Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Dr Arlene Taylor

 Canberra - Canberra

Canberra tutor in Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Clarinet, Doctor of Medicine, English, Essay Writing, Flute,... (and more)

Service areas
Canberra Region Wamboin, NSW

(2 student reviews)

** SPECIAL DEAL ** Sign up, and pay in advance, for 10 1-hour lessons (1 per week) for Term 2 2017 and get 2 lessons free! New students only, limited to 1 child per family. Lessons must be used each week (a catch-up will be offered, in cases of illness, where a mutually convenient time is found). **SPECIAL DEAL**

I have been tutoring and teaching music for the past 16 years.

I offer tutoring in:
- Music teaching (piano/theory/saxophone/flute/clarinet/recorder)
- Primary school and highschool mathematics (up to year 12)
- Primary school and highschool science (up to year 12)
- Primary Level English and grammar
- Secondary English Studies
- Reading catch-up for those with literacy delays
- Medical subjects (Pharmacology, epidemiology, toxicology, research methods, OSCE practise, physiology, general medicine, preparation for internship)

If you have a child, or are an adult, with special needs or learning disabilities then I can offer a supportive tutoring program to suit. I understand the needs and difficulties of those on the autism spectrum, those with dyslexia, dyspraxia, auditory processing disorder, ADHD and a variety of other specific learning disabilities. As such I have ensured access to an abundance of resources to encourage those who learn differently including: Visual aids, kinesthestic learning techniques, auditory training.
As well as working with students in academic areas, I have skills in the following essential (but often ignored) areas.
- Study organisation and survival skills for those who find this challenging (or simply want to improve) - I have found this is something higher education students on the autism spectrum benefit from greatly.
- Emotion understanding and expression
- Communication skills (for school, home, hobby and workplace)
- Structured teaching of social skills including practise and role-playing
- The effective and proper use of information technology (word processing, powerpoint, excel, internet etc) in studying [great for tertiary students and those returning to study]

Due to the large variety of areas I tutor in, prices are varied depending on the skill/topic. Depending on the age and needs of the student session times will also vary.

Depending on your child's needs parents are also welcome to participate in the session so that you can 'continue' the learning process at home.

I have a particular focus on those with special needs and learning difficulties because I believe they deserve the same chances to succeed as others but are often thrown into a world that is not set up for their particular way of learning or thinking. I am also more than happy to work with adults who want to return to study, improve their skills, or 'give it a go'.




Maths (Primary and Highschool), English (Primary and Highschool), Reading (catch-up
programs for 'delayed' readers), Music Teaching (Theory, Saxophone, Piano),
Organisational skills, Social and Communication Skills, Independent living skills, Science
(Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Human Biology), Medical Subjects (Pharmacology,
Epidemiology, Toxicology).
Lectured in Epidemiology and Research Methods.
Group teaching of 'Preparation for Internship' and 'Managing Short Calls' for medical
students and interns.


Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor or Surgery
Graduate Certificate in Clinical Toxicology


Music Lessons:
Piano (beginner/intermediate) 30 min session = $40 (at my home only)
Piano (beginner/intermediate) 60 min session = $70 (at my home only)
Piano (Advanced Grade 5 AMEB and above) 30 min session = $50 (at my home only)
Piano (Advanced Grade 5 AMEB and above) 60 min session = $80 (at my home only)
Other instruments (All levels) 30 min session = $40 (at my home only)
Other instruments (All levels) 60 min session = $80 (at my home only)

Primary School Tutoring:
Maths/English/Science/Reading 30 min session = $40
Maths/English/Science/Reading 60 min session = $70

High-school Tutoring:
Maths/Science 60 min session = $80
Maths/Science 90 min session = $100

Special needs tutoring (dyslexia/adhd/asperger's/autism/other specific learning
Primary school all subjects and levels 60 min session = $80 (at my home only)
High school all subjects and levels 60 min session = $90 (at my home only)
Discounts apply if having multiple sessions a week

University level tutoring:
All university topics 60 min session = $80
Cheaper rates for group sessions and multiple sessions in a week

Organisational Skills/Social Skills/Communication Skills:
All students 60 min session = $80
Cheaper rates for group sessions and multiple sessions in a week

Student Discount

Special Offer - Pay up-front for 10 1-hour lessons for Term 2 '17 before 31/3/17 and get 2 free! *conditions apply




Joined TutorFinder on 29-Sep-2011 (updated profile on 30-Dec-2017)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Canberra

  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Canberra


English (Primary)
Essay Writing (Primary, Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)


Maths (Primary, Secondary)


Anatomy (Secondary, Tertiary)
Biochemistry (Secondary, Tertiary)
Biology (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Chemistry (Secondary)
Microbiology (Secondary)
Physics (Secondary)
Physiology (Tertiary)


Indonesian (Introduction)

Social Science

Special Needs (Primary, Secondary)


Medicine (Tertiary)


Clarinet (Introduction, Intermediate)
Flute (Introduction, Intermediate)
Music Theory (Introduction, Intermediate)
Musicianship (Introduction, Intermediate)
Piano (Introduction, Intermediate)
Recorder (Introduction)
Saxophone (Introduction, Intermediate)


Doctor of Medicine (General)

Other Subjects

Organisational Skills, Executive Functioning, Social and Communication Skills. Medical school subjects (including OSCE practise and group tutoring)

"I've had two children learn from Dr Taylor. They will continue with her. My daughter went from straight C grades to As and Bs in just over 1 term. My son has a new enthusiasm for learning and is now two school grades ahead in mathematics. Not only does Dr Taylor teach all the subjects very well, she takes a genuine interest in the learning skills development. She has been flexible and accomodating with hours and this has made tutoring really successful."

Hema Indrasamy     
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region