Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Dr Kristyn Saunders - Melbourne, Melbourne

Overall rating of 5.0 stars based on 25 reviews
These ratings are based on the results of a survey where students were asked to provide an honest assessment of their experience with this tutor.
Knowledge
100%
Extensive understanding of the subject
Communication
100%
Ability to communicate concepts clearly
Punctuality
100%
Always on time, notified student if unable to attend a lesson
Availability
100%
Available at a convenient time and location.
Attitude
100%
Enthusiastic, interested, patient, and courteous
Preparation
100%
Came prepared with lessons and activities
Improvement
100%
Helped student to improve in subject
Value for money
99%
Provided value for money lessons

Overall Rating 5.0

Poor Fair Adequate Good Excellent

Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Anup 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 52 17-03-2019
Kristyn is just awesome ! Our son was having issues in structuring and articulating the content in the prescribed format, and despite having reasonably acceptable hold on the subject, his English grades in Year11 was falling short of his expectations. At a loss on what to do, we approached Kristyn to help him out for Year12. Kristyn worked with him consistently & closely to understand his strengths and weakness and identified tips & tricks which he could into practise. We saw a great improvement in his confidence also on the subject and that reflected in the high grades he received as the months progressed in Year12. And that helped him achieve his dream choice of under-graduate course. We strongly recommend Kristyn...she is absolutely committed, dedicated and always kept us in the loop of the developments & progress. You do not have to look any further for another tutor to help to your child....from our experience.

Chethani 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English mainstream 43 01-01-2019
I was tutored by Kristyn during both year 11 and year 12 for mainstream VCE english. I can honestly say she is one of the most amazing tutors that I have been taught by and was a huge reason behind my final english score, which ended up really exceeding my expectations. She was extremely reliable, and would always provide detailed feedback on my essays every week which improved my writing style greatly in both my school SACs and the final exam. She was very knowledgeable about all of my english texts and the fact that she has studied many of them for years with a wide range of students meant she was able to teach me a very thorough and in depth analysis of each text that fit almost any essay topic. She was so helpful during the exam period, both at appeasing my pre-exam nerves and providing tangible feedback on all of my essays so I felt very prepared during the actual exam. I am incredibly grateful for all of the help she provided in 2017-2018 and would encourage anyone doing english or literature to be tutored by her!

Amy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 45 26-12-2018
Kristyn has helped me so much in my completion of VCE english. Before I had her as a tutor, I struggled in English a lot. With Kristyn's detailed feedback of my submitted work and helpful advice, my skills and knowledge in English developed rapidly. Working with Kristyn allowed me to improve greatly in a short amount of time because of her admirable teaching techniques. Her explanations enable a deeper understanding of all texts and lead to high-scoring application of textual knowledge in essay writing. I highly recommend having Kristyn as an English VCE tutor!

William 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
English 45 11-11-2018
She is a great help for people who want to get a better mark for English, as it is both extra motivation and extra time spent on improving the quality of writing. Not only this, but she is encouraging of ideas and doesn't just help with writing but also helps forge better understanding of texts. She made the year a lot more straightforward just by taking a different approach to school teachers at times, but also following the school work at the same time which helped just further solidify the knowledge of texts. Especially for the Oral and Creative SAC, it would have been much harder without her help, and just in general she is a capable tutor.

Amala 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English/Literature 200 10-11-2018
Kristyn has tutored both my children for VCE English and Literature. She has been a great teacher and a wonderful support through the stressful years of VCE. I recommend her highly for both English and Literature. Both my children have enjoyed their lessons with Kristyn and had very high marks for English for SACs and VCE.

Mahen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Review 45 06-11-2018
I received english tutoring from Kristyn for a year and as a result have experienced a vast improvement in my analysis and written expression. Kristyn is always friendly and works with her students to enhance their own ideas ensure a complex interpretation of the course material. I found VCE english to be enjoyable and felt confident in recently completed exams largely due to Kristyn’s continued support and dedication.

Anjali 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 40 05-11-2018
We are really grateful to Kristyn for her valuable guidance and support to Akshat for his VCE English. She was very approachable, thorough in her knowledge ,always encouraging and gave lots of positive feedback. Her organised and meticulous approach helped to steadily increase his grades .

Elly 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 50 05-11-2018
Kristyn is a fantastic tutor and has helped me immensely throughout the year! I've never had trouble with my English but my anxiety and self-confidence when it comes to the subject has impacted me greatly over the past few years. Under Kristyn's guidance, she's assisted me in believing in myself and my English ability, allowing me to achieve excellent sac results and feel well prepared for the exam. Kristyn is an intelligent, well-experienced tutor and has great tips and advice for all English students. At first I was a bit sceptical about the Skype sessions but they have turned out to be extremely successful!! The amount of work completed and content learned is definitely not impacted by online sessions and in fact works even better for a busy Year 12 schedule!

Gigi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 166 05-11-2018
Kristyn is an amazing english tutor, she has helped me a lot this year. I used to struggle with writing essays and occasionally have trouble writing smoothly however Kristyn has guided me with lots of tips and ideas that I was able to use in order to refine my english skills for the exam.

Jane 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 60 05-11-2018
As a student who has always struggled with English, Kristyn has been a great help and major reason for my success during year 12. With her guidance I was able to achieve high results in my SACs, which I thought was impossible given the fact that English has always been my weakest subject. In fact, my English SACs have been some of my highest marks this year! Kristyn is incredibly dedicated and is always willing to help her students at any minute of the day. Doing the lessons through Skype was also incredibly convenient as it reduced the time wastage from having to travel somewhere to do the tutoring sessions. To anyone who is considering getting a tutor for English, I would highly recommend Kristyn!

Ange 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 90 05-11-2017
My daughter is a very bright student who was having trouble with her confidence and timing in writing different types of essays. She visited Kristyn through year 11 and 12. It was amazing to watch her grow in self confidence and belief. Kristyn was forever supportive and kept me informed how she was progressing. I would recommend Kristyn to any student as her knowledge base and continued support resulted in my daughter learning strategies to improve her self belief. Thank you Kristyn. E

Jaimie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 40 01-11-2017
Kristyn has been a very supportive and helpful tutor throughout the entire year. After each week, I could feel tangible improvement in my ability.

Dudley 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 80 31-10-2017
I have been going to Kristyn for years 11 and 12, and have benefited greatly from her tutelage. She always sends me comprehensive feedback on the essays I send her, and helps me develop my own style of writing that plays to my personal strengths. She has a thorough and detailed knowledge of both the texts and the curriculum, and provides me with strong guidance in my approach to SACs and the exam. Kristyn developed her own interpretation of the text, and introduced me to ideas that I was not exposed to in study guides or a classroom environment. She has always notified me if she is late, or unable to attend a session, and has readily replied to any last minute questions I have sent. I credit my improvement in english during the past two years to her, and have no regrets in choosing her as my tutor.

Pamod 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 40 31-10-2017
Kristyn is an excellent tutor who provides extensive resources and knowledge of VCE english. Before I started english tutoring with Kristyn, english seemed like a daunting task that would plague my VCE studies. But after the comprehensive feedback I would get on the weekly essays and implementing the strategies she taught my grades drssrically imrpoved. She also went above and beyond what is required of a weekly tutor as she was available for question and advice on peices of work througout the week. I enjoyed my time working with Kristyn and would highly recommend her as a tutor for anyone.

Rupesh 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 24 29-10-2017
exceptionally good. My daughter strongly benefited from it.Did it via skype from the convenience of home and saved travel time etc. but did not lose anything in terms of quality of service. did offer lot of behind the tute time work in terms of correction and detailed comments on their work and hence tute time dedicated to just quality advice etc . the parents where in the loop all the time and knew exactly what was happening.

Dylan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 80 15-11-2016
I never expected or hoped for much in English and acknowledged that it would be the subject that would let me down overall. However, because of Kristyn I was able to improve significantly from scoring D's to scoring A's. Kristyn consistently helps you achieve higher and helps you go beyond what ever you thought you could accomplish. I never had much interest in English, but Kristyn makes English interesting. Every lesson is catered to what you need to improve on and Kristyn is always prepared. She always goes to lengths to provide you with the material, knowledge and resources needed to succeed. Because of Kristyn I achieved above and beyond. Kristyn is a wonderful teacher and can help you achieve more than you could ever imagine.

Briannah 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Literature 6 08-11-2016
I did online tutoring with Kristyn which consisted of writing essays, sending them off, then receiving extremely detailed and helpful comments. She also went above and beyond this as I received extensive responses to my general questions on the text, which improved my overall understanding immensely. Kristyn responded with both essay feedback and questions promptly and was extremely reliable. I could not have asked for a better tutor, and wish I had come to her much sooner!! I cannot express how much I improved in the limited time I had- I only sent in 6 essays and yet the feedback given was so useful and knowledgeable that I improved markedly. She is a very dedicated tutor who was paramount in the improvement of my essays - both in the complexity of my ideas and in the expression of them. A fantastic tutor, absolutely recommended!!!

Tania C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Literature 48 07-11-2016
Kristyn was amazing. Inspirational and very knowledgeable. My daughter loved going to tutoring every week. I can highly recommend her.

Tony 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 05-11-2016
Kristyn is an absolutely brilliant teacher and really understands the curriculum back to front. She has an in-depth understanding of all the VCE texts and was able to help me develop my own unique interpretation of the novels. Kristyn is able to explain things in a lucid manner and really helped me understand the subject, rather than simply regurgitating memorized paragraphs. Moreover, her drive as a teacher is unparalleled, as throughout the year as she constantly emailed me with articles and supplementary materials related to my studies. The fact that I am writing this review even before results comes out is a clear testament to Kristyn's aptitude as a teacher; she simply could not have prepared me any better for the exam, and if I obtain a sub-par result, it was because I under-performed in the exam. In other words, she has left me with no regrets for this subject, as her diligent work ethic (replying to emails almost always within one hour) has helped me to fully prepare for this subject. Thank you for a great year Kristyn and all the best for the future.

Indranil C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 40 02-11-2016
Dr Saunders Helped our daughter in more ways than one. Our daughter was floundering with her English and anxious of how she would prepare for her VCE exams. A couple of sessions with some "experienced" tutors left us all quite dissatisfied. We knew things would change when we met Dr Saunders the first time. Her enthusiasm, passion and ability to befriend our daughter and her ability to not only develop rapport but bring our daughter out of her shell of Englishophobia (I may need tutoring too!), was extraordinary. Dr Saunders is always prepared, not just with content and material but prepared to go the extra length, accommodate changes in times and dates, prepared to push and prod and help her young students spread their wings and fly. That is what our daughter needed. Not is she just so much more confident with her English, she has grown in character and has had Dr Saunders more as a friend and mentor than a tutor. We are so indebted to Dr Saunders and could only wish her well in her pursuit of helping other young students grow to their full potential.

Jacqui j 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English tutor 26 31-10-2016
Kristyn is a god send. She has enabled my daughter to gain confidence in a subject that wasn't her strongest. She nurtured and encouraged my daughter and knew exactly how to teach her to her strengths. Kristyn goes above and beyond the call of duty, she reads the texts and has course material prepared and ready to go from the very first lesson. Cannot recommend her highly enough.

Li C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 35 31-10-2016
Our son started facing challenges with English at the end of Year 11. We were not sure if having a tutor meant additional work, which we thought was not helpful. Thankfully, we found Kristyn on this website, and when we met up, she explained how she tutored and provided what our son needed - a coach. They worked through his school curriculum, and provided him feedback and ideas on how to improve his writing style / analysis. We are happy to recommend Kristyn to a child who may need some assistance and willing to put in his/her own effort to improve.

Manoja R 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English Literature 60 04-10-2016
When I met Kristen my son was struggling with his VCE English and literature. Kristyn helped him to regain his confidence and improve his results significantly through her support and encouragement. She was always well prepared, had good materials and good knowledge of the course and went above and beyond to assist us. I would recommend her wholeheartedly.

Joshua 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Literature and English 3/4 tui 30 26-12-2015
Dr Saunders, or Kristyn as she prefers has been a fantastic inspiration to work with this year as I completed year 12. This year Kristyn has helped me find my way in improving my expression in my English and Literature subjects. This fundamentally was aimed at helping me communicate my ideas in a more sophisticated manner in order to achieve high SAC marks and a good exam result. Throughout the year my teachers at school were more impressed and interested in my work and my marks improved. Kristyn's approach to helping her students works best when a student works hard and provides practice pieces for review on a regular basis. Without Kristyn's interest, skills, and knowledge in literature, my marks and my interest in literary arts would not have been as strong as what they are. I really enjoyed working with Kristyn this year, not only for the benefit of improving my marks, but also for the care, concern, and moral support she has offered during my year 12 experience.

Anil S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English at VCE level 22 05-08-2015
Dr kristyn is an awesome tutor. She is so nurturing, motivating and encouraging. Prior to my tutoring sessions, I was scoring on the low scale and over this few months, I have sprung back. During my recent parent teacher conference, I received very encouraging and great feedback from my teachers and that was just a real come back for me. This would not have been the case had it not been for Kristyn. She never failed to constantly motivate me and is just so extremely concerned and caring. I look forward to all sessions no matter how tired I am. She is a great tutor, friend and mentor. Thank you kristyn for preparing me well enough for my upcoming VCE exams. If you are looking for a tutor.... then there is only one name to search ... Dr Kristyn Saunders.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors