Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Miss Thea Proctor

 Melbourne - Camberwell

French & Maths Tutor for Primary and Secondary students

Melbourne tutor in Maths, Maths Methods, French, Calculus, Algebra, Reading, Statistics, Further Maths, Geometry, English, Essay Writing, Creative Writing

I am available from around 4 on work days and all day on Sundays. I would prefer to meet over zoom or another form of video call because of the current Covid situation in Melbourne, however as the restrictions and conditions change I would be more than happy to reconsider this.

Although I would be more confident specialising in Maths and French, I am also willing to tutor in any primary school or secondary school content up to year 9, including English, Science, Art or anything else. I am currently at the end of year 11 completely two Unit 3 & 4 subjects (Maths Methods and French) and therefore will be able to help specifically in these two subjects. Please note that I have not completed the final exams yet and therefore cannot provide an overall grade, however have been doing very well in all the SACs for these subjects and if anyone has any questions regarding my knowledge of content and grades then I would be more than happy to discuss this.

Depending on what each student needs I will change my approach accordingly, whether this means having structured lessons that I plan out before hand or merely spending the sessions working through questions or homework that they may have. If it is indicated to me what the student needs to learn in a certain time period (either from the school or from parents/caregivers), I can easily ensure I have worksheets and resources prepared in order to accomodate for this content and if I am unsure of anything I will make sure I come prepared to each session having familiarised myself with the material. On top of this I would be more than happy to have a student or parent/caregiver send me any material or worksheets in advance either to check (if completed by the student) or to complete with the student during the next tutoring session.

Although I am quite young for a tutor I believe I will be able to really help younger students in their learning by forming connections with them. I have learnt through being a sports coach and a scout and cub leader that communication, especially with younger students, is incredibly important for one's education. I completely understand that being taught by someone a lot older than you or with whom you can't associate with can be very difficult. It is because of this that by being closer to their age I would hope to be able to build a sense of understanding and trust between one another so that I can help them to my full extent.

I am happy to discuss and negotiate any of this including price, availability and subjects, so please don't be afraid to contact me with any questions. The best way to contact me would either be by phone (0403 122 035) or email (thea.proctor@icloud.com) and I should respond the same day. Thank you so much.

Thea Proctor

Contact

Experience

For a few months in 2020 I had the chance to work online with a group called the 'Kids Space in Yarra Homework Club Mentor Program'. I met online with them once a week helping different students with their homework. The students varied greatly in age and the subjects and content was different for everyone, however I very much enjoyed it and was able to help everyone that I spoke to. Other than this however I haven't had any other tutoring experience yet other than helping younger siblings and friends.

Qualifications

I am currently finishing VCE Maths Methods and VCE French. I have been learning French since I was born in a French speaking region of Canada. I went to a bilingual primary school and did half a day everyday in French so will easily be able to help younger students wanting to build the foundations for the language. As well as this I will be able to help year 7-9 students with French, whether oral, comprehension or grammar and writing. In regards to maths I have been in the advanced maths program at school since I began and will be completely maths methods in November.

Rates

$40 per hour

Student Discount

Mention that you found this advertisement on Tutor Finder and you will receive your first lesson for half the normal hourly rate ($20 instead of $40).

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined Tutor Finder on 16-Sep-2021 (updated profile on 16-Oct-2021)
Tutoring Location
  • Online Tutoring
  • Phone Help
  • Private & Group Tuition

English

Creative Writing (Primary)
English (Primary)
Essay Writing (Primary)
Reading (Primary)

Maths

Algebra (Primary, Secondary)
Calculus (Primary, Secondary)
Further Maths (Primary)
Geometry (Primary, Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary)
Maths Methods (Primary, Secondary)
Statistics (Primary, Secondary)

Language

French (Introduction, Intermediate)
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Profile
  • Homepage
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors