Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Dave Tran

 Sydney

Mathematician and Statistical Analyst

Sydney tutor in Algebra, Calculus, English, Further Maths, IELTS, Maths, Maths Methods, Statistics, International Baccalaureate (IB) Mathematics, LaTeX, Mathematica, MATLAB, SAT, SPSS, STATA

(1 student review)

Hi my name is David and I am a degree qualified Engineer and have also completed a Masters degree from University of Western Australia in 2013. I am currently in my penultimate year at Sydney University completing a double major in Mathematics and Statistics. Tutoring is my passion, I am constantly refining my tutoring skills and approaches and have full confidence that I can drive all students to achieve their academic goals. I have taught university, secondary and primary students. As a side, I go from a variety of textbooks and past exam papers and will go an extra mile to get you better questions with worked out solutions if needed as well. My teaching style is warm and relaxed, without being overly casual. I believe in a positive learning environment, with a focus on staying "on topic". I am a patient, diligent and friendly tutor, and as such I am always able to fill the gaps in students' logical though processes.


I have also done statistics tutoring for undergraduates at NSW universities. My thesis - "Correlation between gold price movement relative to share price movements of Australian Stock Exchange companies" in my final year obtained a Distinction grade at university. I keep up-to-date with current stock price movements and follow financial markets on a worldwide scale. I have kept the majority of my statistics textbooks, notes, tutorials and online quizzes that I have gone through with past students. As well as this, I completed Statistics Advanced (MATH1905) and Statistical Models (STAT2011) at Sydney Uni and have experience using R Commander, R Studio software. I can perform the majority of hypothesis test and am happy to explain the methods in getting to a solution.

I am able to help primary and upper high school students in all areas of English including: reading, spelling, writing and listening. I can give feedback and homework in the areas of creative writing areas which cover the following tasks: recount, procedure, poetry, narrative, literary response, information reports, explanation, discussion, factual descriptions and expositions. I have also sat the IELTS exam a couple of times in the past, the first time as a test to gain entrance into university and the second time for work purposes and obtained bands of 8.5 and 9.0 for the speaking section respectively and believe that having a tutor who can communicate with a student is imperative for success. I have still kept my IELTS resources which may be of help to students in helping to better understand the structure of this exam.

Subjects that I can tutor-

HIGH SCHOOL CERTIFICATE (HSC):

Mathematics

Mathematics Extension 1

INTERNATIONAL BACCALAUREATE (IB):

Maths Standard Level (SL)

Maths Higher Level (HL)

GENERAL CERTIFICATE OF SECONDARY EDUCATION (GCSE, iGCSE):

Mathematics

SCHOLASTIC ASSESSMENT TEST (SAT) :

Mathematics (No Calculator & Calculator)

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 1

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 2

AMERICAN COLLEGE TESTING (ACT):

Mathematics

INTERNATIONAL ENGLISH LANGUAGE TESTING SYSTEM (IELTS):

IELTS English Teaching

NSW Maths Stages 4, 5.1, 5.2 & 5.3

IB Middle Years Programme (MYP)

Microsoft Excel software- Data Analysis and Assignment Assistance

MATLAB Programming Language

Wolfram Mathematica

R Statistical Programming Language, R Studio, R Commander

SPSS Statistics Software package

STATA Software for Statistics and Data Science



University Units that tutored regularly in the past:

SYDNEY UNIVERSITY

MATH1002 Linear Algebra

MATH1005 Statistics

MATH1014 Introduction to Linear Algebra

MATH1015 Biostatistics

MATH1111 Introduction to Calculus

MATH1011 Applications of Calculus

BUSS1020 Quantitative Business Analysis

UNSW (UNIVERSITY OF NEW SOUTH WALES)

ECON1203 Business and Economic Statistics

UWS (WESTERN SYDNEY UNIVERSITY)

200052 Introduction to Economic Methods

200032 Business Statistics

UTS (UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY SYDNEY)

26134 Business Statistics

37161 Probability and Random Variables

UNE (UNIVERSITY OF NEW ENGLAND)

MATH101 Algebra and Differential Calculus

Contact

Experience

I have 9 years experience tutoring in Perth and Sydney. In 2014-2017, I have tutored on campus at: University of Sydney, UNSW, Western Sydney University and I have a strong grasp of the content on a week to week basis as well as having the resources and textbook to work from.

I have all relative course work, books and materials at my disposal, coupled with my 8 years experience as a tutor.

Qualifications

✔ Bachelor of Engineering (Honours), Commerce(Finance) - obtained Distinction grade for thesis "Correlation between gold price movement relative to share price movements of Australian Stock Exchange companies. " - Western Australia School of Mines

✔ Masters of Professional Accounting - UWA

✔ American College Testing - Mathematics Scale Score : 32 (97th Percentile US Rank)

✔ Completed the SAT Exam- Obtained 780 in the Mathematics section of the composite test (99th Percentile Nationally Representative Sample), 790 in Mathematics Subject Level 2, 750 in Mathematics Level 1 (92nd percentile)

✔ Mathematics & Statistics - Current student at Sydney University

(All certificates available upon request)

University Qualified
University tutoring experience
National Police Clearance
New South Wales Working With Children's Check- WWC0544135E (Valid Until December 2019)
First Aid Certificate
Current Member of Australian Tutoring Association (ATA)
Native speaker of English, born and raised in Australia

Rates

RATES:

Years 7-8 (Middle School)
$75/hour

9 & 10 (Intermediate Years)
$80/hour

Year 11-12 (Senior), University
$85 an hour

IB OPTIONS/IELTS
$75/hour

Group Tutoring/Package Deals- The cost of tutoring ranges from $75 to $85 for individual tutoring, with group tutoring rates as follows:

$100/hour for 2 students ($50 per person)
$120/hour for 3 students ($40 per person)
$140/hour for 4 students ($35 per person)

I limit the group sizes to a maximum of 4 to tailor to the individual and groups needs.

Preferred Payment Method:
Cash- If our session is face-to-face.
EFTPOS Accepted
Mastercard and VISA Accepted
Credit Card Accepted- American Express (AMEX)
Bank Transfers NOT Accepted

Cancellation Policy:
For regular students there is no penalty for cancellations made with more than 6 hours' notice. If cancelling at short notice, without mitigating factor, a minimum fee of $65 will apply per the scheduled hour. For primary and high school students , the minimum booking time is 2 hours and maximum is 3.5 hours per home visit. The minimum booking time for university students is 1.5 hours.

Travelling Fee:
Travelling to students homes, there is an additional cost travelling away from the CBD. I base my distance from Central Station off the WAZE app and/or Google Maps whichever is the fastest route.

Distances of 4-8 km [4,8 km)= $12
Distances of 8-12 km [8,12 km)= $20
Distances of 12-16 km [12,16 km)= $25
Distances of 16-20 km [16,20 km)= $30
Distances of 20-24 km [20,24 km)= $35
Distances of 24-28 km [24,28 km)= $40
Distances of 28-32 km [28,32 km)= $45
Distances of 32-36 km [32,36 km)= $50
Distances of 36-40 km [36,40 km)= $55
Distances of 40-44 km [40-44 km)= $60
Distances of 45-50 km [45-50 km)= $65

Credit Card Fee:
Payments by American Express (AMEX) will incur a 5% additional fee.

PRE-PAID/ADVANCED PAYMENT (For 10 Lessons in a Term~ 11% discount):
Year 11-12 (10 Lessons x 2 hours a week)= $1,513.00 a term per student
Year 9-10 (10 Lessons x 2 hours a week)= $1,424.00 a term per student
Year 7-8 (10 Lessons x 2 hours a week)= $1,335.00 a term per student
University Level (10 Lessons x 1.5 hours a week)=$1,134.75 a term per student

For larger groups, please give a message and I can come up with a reasonable quote.

ABN: 713 696 437 57 ( A tax invoice can be provided upon request)

I am available 3 days a week from:
Monday- N/A
Tuesday- N/A
Wednesday- N/A
Thursday- N/A
Friday - 6 AM to 11.45 PM
Saturday- 6 AM to 11.45 PM
Sunday - 6 AM to 11.45 PM

Student Discount

Special Offer - Introductory Offer- First lesson is $59/hour

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in New South Wales until 06-Dec-2019 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 30-Jun-2015 (updated profile on 01-Aug-2019)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Sydney
  • Home Visits within 50 kms
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

English (Primary, Secondary)
IELTS (Tertiary)

Maths

Algebra (Secondary)
Calculus (Secondary, Tertiary)
Further Maths (Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary, Tertiary)
Maths Methods (Secondary)
Statistics (Secondary, Tertiary)

Other Subjects

International Baccalaureate (IB) Mathematics, LaTeX, Mathematica, MATLAB, SAT, SPSS, STATA

"Without david my hsc dreams would have not been fullfield he is definitely the best maths tutor i have ever had and."

Nick    
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors