisting me in my College studies. Overall, great tutor and would recommend to anyone for maths.

Kiana 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths and physics 20 22-11-2018
Yuming is hands down, the best tutor I’ve ever had. He is extremely knowledgeable and logical. My maths and physics have significantly improved thanks to his help. He’s also patient and polite. He even wrote me a reference letter without charge!:) Thank you Yuming!!

Barry 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5
Mahematics 100 15-11-2018
Yuming has been tutoring my daughter for approximately 3 years in Maths, years 10, 11 and 12. Yuming is an excellent tutor who has helped my daughter do well in maths. She has been very happy with his tutoring and has commented many times how well he explains things and makes everything easy to understand. Yuming is aslo incredibly reliable and always has a smile on his face.

Rhea 4.0 5 4 5 4 5 5 4 3
Hugely helpful for maths and p 100 14-11-2018
Yuming is lovely and understanding. He’s willing to help and also to be flexible and work to your best interests!

Helen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Physics and Chemistry 25 18-08-2018
Yuming is an extremely competent and helpful tutor, who helped me massively throughout my studies. I highly recommend him to anyone at any skill level for tutoring. His knowledge and ability to teach is absolutely priceless, and deserves a lot of recognition.

Marina 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Man 200 26-02-2018
Yuming has supported our children with their studies for the last 4 years. His professional and friendly tuition, diverse knowledge base and supporting reference material has been invaluable. We recommend him as an exceptional tutor.

Alyce 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Maths 60 15-12-2017
Yuming was easy to get along with and always very accommodating. He definitely helped me improve.

Justen 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 4 5
Maths and Science 200 28-11-2017
Yuming has been an excellent tutor who always went out of his way to help me in my Maths and Science. He explained things in a polite, patient manner and made complex concepts easier to understand. His wonderful tutoring helped me improve my grades and made me more interested in the subjects which I initially found to be tedious. I am most grateful to him for his guidance and patient teaching, helping me change my attitude towards learning these subjects. Thank you, Yuming. (^_^)

Dylan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry & Physics 70 16-11-2017
Yuming was a superb tutor. He always seemed to understand exactly what I was talking about, even if a was sometimes a bit vague, and was able to assist me with any of my topics in Year 11 and 12 Physics and Chemistry. My improvement in each subject was due to his constant awareness of my strengths and weaknesses, and because he really strives to go above and beyond to help me prepare for my academic tasks, through his knowledge and commitment to my studies. Every week I couldn't wait to come back to ask more and more questions, because even if I didn't understand something then, I knew he would put me back on track. Truly a enthusiastic and knowledgeable tutor.

Daniel 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
Maths Chemistry Physics 70 15-11-2017
Yuming Lin knows his stuff and was able to answer every question :)

Nicole 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry, Physics, Methods Ma 150 13-11-2017
Yuming has worked with my sister and myself for a combined four years, during our senior studies. He is very proficient in areas of maths and science and has always been a patient and effective mentor. I would highly recommend his services to anybody who wishes to reinforce or extend their studies.

Yathushan 3.0 4 3 5 4 2 3 2 1
Physics 16 15-05-2017
Mr Yumming Lin was a good tutor. He helped me with my assignments and school homework. But he was way too over priced and not worth for the money. He assured me that my grades would improve but in the assignments he helped me in, I wasn't able to perform too well. Overall 6/10 :)

Kathleen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chemistry, Physics 150 30-11-2016
Yuming is an extremely capable and knowledgeable tutor, and is always enthusiastic and willing to help out in every possible way. He is very adept at utilising various resources (digital and hardcopy) to fully explain difficult concepts to his students, and in addition, he is always punctual and flexible with timing. Yuming is exceptionally proficient in the mathematics and sciences, and was able to help me through the difficult secondary studies by walking me through all the concepts in easy to understand ways. I wish him all the best for the future and I highly recommend him to anyone seeking a tutor :D

Monica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 30 20-11-2016
Yuming is a fantastic tutor. He thoroughly explains details and communicates concepts very clearly. Furthermore, Yuming is a wealth of knowledge, and is always able to provide explanation or work, regardless of whether you have specific questions or not. Yuming is punctual and polite, which provides very efficient and pleasant tutoring sessions.

Ismat 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Best tutor you will ever have! 100 09-02-2016
Yuming Lin is a kind, patient and knowledgable tutor. From the beginning to end of each lesson his focus is not only to make you more confident in the content but to also understand the material. As a person who has had a long-standing difficultly with mathematical subjects, I've had many tutors over the years. However, learning math from Yuming I've been able to feel at ease, for the first time. Be it his teaching style or his can-do attitude, Yuming started off by assessing my course and then going through section bit by bit, making sure that I felt secure every step of the way. I truly do believe that if you are looking for someone to improve your skills and confidence in an array of subjects, go to Yuming because he is organized, friendly and will help you reach your goals. And the best part - he makes sense and is always on time :) ! So big thanks to Yuming and Grace, they're lovely people and deserve lots of success in this industry!

Cathy 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Chemistry 40 01-12-2015
No further comments thank you

Jeremy M 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 4 5 5
Mathematics and Chemistry 50 27-11-2015
I had several tutors during my year 11 and 12 studies and Yuming was by far one of the best. He was very knowledgeable across the board and was able to seamlessly transition between the different subjects that he tutored me in. He was able to effectively go through weeks' worth of school content within each individual session and I always left with the confidence of being able to complete the rest of the work that I had remaining. Furthermore he was able to provide extensive resources and material to supplement the work that I was completing in class. Consequently my school results continued to improve over the two year period and I was left with solid foundations and advanced skills in the subjects Yuming tutored me in.

Jenny X 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chemistry and Physics 50 24-11-2015
Yuming helped me improve my grades significantly in all three subjects, Chemistry, Maths and Physics, he was very patient and really knew all the concepts very well.

Natalie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Physics 200 24-11-2015
Yuming has been (very) knowledgeable, patient, enthusiastic and punctual while tutoring maths and physics. He is an outstanding tutor.

Justin L 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 4
Chemistry 25 23-11-2015
Yuming provided an understanding into various topics of chemistry and maths in which I struggled with. He is dedicated and has different teaching methods which assist in a thorough grasp and understanding of concepts.

George Z 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Chemistry and Mathematics 70 23-11-2015
Yuming is very good tutor. He is very dedicated and professional in tutoring Chemistry and Mathematics for hist student in English. He shows his impressive skill and knowledge to effectively communicate and teach his student and transfer his knowledge to student. One of important and unique skill he has, he understood what is difference in the teaching methodology between Chinese and Australia, this is particularly helpful for the Chinese family backgroud. He knew how to use Australia stardand mechnism to communicate with student to workout where the problem the student had and how to make student to understand and finally build up the ability to independently work out by themselve. I think his teaching is definitely value for money.

Parent 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 80 23-11-2015
Yuming is a fantastic tutor, always punctual, extremely professional, polite and very knowledgable. He was able to put my girls at ease and feel comfortable asking him any questions. He could always answer anything straight away. I would highly recommend him to anyone requiring a tutor.

Debbie ( 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4 4
Specialist Maths Year 12 20 20-11-2015
Yuming is an excellent tutor with a comprehensive knowledge of his subject. He is very focused on transferring his understanding of Maths to his student, and he has the skills to make complex concepts more accessible. Yuming was unerringly professional and friendly, reliable, patient and constructive in his interactions with his student and with me. His help with revision and test preparation increased the student's confidence and performance in exams. Overall, the tutoring was very worthwhile and I would recommend Yuming unreservedly.

Annette 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Engineering and Physics 15 15-11-2015
Yuming is a very prompt, polite and knowledgeable Tutor on quite a few subjects. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing help. Yuming helped my son to improve his college grades in Physics/Engineering and Maths.

Bobby S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 40 14-11-2015
Yuming has been a great guidance for the past 2 years. He is a very nice person and is always ready to help. I was able to ask him any doubts I had without hesitation. It was so convenient to have him as my tutor because he has a broad knowledge of various subjects. I must say, this is his strength as a tutor. His notes and explanations are clear and comprehensible, which helped me out a lot. Thank you very much for all the help you provided, Yuming.

Juhi 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 0 04-07-2015
Yuming was always on time and prepared to teach any topic or concept. He definitely helped me grasp quite difficult concepts.

Padma 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 4 4 5
Maths 4 04-03-2015
Yuming was a very professional and dedicated tutor. His classes are very structured and he is organised and encouraging.

Jessica 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 30 10-12-2014
With Yuming's help my grades in mathematics improved significantly! I went from getting Ds to Bs on my tests.

Mike 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 4 5 5
Maths, Calculus 10 04-12-2014
Yuming pretty much saved me from failing methods for a second time. I only wish I had sought him out earlier. While the subject itself was a neverending cause of heartache and stress, Yuming was patient and attentive to areas I needed help with as they appeared over the course of the semester. A great tutor, I would recommend to anyone who needs one.

Andre 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Physics, Chemistry, Math 40 22-11-2014
Mr Lin is a great tutor, his preparation before each lesson is thoruoghly done in order to maximize the time within each tutorial. He also tutors a wide variety of subjects so he is ideally the only tutor you need.

Sian W 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 18 19-11-2014
Yuming was consistently enthusiastic and alert, and always had a good understanding of the subject - even at times when I had forgotten to let him know specifically what I would need help with prior to our lesson. There was always extra material prepared to help me get ahead in class once we'd finished going through questions I had, and at times when I had sent him specifications he would prepare extensively so that he could help as much as possible. I only had lessons with Yuming briefly but in that time both my grades and general grasp of maths and chemistry improved significantly :) Thank you!!

Manaswini I 4.0 5 5 5 4 5 3 4 4
Maths/Chemistry 100 17-11-2014
Yuming was a really good tutor and I learnt a lot from him. I was pretty much able to survive Maths and Chemistry because of Yuming and he really helped me prepare for the IB course :)

Alex K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths, Chemistry 4 01-05-2014
Yuming is a very knowledgeable tutor. He is also very polite and patient.

Tom M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 3 30-03-2014
I was very happy with all aspects of these lessons and will recommend Yuming to anyone I know who requires tutoring.

Angie B 4.0 5 4 4 5 5 4 4 4
Mathematics 8 11-12-2013
Yuming was a great math tutor, he really help me to understand certain processes involved in maths. Very beneficial.

Laurence B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Mathematics, advanced. 6 10-12-2013
Yuming was a very great help to me (borderline miracle worker). I had not done any maths at all in the six years since leaving high school (even then I had only done general maths), and I took lessons with him in order to attempt an advanced maths exam required for Navy Officer entry. Due to his patience, knowledge, understanding, preparation, professionalism, and dedication I passed the exam. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of assistance. Thanks Yuming, you are a champion!

Olivia T 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 16 09-12-2013
Yuming has been a great help in my understanding of maths. He always comes prepared to each tuition session, with a great knowledge in all types of maths. He is a dedicated tutor with my interests and utilities the tutorial time to the best efficiency.

Mara G 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Maths 5 09-12-2013
Yuming is a fantastic tutor. I would definitely hire him again (=

Ali B 4.0 5 4 5 5 5 4 4 3
Maths specialist and Physics 8 02-12-2013
Yu Ming is a great individual who brings a fresh and innovative way to tutor his subjects. I believe I have learnt many great tips and tricks to solve various problems and will continue to strive to find new methods to solve problems based off these tricks. Yu is a very cheerful and happy man who I admire very much.

Edward M 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 4 4
Statistics 8 29-11-2013
Very patient & very friendly! An awesome tutor.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors