Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Mr Cian Channon Ling

 Melbourne - Glen Waverley

Maths and Science tutor for Primary and Secondary School students

Melbourne tutor in Chemistry, General Science, Maths, Maths Methods

I travel to these locations
Glen Waverley, Vermont South, Eastern Suburbs, Melbourne CBD, Carlton, Melbourne Uni

(2 student reviews)

Hello, my name is Cian Channon-Ling and I graduated from Virtual School Victoria last year, achieving an ATAR of 84.8. I currently have around two years of experience as a maths tutor.

I currently offer tutoring in mathematics for Secondary school students from Years 7-10 and I also offer tutoring for VCE Maths Methods (study score of 34) and recently for Science (Years 7-10) and VCE Chemistry (study score of 31). Currently, I'm available to tutor at any day of the week afterschool for weekdays and anytime on weekends. Primarily, I offer in-person tutoring or in the State Library of Victoria but if that's not possible, I'm also open to online tutoring through Zoom as well.

I also offer holiday tutoring during the Summer break so if you want a headstart in maths, then I'm more than happy for you to contact me so that we can organise a time then.

One of my biggest achievements was when my students have improved their confidence and grades in maths. For instance, when I first started with one of my students, he was really struggling with maths and didn't have any confidence at all with any of the work but now he's picking up mathematical concepts more naturally and his grades have since improved. He's also become more confident as well.

I really enjoy tutoring because it's really rewarding when the students that I tutor improve on certain concepts in my maths tutoring sessions, particularly those that they've struggled with before they received tutoring and seeing them grow as a person is also really rewarding to watch too. I also enjoy it because of the one-on-one connection that I get with my students and getting to know them on a personal level as well.

During my very first lesson with you, I will spend the lesson getting to know you and the best ways for me to tutor you. I will also get you to fill in a welcome sheet which explains what you need from a tutoring lesson and what your strengths and weaknesses are in a particular subject. That way, it's easier for me to go from there and figure out what I need to help you with and how to teach you.

The way I structure my lessons is to go through with my students what they're currently learning at school and then give them some worksheets based on a particular concept that's been taught to them at school. I use a step-by-step approach to help my students out when they come across a difficult mathematical concept or question, that way they understand how and why this specific concept is done in that way.

I also explain scientific concepts very well to students, and I go into great depth into explaining each concept in science. I'm also very empathetic and patient with my students, guiding them along when they're struggling and I encourage them to highlight important key words so that they can answer a question correctly more often.

I also give my students additional worksheets to complete for homework so that they can review what they've learnt in their tuition lessons and I'll provide revision notes and practice questions to prepare them for tests and exams too. I believe that success comes with failure along the way because you learn a lot from your mistakes and that pushes you towards the road of becoming successful.

Rates: The first lesson will be for free. After the first lesson, the lessons will cost $35 per hour whether it's on Zoom or in person. I offer 90 minute lessons as well for $50. No travel fee. I only do one-on-one tutoring, not group tutoring.

Where I tutor: For in-person tutoring, I tutor anywhere within 25 km from where I live (Glen Waverley), Melbourne CBD, and Melbourne Uni Library. For online tutoring, I tutor on Zoom.

I also hold a Working with Children's Check Card.

Thanks for reading my profile and if you would like tutoring from me, please give me a call or send me an email and I'll look forward to meeting you soon! :))

Contact

Experience

I've been tutoring around 13 students over the past 2 years and I've helped them improve their skills on difficult concepts and applying the step-by-step method to ensure that they understand how to tackle certain mathematical problems and questions. To ensure that they improve their knowledge and skills, I gave them practice questions to work on and encouraging them to revise before an upcoming test or exam. I've also been very supportive and patient with them and encouraging them to pull through, even when things get tricky.

Qualifications

I've completed the VCE last year in 2020 and I've completed Maths Methods, Specialist Maths, Chemistry, Physics and English. I've also obtained an ATAR of 94.8.

Rates

$35 per hour

Working With Children Check

Yes, I'm cleared to work with children in Victoria until 16-Apr-2025 (details available on request)

Gender

Male

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 05-Jan-2021 (updated profile on 13-May-2022)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Tutor's Place in Glen Waverley
  • Home Visits within 25 kms
  • Private Tuition

Maths

Maths (Secondary)
Maths Methods (Secondary)

Science

Chemistry (Secondary)
General Science (Secondary)

"Cian has really helped me improve my overall maths grades and has given me confidence in the classroom. Cian is enthusiastic and engaging and he communicates in a way that is easy to understand. Thank you Cian."

Vin    
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors