Matching Students with Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students with Tutors

Mr Andy Nguyen

 Melbourne

Melbourne tutor in Maths, Chemistry, Maths Methods, Vietnamese, Algebra, Calculus, Statistics, Biology, General Science, Human Biology, Biochemistry, ESL, Essay Writing, Music Theory, Musicianship, Piano

(5 student reviews)

Hi everybody. I'm Andy Nguyen and I am tutoring Chemistry, Math Methods, Specialist Maths, EAL and Vietnamese at VCE Year 11-12 level, as well as Maths and Science for junior high school students. I am a native Vietnamese speaker and I would love to help somebody who is interested in the language to learn through conversations outside academic pursuit.

A little information about me: I graduated from Brunswick Secondary College as the Dux of 2013 with an ATAR score of 99.15. I was offered Melbourne Access Scholarship by The University of Melbourne. I am a Bachelor of Biomedicine graduate (with H1 average) and is currently pursuing an academic career in immunology & cancer research.


The (raw) study scores I received for subjects which I tutor are:
Chemistry (44)
Math Methods (43)
Vietnamese (43)
EAL (42)
Specialist Maths (36)


These are some other achievements I was awarded at high school:
+ Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards in English (ESL), Math Methods, Specialist Maths and Chemistry.
+ Participation in The University of Melbourne's Extension Program in Mathematics.
+ Participation in Monash University's Chemistry Challenge Program.
+ VCE Top Scorer in Vietnamese.
+ Participation in Monash University's Leadership Workshop for High Achieving Students.


For me, tutoring has always been a fulfilling experience. It gives me the opportunity to reflect upon my knowledge, to give back something good to students and to inspire them with my enthusiasm and commitment. I have a strong passion for education which I would love to share with you. I will always look forward to supporting you to achieve your greatest learning potential.

Depending on your academic level, I will focus on solidifying fundamental concepts, clearing up misconceptions and explore different strategies that enable you to avoid making repetitive mistakes. For some subjects, I have a huge collection of worksheets and notes personally written by myself to provide you as practice/revision materials. I am very approachable. Thereby if you have any individual questions related to the subjects, please message me outside our lesson time.

My tuition rate ranges from $25-50/hour, depending on the actual subject and academic level. The location for lessons is negotiable, it can be at your home, University of Melbourne Library or a local library. If you have anymore questions just don't hesitate to give me a private message via email or my phone number.

I have currently valid Police Check and Working with Children Check.

Apart from tutoring I enjoy DSLR photography, playing piano, solo backpacking and spending quality time with my family and friends. I also love getting involved in volunteering and social works, to help people in needs and contribute my little efforts towards charitable causes.

Contact

Experience

Homework Club Tutor at Embrace Education
Former Teaching Assistant at Brunswick Secondary College
4 years of experience in private tutoring scheme

Qualifications

Graduated from Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE).
Graduated from Bachelor of Biomedicine (B-BMED) at University of Melbourne, with H1 average.

Rates

Minimum is $25/hour and up to $50/hour, depending on location and academic level
5% discount applied for lump-sum advance payment
Special offer for introductory lesson

Student Discount

Special Offer - 5% discount applied for lump-sum advance payment. First lesson free of charge if unsatisfied

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 04-Dec-2018 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 07-Dec-2013 (updated profile on 11-Aug-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Melbourne
  • Home Visits within 50 kms
  • Online and Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Melbourne

English

ESL (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary)

Maths

Algebra (Primary, Secondary)
Calculus (Primary, Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary)
Maths Methods (Primary, Secondary)
Statistics (Secondary)

Science

Biochemistry (Secondary, Tertiary)
Biology (Primary, Secondary)
Chemistry (Secondary)
General Science (Primary, Secondary)
Human Biology (Primary, Secondary)

Language

Vietnamese (Introduction, Intermediate, Advanced)

Music

Music Theory (Introduction, Intermediate)
Musicianship (Introduction, Intermediate)
Piano (Introduction)

"I needed some tutoring support for Chemistry and Andy was able to assist broadly and very informatively. Andy had excellent communication and organisational skills and always ensured the topic that was covered was efficiently grasped. My grades improved considerably in Chemistry. I highly recommend Andy as a tutor for his diligence, patience and flexibility. Thank you Andy!!"

Rhiannon     
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region