Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Miss Johana Cortes -  Brisbane - Stafford

Overall rating of 4.7 stars based on 17 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
James 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 45 20-07-2019
Johana has tutored me in Spanish for eight months. During this time I studied a Spanish unit at the University of Sydney for a bachelor degree. Johana's help and enouragement was crucial in me passing this unit. Thanks to her, I received a credit. I have not experienced Johana's consistent patience, and persistence with my Spanish with any other tutor or teacher. I recommend Johana to all of you who want to seriously improve their Spanish.

Anna 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 10 16-06-2019
I am writing this to thank you and as a sign of appreciation for helping me with Spanish these past few weeks. Although it was for a short period of time, I can definitely say that it has helped me so much with the load of homework and minor assessments which I had lots of difficulty with as opposed to when I were to finish them by myself with no help. I have just finished my oral assessment today and I managed to answer all the questions and even make a few additional comments with the help from the revision I had with you on our last session. So again, thank you so much and I will surely contact you back if I choose to do further Spanish studies in the future. Many thanks, Anna

Andreas & 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 3 4 4
Spanish 20 03-04-2019
Relaxed and fun learning environment and great progress in a short amount of time

Anonimo 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 0 23-01-2018
EXCELENTE.... No conozco a Johana como profesora, pero lo que si se, es que es la mujer más bella, dulce y sensual que existe... con una mirada o una sola de sus sonrisas sería capaz de derretir un tempano de hielo... es responsable, capaz, soñadora y amigable... es magia rebosante contenida en un pequeño recipiente y no creo que exista nadie que se resista a su sonrisa o que no sueñe, aunque sea por un minuto, con ser el dueño de sus lindos labios...

Brett 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 18 01-09-2017
I was fortunate enough to find Johana to give me a head start in Spanish before an extended stay in Madrid over the last couple of months. She is very capable, speaks English well which helps greatly in working through problems, understands how to impart information and, more importantly, which sort of information would be most useful to you in your own personal circumstances. She is also great company and has a good sense of humour, so the lessons are both effective and entertaining. I recommend her to anyone looking to learn or improve their Spanish language skills.

Margaret 4.5 4 4 5 5 5 4 5 4
Espanol 45 15-08-2017
Johana Cortes ha sido mi tutora durante cuatro meses. De mi experiencia puedo decir que Johana es una muy buena tutora - agradable, confiable, enterada y bien organizada. Me ha dado consejos sensatos. Mi español escrito ha mejorado. Johana corrigió mi pronunciación y me dio estrategias para evitar errores cuando leo en voz alta. He ganado confianza, especialmente cuando estoy hablando. Sin duda recomendaría Johana como tutora española y le deseo lo mejor en el futuro.

Chris 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 35 23-06-2017
I was planning an extensive holiday to Central and South America and needed to learn some Spanish. I found Johana on tutorfinder and was happy with my choice. Johana made me feel comfortable with the learning process and as i was an absolute beginner really helped with the understanding and pronunciation of the language. Johana was also very happy to share her experiences of South America and exlpained the culture and traditions with me. I found Johana to be an excellent teacher and would recommend to all.

Masa 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 15 22-10-2016
Johanna is an educated, clever, reliable, patient, and friendly teacher. You can have good conversations about so many topics, about her country, hobbies, interests, life, etc, which make the lessons fun and interesting because you can be exposed to different subjects. Highly recommended.

Rosh 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 80 22-10-2016
Johanna is a great tutor! She is knowledgeable, patient, accommodating and encouraging. I have been taking one on one Spanish lessons with Johanna for just under a year. It's great to be able to learn from a native Spanish speaker and from someone who is a natural teacher. Most importantly, the classes are fun. I've learnt and laughed lots! Muchas gracias Johanna!

Marina j 3.5 4 4 3 4 4 4 4 4
Spanish class review 15 21-10-2016
Johanna is easy to talk to. She identified quickly required point of improvement by giving the right Exercice to work on and if wanted homework.

Alicia C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 30 21-10-2016
During the time that Johana has been helping me with Spanish I have seen my understanding of the language and its concepts improve dramatically. The biggest improvement has been with my speaking abilities, which I believe is the most important part of any language. Johana's calm and kind demeanour make it comfortable to talk, and her insistence on speaking correctly means that my accent is significantly better. She is always happy to provide extra work and listens to what I want to cover in the lesson. I do one lesson with Johana a week to help me with my course at university and have honestly found it invaluable. Also, Johana travels to my house for lessons which is super convenient. Gracias, Johana!

Raymond 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 4 5 5
Great tutor - would definitely 26 21-10-2016
She tailors the lessons to your needs and skill level very well She understands the importance of speaking in order to make practical use of the language instead of just doing 'fill in the blank' style worksheets She is a native speaker and has extensive knowledge of different slangs and vocabulary of Spain and throughout South and Central America Can help you with travel preparations in terms of useful phrases and vocabulary Great variety in content e.g. videos, literary extracts, conversation exercises, worksheets Would definitely recommend

Simon 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 150 20-10-2016
I have been learning Spanish with Johana for more than 6 months now. She has really helped me improve my skills in all aspects of the language but most importantly speaking. Our lessons range from sitting down and working on grammar to not even opening a text book and having a conversation in Spanish for an hour, being able to do this has been invaluable for my learning. I am just entering year 12 HSC and I chose Johana not just because I wanted better marks but to actually learn the language and be able to communicate; I have come so far and would recommend her tutoring sessions to anybody who is interested in learning the language.

Keith M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 30 09-08-2016
I have had a few tutors over a span of two years, Johana is the best I have had. I need instruction tailored to my needs. I cannot attend school due work commitments so a highly flexible , reliable ,cost effective alternative is private tutoring with Johana. She is reliable, punctual, knowledgeable and able to target your needs, thinking sometimes outside the square with challenging exercises. She can analyse your needs and push you out of your comfort zone to accelerate progress if that is what you like but at the same time respond to your requests so you can set your own pace..... it's all about your needs. I truly feel I have leaped ahead through her wise instruction, patience and encouragement. Cinco sobre cinco para esta profesora!

Charlotte 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Excellent Spanish Teacher 50 27-05-2016
I received 1.5hr Spanish lessons, twice a week, for 6 months, at my home with Johanna. She is a friendly and engaging teacher that was always punctual, reliable and well prepared for each class. Johanna demonstrated significant teaching skill and flexibility by easily adapting her content and methods to suit my learning needs and pace. She used a variety of methods of teaching to keep the lessons enjoyable so that I found learning Spanish challenging but not difficult, therefore my Spanish improved significantly in a short period of time. Finally I found that her classes were great value for money. I can't recommend her more highly to anyone wanting to learn Spanish!

Frank 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 30 14-04-2016
Johanna is an amazing tutor. I was looking for tutor because I was moving overseas to South America. I was so happy I chose Johanna, as we spoke first about why I wanted to learn Spanish and she then tailored our lessons around my needs. In the three months I had lessons with Johanna, I gained so much confidence in my ability to understand and speak Spanish. Johanna is very patient, kind and knowledge. She is the perfect teacher for anyone who is looking to learn Spanish. I only wish that I approached her a few months earlier, as I know I would have a greater grasp of Spanish before heading overseas. Muchas gracias, Johanna!

Darren 4.0 4 4 4 4 4 5 4 4
Endorsement 20 16-09-2015
I am very pleased to give Johana an endorsement for her skills as a Spanish language tutor. I have received tutoring from Johana over a period of two years whilst completing levels 2 to 5 as an adult student. She has a passion for teaching and a delightful, happy manner and an intelligent approach to teaching. She has always given me the clarifications I sought and also very useful practice examples. Many times Johana would prepare for a tutor session in advance if she knew what I wanted to practice.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors