Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Robert Liu -  Melbourne

Overall rating of 5.0 stars based on 11 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Michael 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Math Methods, Specialist Math 50 06-11-2021
Robert is by far the most dedicated and professional tutor I've had the fortune of studying under. The support and guidance that Rob provides extends far beyond the confines of the lessons, I am always assured that I can turn towards him for help at any time and that he will give his utmost despite it cutting into his own personal time. He has personally and meticulously crafted a set of notes, exercises and materials that are designed to help you succeed (and are far better than the textbooks as I'm sure many would agree). Yet perhaps equally as important, Rob is the greatest mentor you could possibly have. He works tirelessly to ensure that all of his students are equipped with the tools and knowledge to succeed in both VCE and beyond. A motivational talk here, study tips there, students can be certain that they will walk away from class having learnt more than just content, and it is these exact life lessons that I have found invaluable and am grateful for. Even after your tenure as a student ends, Robert is still someone you can continue to seek guidance from and as always, he will happily help out. I think this can only speak towards how committed Rob is towards the success of his students, and how much he cares about each and every one of them as a person - investing his downtime into seeing you achieve your goals. Would not trade learning from him for anything!

Rick 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths Methods, Specialist Math 50 23-08-2021
I last caught up with Rob a little before the beginning of this lockdown. I was meeting with this year’s cohort of aspiring minds and holding out for a slice of cheesy crust pizza. It was a housewarming, we met on the 15th floor. I was greeted with warm smiles, cordial welcomes, we hadn’t met before but it was as though we’d known each other for years. That evening we tackled everything from fine dining to makeshift bamboo aqueducts without so much as a dull moment. Software engineers, commerce graduates, aspiring students of medicine all of whom I had met that day. It was as though I was peering back into my time with VCE. A time I couldn’t have imagined without Robert. The one thing you, a budding student pursuing a career in who-knows-what field should be searching for is the right kind of people. But you can’t do it on your own. You’re gazing at the stars; you’ve been doing it your whole life. We know, we’ve been there, Rob’s been there too. My parents weren’t executives, not even engineers twice removed. But three years ago Rob had a place for me as I was willing to make a commitment, as were my contemporaries and now lifelong friends. If you’re looking for a guide to a world in search of thinkers and innovators, what you should be looking for? - Someone with extensive experience inside of tutoring. How long have they tutored for? Is it any good being taught by someone who’s only taught themselves? - Someone with extensive experience outside of tutoring. Can you run them by the latest stock picks? Will they prepare you for your next interview? Have they sat inside the board room? - Someone with a proven track record. How well have their pupils performed? - Someone who is student centric. Are you the focal point and are they willing to tailor the experience to your needs? - Someone who buys you a celebratory lunch or lunches? (Rob’s generosity knows no bounds, that’s why he never asks you to pay him back!) - Someone who is there for you. Can you look to them even when you’re down and out? - Someone with a wealth of resources. Are they more useful than a quick Google? Do they have a wide variety of original and derived work? - Someone who is persistent. Are they providing you with routine material to hone your skills? Do you feel that they care about your ultimate outcome? - Someone that has your attention and whose attention is yours, are you are able to communicate your needs to them and are they listening? - Someone who can devote their time, are they always ready to answer your flood of questions? If this is what you’re looking for in a tutor, I can confidently say that Rob can provide all that and more. So when you write Rob, just know that you’ll be having what we’re having: A slice of success.

Alyssa 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths Methods 52 22-08-2021
I can’t thank Rob enough for the amount of support he has given me throughout year 12 as my tutor and beyond. Rob is honestly the most knowledgeable and caring person who ALWAYS puts his students first, and I can’t recommend him enough! Having always struggled with Maths, Rob was so patient in building up my confidence and ability in Methods. More than his clear explanations and plethora of resources, his encouragements and mini pep-talks kept me going through some seriously tough times. I can say with confidence that I walked out of every class with a little more motivation, a little more reassurance, and a little more hope. Even as I’ve graduated, Rob has continued to be so generous with his knowledge and is always happy to help out in any way he can. Honestly don’t know why anyone would think twice about having Rob as their tutor, 100/10 would recommend!! :)

Alea 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Methods 40 11-08-2021
I had a wonderful experience being tutored by Rob in year 12. Rob has been a tutor for many years and provides a structured coursework for each class. In class, he would go through key concepts and highlight tricky past exam questions. He also gave plenty of resources to complement my learning which gave me an advantage during SACs. Unlike other tutors I've had, Rob is very responsive to any questions I have outside of class and genuinely cares for each of his student. Although the only subject Rob taught me was methods, he was concerned about my general wellbeing in VCE and how I was doing overall. For example, near the end of the year I went through a burnout and was comforted by Rob to prioritise my mental health. I highly recommend Rob for anyone looking for an amazing tutor and friend in their VCE journey :)

Celia 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Methods, Spesh 52 02-03-2021
Literally the best tutor ever, super nice and supportive, incredibly easy to talk to and ask questions. He always tries to help out in every way, in not only academic ways, but advice on career and life. Overall such a great guy.

Jocelyn 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Math 20 26-02-2021
Rob is one of the best people you’ll ever meet - someone who is always willing to help out despite his seemingly impossible work schedule. He helped me so much in Spec during 2020, supplementing all the bits and pieces that slipped through the cracks during online learning. More importantly, Rob taught me valuable study skills and habits that ensured that I didn’t fall victim to procrastination and kept my motivation throughout the year. He genuinely cares about every single one of his students and invests time and energy to ensure that we succeed not only in school but as people. He was quick to provide career advice when I asked and even helped me choose my university course. Rob’s custom notes and ‘sets’ are some of the best resources I’ve come across and if that’s not enough, he has a packed folder of worksheets, tests and practise exams from some of the best private schools in Australia. His knowledge of the specialist course is astounding, but it is his character that makes him the best tutor I’ve ever had.

Helena 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Mathematical Methods and Speci 52 24-02-2021
Rob is so much more than a VCE tutor. Through being tutored by him not only did I gain a thorough understanding of mathematics through his clear and precise explanations, but also was provided with a plethora of high quality practice sets and resources made by him to hone my understanding. In every step of my journey through maths in year twelve I felt supported by Rob even more than by my maths teachers; his desire to help me achieve my personal best was clearly evident, and I was comforted in the knowledge I could seek his help outside of scheduled class times if the need arose. Rob taught me so much more than VCE mathematics; throughout the year he encouraged me to set goals and gave advice on effective strategies to achieving them, sharing his own anecdotes of success. He is willing to go that extra mile and offer support in whatever capacity it's needed, whether it be in maths, or the general difficulties of VCE and life. Whether your goal is to extend yourself or to gain support in a subject you struggle with, Rob is sure to cater to your personal targets and to help you develop as an individual throughout the year. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

Stella 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths Methods, Specialist Math 60 16-12-2018
Rob is the most genuine, friendly, generous and intelligent tutor I’ve ever met, and I’m incredibly grateful to have contacted him as I was entering Methods 3/4 this year. Unlike many other tutors, Rob doesn’t just ‘tutor’ you, but so much beyond that. Firstly, he is extremely flexible and easy to contact. Whatever time it was, if I shot him a message asking him about something or a problem to solve, he’d always reply at least within a couple of hours. Whenever I couldn’t turn up to our lesson, he was always fine with rescheduling to a different time and making sure that I wouldn’t fall behind. Secondly, his knowledge and understanding of the actual course content, as well as HOW to approach your studies, is boundless. He is thorough with his explanations and willing to explain solutions in multiple ways until you fully understand how to go about it. Moreover, his familiarity with how the scoring system works allows him to give you accurate and constructive feedback. Thirdly, he provides an extensive list of resources, ranging from his own weekly notes and weekly tests, ’sets’ (question booklets), past SACs from various schools and other sources, and connections with professional examiners. But most importantly, he genuinely cares about each and every one of his students, and is willing to invest hours outside of ‘class time’ to help his students’ needs. He is dedicated, hard-working, and extremely motivated, through both his own work and through helping his students, and the most supportive tutor I’ve ever had.

Alden 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths Methods, Specialist Math 50 16-12-2018
I had the fortune of stumbling across Rob's services in my final year of high school, and I can definitely vouch for not only his quality of teaching and resources, but also his kind temperament. Rob is more than a tutor. He is also a friend who values the growth of his students beyond their marks. From the offset, class was refreshingly structured. Each new concept is first explained, then backed up by examples to help reinforce the content. After class, Robert makes available homework sets (which no doubt would have taken hours on end to format) designed to introduce you to the style of exam questions catered to the topics you have just learnt. For me, these served as a source of revision for SACs and helped me prepare for certain topics on the exam THROUGHOUT the year, rather than fall victim to the rush of revision that so commonly occurs during the Term 3 holidays. I also had the privilege of forging some of my closest friendships with many of my classmates - something made possible by Rob's priority to make class enjoyable and more than an academic exercise. As a top bloke and someone who has absolutely killed it in his university years, Rob also happily dedicates his time to mentoring his students outside of their non-academic endeavours. He is not your average run-of-the-mill tutor. Under his instruction, with a combination of your own blood, sweat and tears into the subject/s - there is nothing stopping you from achieving the score you want regardless of your current level of ability. His results as a tutor speak for themselves, but ultimately, it will always come down to how much effort you are willing to commit. Rob won't carry you to a good study score, but he definitely will do everything in his power to make it as easy as possible for you to do so.

Albert 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 16 14-12-2018
Rob was by far the most professional tutor i have ever had. He has his own resources which definitely helped me go through challenging questions. He is also very friendly and is available anytime outside of the class. Maths was always a big challenge for me, but Rob , without any doubt, made it interesting.

James 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Specialist Mathematics 45 14-12-2016
During this year, Rob was much more than just a tutor. He was incredibly supportive during the tough times and was highly dependable even when he was highly stressed during his exam period, reassuring me that 'my priorities came first' and before his. It is so difficult to find a tutor that cares for you more than your own parents (I shockingly admit this). I am indebted and so grateful to have been taught by Rob this year. Ended up with a 45+ raw Specialist Maths study score, forever grateful. Rob is definitely a more capable and caring tutor than most, if not all, of the tuition companies out there. You really can't do better.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors