Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Dr Philip Lukins

 Melbourne - Melbourne

Melbourne tutor in Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Engineering, Industrial Technology, Philosophy, Statistics, English, Essay... (and more)

(1 student review)


I'm an educator with extensive teaching experience across a range of subjects, levels and educational settings. My greatest joy in teaching is to see students grow in their love of learning and through this to better themselves and achieve their goals and dreams.

The subjects that I mainly tutor are mathematics, physics and chemistry from year 7 high school through to university at all levels. However, I also tutor philosophy, engineering, industrial design, electronics, essay writing and remedial english where the need arises.

Each student is treated and assessed as an individual. This extends not only to the content and style of delivery of the tutorials but also to providing customised notes, exercises, worksheets, teaching aids and phone support where required.

My general approach is to focus on helping the student to gain a fundamental and in-
depth understanding of the subject material as the best outcomes flow from sound basic understanding. For much of my varied career, I have been an active and productive research scientist and I have consistently found that this research background provides many benefits for teaching including greater subject knowledge, awareness of new developments and an appreciation of the joy of discovery.

My previous students have benefited greatly from private tutoring with me including enhanced interest in learning and in their subjects, considerable and measurable improvement in their grades and were able (without exception) to achieve entry to the tertiary course of their choice.

My availability is typically Monday-Friday 3pm-9pm and Saturdays anytime.

The geographical area that I serve is relatively large, in the east, north-east, south-
east, far east and the hills.

*** Ask about my special CRASH COURSE IN CALCULUS which I offer at the end of the year (for year 11) and in the first half of the year (for year 12). This is free to my existing students.




I have more than 28 years of teaching experience. I was a university academic for
many years (lecturer, tutor, course coordinator). As well as this, I have ongoing
experience in course and curricullum development, training to industry and public
environmental education. I have more than 28 years experience in private tutoring for
VCE, IB, HSC (NSW), SAT, scholarships exams and various professional entrance


BSc (honours)
Subject areas: mathematics, physics, chemistry, philosophy
Working with children check


Standard rate: $70 for 1hr or $100 for 1.5hrs or $130 for 2hrs
Minimum of 1 hr per week
These rates include travel to your home.
Discounts are available for group sessions and for pre-paid blocks of sessions.




Joined TutorFinder on 03-Jan-2013 (updated profile on 08-Mar-2018)
Tutoring Services
  • Private & Group Tuition
  • Tutoring at My Place
  • Home Visits within 10 kms
  • Phone Help
Tutor's Place - Melbourne


English (Secondary)
Essay Writing (Secondary, Tertiary)
Reading (Secondary)


Maths (Secondary, Tertiary)
Statistics (Secondary, Tertiary)


Chemistry (Secondary, Tertiary)
Physics (Secondary, Tertiary)


Engineering (Secondary, Tertiary)
Industrial Technology (Secondary, Tertiary)

Social Science

Philosophy (Secondary, Tertiary)
Special Needs (Secondary)

"Very Happy with Mr. Lukins I would recommend him anytime. Will definitely reach out again."

Ari Golonek     
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region