Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Ernest Materyn -  Sydney

Overall rating of 4.9 stars based on 32 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Rachel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 3 19-10-2021
Ernest was able to help me reach that next level in essay writing. Ernest was able to steer my essays to become more concise and precise, while teaching me the process of writing a better essay during the process. I would highly recommend Ernest's services.

Krish 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Tutoring 5 02-10-2021
Ernest is excellent and efficient at what he does. I had several pieces of work reviewed by him and his attention to detail and thoroughness was amazing. He has detailed knowledge about APA formatting rules which he helped me with and further his absolute to give critical and useful feedback that I could easily implement changes to my work with was great! He is very flexible and I have sent him work with short notice and he has turned it around in a few nights. Thanks so much Ernest!

Ajay 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 5 01-10-2021
I got a great feedback for my assignments

Krish 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Tutoring 5 01-10-2021
Ernest is excellent and efficient at what he does. I had several pieces of work reviewed by him and his attention to detail and thoroughness was amazing. He has detailed knowledge about APA formatting rules which he helped me with and further his absolute to give critical and useful feedback that I could easily implement changes to my work with was great! He is very flexible and I have sent him work with short notice and he has turned it around in a few nights. Thanks so much Ernest!

Daniel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Review 10 24-09-2021
I have been working with Ernest on my psychology thesis over the last 6 months with a format of him reviewing drafts of my work. I highly recommend working with him. He has provided guidance in multiple areas including clarity of communication and writing style, typical approaches taken in the each section (e.g. introduction, discussion) and detailed feedback on APA formatting. Ernest has a great depth of knowledge in psychology, research and writing. One thing I have really appreciated is that he responds with specific feedback (examples and suggestions) to questions I have included in the drafts. Ernest provides great critical appraisal of the content but is also very encouraging and supportive at the same time.

Michelle 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 5 22-09-2021
Ernest is an excellent tutor, who is very experienced and knowledgeable, highly recommended I will continue working with him.

Nas 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Tutoring - 4th year 5 19-09-2021
I have been impressed with the feedback and support I have received from Ernest. I have sent him over 8 assessments this year to assess. He is very professional and provides high quality service. I have managed (with the feedback from Ernest) to keep my grades around D- HD. He is great at checking for APA and gives lots of feedback around how to improve content. I look forward to his help next year with my thesis.

Dominica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 10 10-09-2021
Ernest provides constructive feedback that encourages growth in the area of knowledge and skill, and he has been a valuable asset to the development of my academic writing and critical thinking skills. There has been a considerable improvement in the quality of assignments since I first started my degree and since I first started working with Ernest. I highly recommend Ernest's services to anyone that requires assistance with their Psychology degree and I am confident that they will be pleased with his feedback, just like I am.

Alex 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
HSH207 Socioeconomic Status an 1 08-09-2021
Ernest was super helpful, very professional, and extremely punctual, always. Feedback was very helpful, and he ultimately helped me achieve a great grade for this assessment - I can't thank him enough!

Alex 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 4 4 4
HPS207 Preparing for Employmen 1 10-08-2021
Ernest is a polite and extremely punctual tutor. Provides excellent review on assessments and feedback is helpful and encouraging. :)

Becky 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 1 28-07-2021
Ernest again put my mind at ease, answering my questions and helping me formulate a plan for my assignment. Thanks Ernest! See you next time!

Ally 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
SPSS / Statistics / Psychology 2 08-06-2021
Highly recommended! I am so glad I've found Ernest as I was feeling apprehensive about my first research / statistics subject in my course. All of his feedback has been extremely helpful. I've also appreciated his flexibility and kindness as my scheduled changed due to getting sick, but I was able to rebook our session. His support has been provided via Zoom and email, which has made him easily accessible. I had been aiming for a credit or higher in a particular task and ended up getting a high distinction!

Becky 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 2 17-05-2021
Ernest was very supportive during our zoom lesson, he put me at ease and was so easy to chat to about all the topics I wasn't sure of. He instilled my confidence ensuring me I was on the right track. I almost withdrew from my unit the week before, Ernest relieved some of that pressure I was feeling and I submitted an assignment with much higher confidence. I will definitely be using Ernest's services for each unit to keep me on track. Thanks Ernest.

Brendan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Advanced statistics for psycho 1 12-05-2021
Ernest was super communicative and understanding. Did not make me feel anything less than reassured the whole time. Much more confident with my work now.

Larissa 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
Criminology 2 11-05-2021
Earnest responded to me quickly and was lovely to deal with. Highly recommended for those that want help but also want to learn.

Funda 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Bachelor of Psychology 5 07-05-2021
I am pleased with the service Ernest has provided so far. He is clear and has changed my writing style and helped me understand critical thinking. His turnaround times and feedback for assessments is excellent and constructive. Ernest has assisted with my confidence level, which increased after our tutoring session, as he has significant knowledge to offer. I thank Ernest, as I owe my good grades to him.

Olivia 4.5 5 4 5 4 5 4 5 4
Lab report - introduction 5 02-04-2021
Ernest did a great job helping to improve my writing style!

Natasha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Cognitive Psychology 6 24-01-2021
Amazing tutor! English is my second language so studying psychology is a real challenge for me. I was only getting 'credits' for my assignments and desperately needed to boost my grades to at least distinctions. With Ernest's help I was able to achieve this goal and I have now been accepted into Honours. I am forever grateful for his dedication and patience. He is also an awesome guy too!

Grace 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Thesis 4 08-01-2021
Ernest is by far the best psychology I have come across. I had 2 tutors before him, and while they were helpful they were not as dedicated, professional and knowledgeable. I wish had met him during my undergraduate years (I have just finished my 4th year). What I liked the most about his style is his capability to translate difficult concepts into plain language. He is also super picky about APA style, which was great for me as I have always struggled with this part of psychology writing. I would strongly recommend Ernest to anyone needing some extra help during the study years.

Lou 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Cognitive psychology 2 19-03-2020
Awesome tutor. He is always prepared for the class and has great tips and recommendations to give. He even taught me how to make an effective assignment plan and this has given me very good results. If you are struggling with a task and don’t know where to start just reach him out. He is really good at what he does.

Roger 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology (3rd year) 3 17-03-2020
Coming from a law background I needed guidance on how to correctly use APA style. Ernest was able to assist me with professionalism and patience. He was also kind enough to answer desperate last minute questions that were of great help. I have had tutors before but no one ever showed such a genuine interest. Ernest is a great guy and an awesome psychology tutor.

Bonnie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psy4402 thesis introduction 5 18-02-2020
Ernest is a great guy and a fantastic tutor who went above and beyond to help me with my thesis introduction. It was only a few days before the due date and he went through my draft and gave me feedback on every paragraph. He got this back to me within 24 hours and then also called me to explain all his feedback to make sure I understood. I was able to achieve a great mark with his help. Ernest genuinely cares, is extremely smart and knows what he is talking about. I highly recommend him!

Samantha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 8 13-02-2020
I am a mature undergraduate psychology student who has been using Ernest’s tutoring services since last year (2019). Ever since, my writing and comprehension have both improved. My grades have also been increasing steadily. Ernest’s knowledge and dedication to providing high quality service is evident from the moment you contact him. He is super passionate about what he does. He is particularly good (and picky!) about APA formatting issues, which has been of great help. I cannot recommend this tutor enough

Diana 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 5 09-02-2020
Ernest is an amazing tutor . He was very useful in the feedback that he gave me . He delivered on time and is very professional ! I would definitely recommend him as a tutor :) . Thanks Ernest !!!

Michael 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Foundational Statistics 1 28-01-2020
Ernest recently aided me with a few of my lab reports. - He was easy to message and always replied within 10 or minutes. - He helped via; proof reading for professional and scientific wording, ensuring my logic was sound and made suggestions which enhanced my level of work. - I asked for the reports to be completed within 24 hours and they were done within 3-4 :) Definitely recommend him. If you're hesitant, just send him a message like I did and he will give you all the information you need.

Brian 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Foundations of Statistics 3 26-01-2020
One of the best tutors I have ever had. Seriously.

Alysha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 4 09-01-2020
Ernest is an amazing tutor and I cannot thank him enough. He was patient and highly professional in every single session we had. He was able to point out errors I have been making for ages in a clear and respectful manner - I will definitely be contacting him again in the future!

Priscilla 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 5 10-11-2019
I needed help on my psychology honours thesis and we worked together on getting it to a publication standard. He was incredibly helpful throughout this entire process and provided thorough and high-quality feedback. He always responded quickly and got my work back within 24 hours. If I need any more help in the future, I will definitely contact Ernest again. I would recommend him to anyone who needs help with their work.

Layla 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology 1 09-10-2019
Was really helpful, punctual and the rate charged was worth the services provided. Was available for the time needed despite the request coming last minute.

Donald 4.5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Ethics 2 08-10-2019
Great Tutor

Bec 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
PSY4402 4 30-09-2019
Ernest gave me great feedback on my thesis introduction which was really useful. It's hard to become critical of your own work when you're so deep in research and so Ernest's very honest and helpful feedback and suggestions were greatly appreciated.

Phillip 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Psychology Undergraduate 1st y 6 04-05-2018
Ernest is clearly spoken and was very sensitive and kind to me , My 1st Lab report for Psychology had me in tears and I needed some support and guidance, He arrived prepared with notes and had already done some research on my topic before he arrived ( He didn't charge me for the research he had done before hand) which was comforting , he taught me how o push through APA Style and also understand how to calculate the right amount of word count in each section of the Lab Report. The most valuable lesson that I received was Ernest assisted me with learning how to learn , University for me was difficult because I didn't understand how to identify what was being asked in my assignments and Lab Report , Ernest taught me what to look for in a question and how to formulate my approach. I am a very happy customer and I would recommend him comfortably.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors