Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Ms Raquel Suter - North Sydney, Sydney

Overall rating of 4.8 stars based on 78 reviews
These ratings are based on the results of a survey where students were asked to provide an honest assessment of their experience with this tutor.
Knowledge
100%
Extensive understanding of the subject
Communication
97%
Ability to communicate concepts clearly
Punctuality
98%
Always on time, notified student if unable to attend a lesson
Availability
97%
Available at a convenient time and location.
Attitude
99%
Enthusiastic, interested, patient, and courteous
Preparation
96%
Came prepared with lessons and activities
Improvement
98%
Helped student to improve in subject
Value for money
97%
Provided value for money lessons

Overall Rating 4.8

Poor Fair Adequate Good Excellent

Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Paulo 3.5 5 4 4 4 4 3 4 2
Spanish 3 14-08-2019
Raquel is good with helping you improve your Spanish language skills, with a very good grasp of how the language works. Best to see her when you do have a basic vocabulary and verbs down.

Duncan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 10 12-03-2019
I decided to have lessons with Raquel in preparation for taking the C1 DELE exam later this year. So far, the experience has been extremely positive and in the space of about two months my spoken Spanish has improved considerably. Raquel is very engaging, patient and personable, with a great sense of humour. She has also been very accommodating in terms of lesson changes. I will continue to use her in the future.

Sam 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 50 11-12-2018
Raquel has been a wonderful teacher and a great friend. Over the last several years I have really enjoyed our lessons, she has helped me develop my love for the Spanish language and culture.

Julie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish HSC 60 12-11-2018
My son has been having Spanish tutoring with Raquel for over the past year or so alongside the HSC Spanish Beginners Distance course (offered by the NSW School of Languages.) Not having a face to face teacher each week with a distance course, Raquel has been invaluable in assisting him with listening, speaking & practicing exercises throughout the year so as to keep up with the demands of the curriculum. Leading up to exams, the practicing of past papers and timely provision of feedback has been of significant help. Raquel is well organised, friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating. I am sure he will miss her sessions now that he is finished, but will no doubt be back in touch, given he is continuing Spanish next year at university level. Thank You Raquel for all your help to make this possible!

Sara 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 24 10-11-2018
An amazing tutor who helped me immensely in my last couple of months in IB Spanish ab initio. She quickly picked up on what I struggled with in the first couple of lessons and worked with me as I overcame it. She guided me to understanding the the grammar behind everything and played a big role in my improvement. I’m so thankful for making the decision to get tutoring lessons from her as she is an excellent tutor who I’ll definitely message for more lessons if I continue learning Spanish in University! I definitely recommend her, you won’t regret it!

Bangshuo 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish Ab Initio 5 10-11-2018
Fantastic, could not have done IB Spanish without her help.

Conor 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
Spanish 35 22-09-2018
Great teacher, been such a great help with Spanish and I have been able to improve so much thanks to her. Would strongly recommend if you need help with Spanish.

Louise 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Spanish 5 20-09-2018
Raquel has a lovely outgoing personality and I enjoyed my classes with her has she spoke mostly in Spanish so my progress was fast.

Suzanne 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 10 17-09-2018
I highly recommend Raquel as a Spanish teacher. She is an excellent teacher. I felt relaxed and learnt so much from her. Very happy to give top scores on the following 8 point review🙂

Aeriel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 5 16-09-2018
Raquel is an absolutely knowledgable and wise tutor with very solid and profound language and culture knowledge in Spanish!!! Will definitely continue the lesson with her and really grateful to have her as a guide alongside with my spanish studies!

Luke 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 52 10-08-2018
I've been having one-on-one Spanish tutoring with Raquel for over a year now. Raquel comes into my workplace in the city every week for one hour. I can't be any happier with Raquel or my progress. Over the last year I have moved from basic phrases and words to putting full sentences together in multiple tenses, and almost half of my class is now just a casual conversation in basic Spanish. The class itself is completely unstructured, which is what I like. After the first few lessons she assesses what style of class would suit, and unstructured conversations suited me well. Raquel also brings along various written activities which we work through together for around 30 mins. Raquel is extremely flexible, and many times I've had to move my class later in the week to accommodate work. She also messages fun Spanish things that are happening in Sydney. Fun, friendly- would definitely recommend.

Callum 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
IB Spanish Tutoring 25 04-08-2018
Raquel is a patient, knowledgeable tutor who has helped me tremendously improve my Spanish ability, as an IB Spanish ab initio student. Her passion for teaching Spanish is infectious, and I have become more motivated in the subject, so much that I intend to study in Spain in the future. Her commitment to classes and constant enthusiasm makes lessons fun and rewarding. Her offering of Skype sessions has been hugely convenient for me, allowing flexible scheduling of lessons. I would highly recommend Raquel to all other IB Spanish students.

Fiona 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 30 15-06-2018
I started tutoring with Raquel at the beginning of the year for HSC Spanish. I enrolled in the HSC Spanish subject at my school very late, and so I had to do all the Preliminary Spanish (Year 11) and catch up on the HSC Spanish in a very short amount of time, in order to be at the same level as my cohort. I was very stressed at the time, but as soon as I contacted Raquel r.e tutoring, she ensured me that it was possible to do and she could help. She is an amazing teacher. She is incredibly patient, informative, and explains different things about the language so it is much easier to understand. In no time at all she helped me catch up on all of the work, and I have been very happy with my results for my HSC tests. I definitely recommend her for other HSC students, IB students, or anyone who wants to learn Spanish!

Anna 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 50 06-06-2018
Raquel has somehow managed to completely transform my Spanish. I started at the bottom of my class, and am now so happy being within the top 3. She is a miracle worker and extremely dedicated to her students. If you are studying the IB in particular, invest in Raquel's teaching, you will not be sorry!

Daniel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 18 31-05-2018
Great tutor. Helps me improve and pick upon both grammar and vocabulary, and helped me improve in Spanish. From my own experience, she is willing to also connect with your Spanish teacher in your school, making it also easier to also improve on Spanish tought in your school. Raquel is energetic, kind and is willing to help you whenever you are stuck.

Quinn 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 4 5 5
Inspirational Teacher 65 13-05-2018
I have had Raquel for over a year now, and I have improved in my Spanish by leaps and bounds because of her. She is incredibly supportive and very inspiring too those wanting to learn the language.

Francisca 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish accent 4 21-04-2018
I would highly recommend Raquel. She was fantastic and a huge help to me in preparation for an audition I had. Raquel went above and beyond and gave up her time with very little notice.

Alex 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish Ab Initio 20 14-04-2018
Raquel is an excellent tutor who has provided me with solid teaching for my Spanish Ab Initio IB course. Raquel is always prepared for classes, and provides cohesive and coherent teaching to her students. Raquel has helped me tremendously in my preparation for my studies, and has helped me grasp Spanish easily. I would recommend Raquel as a tutor, especially for IB/HSC studies.

Teah 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish Ab Initio 61 05-01-2018
Raquel is honestly a member of the Devine - she is really really patient when you need her to be. I would honestly not have passed without her assistance. She really ensures that you understand the concepts, not just learning patterns etc so you pass - as a result of sessions with her, I genuinely enjoy Spanish now. I intend on studying Spanish at Uni because I genuinely believe that its a skill important to have. Raquel's emphasis that she places on the verb conjugations and the simplicity with which she explains concepts greatly contributes to the students success. I genuinely think that the price of the sessions is reasonable, considering the assistance and the level to which she prepares and is prepared to help you. One thing I found immensely beneficial was the fact that I was able to contact her by Skype. Overall a wonderful intelligent woman and a wonderful tutor.

Mohammad 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 40 09-12-2017
Miss Raquel is a really good tutor for those interested in understanding the fundamentals of the Spanish language. She teaches in a friendly and welcoming setting perfect for students who might feel intimated about learning a new language.She is also very Patient as a tutor. I join my voice to the other reviews up here and would highly recommend her for people who want to learn Spanish, or have some understanding of it and want to improve further.

Rachel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 50 31-10-2017
Raquel has inspired my learning and passion for Spain and the Spanish language. She always makes an effort with her unique professional lesson planning that is best suited for my level of knowledge in Spanish. Raquel is such a fantastic tutor, I highly recommend her to anyone who would like to learn the language in a fun and enjoyable way.

Annabel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 13 28-10-2017
Raquel has helped me immensely with learning Spanish for the IB. She has allowed me to grasp a wide understanding of the language and grammar structures, which I think has helped me a lot in preparing for my exams. She has been very encouraging with my studies, which has allowed me to gain more confidence in learning the language. I have definitely noticed a huge improvement in my Spanish since beginning lessons with Raquel, and I recommend her as a tutor for anyone wishing to learn Spanish. :)

Greta 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 21 14-10-2017
Very enthusiastic and easy to get along with which makes the sessions engaging. Improved my Spanish a lot. Thanks Raquel!

Francelina 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 40 13-10-2017
Raquel has been amazing at helping me gain greater knowledge and understanding of my subject Spanish Ab initio. Because I am studying the IB I found it extremely hard to find a tutor who had knowledge of this course, however, Raquel fit this criteria and was also able to help me with concepts I was confused about and teach me new content relatively easily. I am very glad that I found Raquel, as she has helped me greatly since starting my IB diploma.

Ella 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 25 13-09-2017
Raquel is a great Spanish tutor who has improved my Spanish immeasurable and been key to my success as a Spanish ab initio IB student, would highly recommend!

Phoebe 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 4 5 4
Spanish 10 12-09-2017
So friendly, lots of resources. It's great because we can have a conversation and only after do I realise how much I've been able to say (in Spanish) from her help!

Hannah 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 40 04-09-2017
I am very grateful to Raquel and her tutoring me in Spanish, she has improved my speaking and grammar as well as helped me be more comfortable and happy to take risks.

Ian 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Daughter 40 31-08-2017
I am a parent of an IB student who is obviously doing Spanish as her chosen language. A different language does not come easy, requires a huge, daily commitment for the two year duration of the IB course. Attending school, going to classes, the constant pressure of all the subjects, deadlines etc. limits the ability to focus on any chosen language enough. The teacher at school is under pressure, no time for individuals. That's where Raquel comes in.....a very experienced, committed individual who can and does help on all levels. My daughter would struggle to pass this subject if totally reliant on her school teacher. She has passed her trials, I'm happy. Raquel is responsive and available or gives you alternatives. I found her through past students who all spoke highly of her. Raquel develops a relation with her student, my daughter has no hesitation at seeing her on a weekly basis. Personally, I think her fee is more than reasonable and value for money. I don't recommend anything! but if asked, Spanish! I would have no hesitation in recommending Raquel.

Max 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 35 04-07-2017
Raquel adapts her teaching style to suit the style of learning of her students so that she maximises the learning experience. She is also very good at monitoring how tired or not I am in classes and then changes the way she teaches me/what she is teaching me to ensure I remain engaged if she realises I am tired. Raquel is not too serious and I always enjoy my classes with her! My Spanish has improved dramatically under her tutelage.

Michael 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 198 28-06-2017
Before I went to Raquel's lessons, I was learning Spanish only at school. And I was doing alright yet forgetting some things they taught us in class. but with Raquel, my knowledge of and love for Spanish excelled. She is calm and patient. And she teaches in a variety of ways using worksheets with grammar, vocabulary and questions to talking about a variety of topics in Spanish. Also thanks to her I would like to study in a university in Spain.

Grant 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Finally I am learning Spanish! 30 25-06-2017
I have been studying Spanish using various methods off and on for a number of years. While I learnt small amounts with each attempt I was still missing a clear understanding of the foundations of Spanish. Since starting with Raquel I have thoroughly enjoyed my time truly learning and understanding these essential foundations that have now allowed me to not only write in but converse in Spanish with confidence. Raquel brings a knowledge beyond the grammar and pronunciation to how the language really influences the culture and how to connect with Spanish speakers. I would thoroughly recommend working with Raquel if you are looking to learn Spanish from a professional, articulate teacher who can impart her knowledge using simple but effective ways go no further!

Mary-Elizabeth 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 5 16-05-2017
We were looking for someone available on the weekends as it was too much to study after school. Raquel is so very positive and really helped with confidence, our son's teacher commented on how much improved he is and his marks reflect this.

Imogen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 30 09-05-2017
Raquel is honestly the best Spanish teacher who i've ever had, i study IB abintio Spanish and have never been confident in languages but Raquel is so organised, clear, patient and generally absolutely lovely to work with in order to improve my Spanish skills. She's very organised and has taught the IB curriculum many times before which is wonderful as she is able to provide practice paper and curriculum-specific guidance which is just beyond useful. If you have specific questions or papers to go through or just general guidance in any areas of the language she is able to help you so much. Throughout my time with Raquel my grades have improved ten fold (from getting a 4/7 to a 6 or 7 in each exam). I recommend Raquel to all girls at my school and anyone studying Spanish at any level!

Quincy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
One of a kind Spanish teacher! 40 01-05-2017
I have been studying with Raquel for almost a year to prepare for my DELE exam and my Spanish has improved greatly. Raquel is very flexible, friendly and especially has a very good way of explaining complex words and grammar points. She knows where your strength and weakness are and will prepare specific lessons and exercise to suit you. Apart from having lessons, we also go to see Spanish movies at the Spanish film festival. I would strongly recommend anyone at any age, at any Spanish level, to take private lessons with Raquel.

Leigh S 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 4 4
Spanish 15 17-03-2017
Very good with grammar improvement. I really enjoyed the classes. The time went very quickly

Ben 4.5 5 5 4 5 5 4 4 4
Spanish 30 16-02-2017
Raquel is a very knowledgeable, competent and friendly Spanish teacher. I have been speaking Spanish for years at a reasonably high level, but she has helped (and continues to help) to take my Spanish to the next level. Absolutely recommend her!

Monica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 20 01-02-2017
Raquel was extremely helpful in explaining Spanish grammar to me and I quickly felt much more in control in of the subject I was previously falling behind in. After each lesson I felt much more positive towards the subject, as Raquel was very good at explaining things in a way that was clear for me to understand. I went from a grade 4 to a grade 6 in IB Spanish within a semester from starting weekly lessons with Raquel.

John R 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 18 01-02-2017
Raquel was very enthusiastic and certainly helped my Spanish. At times it was very challenging but you don't learn unless you are challenged. I would certainly recommend her to assist those students who are able to speak and understand some Spanish. The lessons were a mix of grammatical exercises and discussions in Spanish.

Jemma 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 20 30-12-2016
Raquel es fantstico. She helped me improve my Spanish every week for my HSC.

Sayler A 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Spanish 40 10-12-2016
I cannot thank Raquel enough for her tutoring! I have just finished my International Baccalaureate Diploma and gotten into university, and I doubt I would have gotten the marks for this if I hadn't gone to Raquel. She is energetic, personable and forgiving of mistakes in a way that my teacher definitely wasn't. I felt like I was able to ask questions, and I always left a lesson with a feeling of accomplishment. She is great at knowing what you need to study in order to get by if you haven't been consistent with your studies and exams are coming up (though I would recommend having lessons with her at the start of your language study as she can really enhance your learning). Her lessons were structured, particularly in the beginning, though flexible depending on your needs. Although I often went to her apartment for face-to- face tutoring, she also has the option of Skype which was really useful during my exam period. I would recommend booking in advance as she has quite a busy schedule. I really cannot recommend Raquel enough! If you feel like you are struggling or just want to enhance your learning, I recommend her wholeheartedly.

Lena M 4.5 5 4 5 5 4 4 5 4
Spanish 100 29-11-2016
I have just finished the IB and studied ab initio (beginners) Spanish. Raquel was really helpful in providing one-on-one tutoring that is so important in learning languages. Having time to practice speaking directly was really useful, and Raquel could identify the areas where I needed to practice more and we could focus on them. A great tutor!

Adrienne 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 23 27-11-2016
I don't find learning a language easy but with Raquel my progress has been easier. Her technique differs from most language textbooks and, for me, this has been the key to my improvement. She is able to communicate key concepts in a practical and user-friendly way and she breaks down difficult ones into easy to digest chunks. Her teaching style is focused on you learning the language in the most useful way. If you're bored with needless examples of ordering food in a restaurant or booking a hotel room then this is the teacher for you. She combines this skill with endless patience and a love of language and learning. She also makes sure to tailor her sessions to the needs of the student. I would recommend her to students of all ages and levels.

Natasha B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 16 21-10-2016
Raquel was incredibly helpful in helping me to improve my Spanish. She was always prepared with relevant and helpful resources, punctual, and willing to put in a lot of work to help me understand new concepts. I could not recommend Raquel highly enough as a Spanish tutor, as she is highly professional and a very effective teacher.

Maris 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Spanish 20 20-09-2016
Very clear with concepts and very passionate about the language - was with her for 2 years and came first in Spanish exams as a result!

Danielle R 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Beginner Spanish 11 12-09-2016
I have been learning Spanish for 11 months as a hobby (in group classes in a school) but after I completed level 3, my test results were not great so i sought out a private tutor instead. When I contacted Raquel she responded the next day introducing herself and detailing what her qualifications were which I found very helpful as most other tutors I contacted didn't provide much detail. I spent 4 months being tutored by Raquel and I she was very patient and took the time to explain and teach me things me that I had struggled to understand in my group classes and was very encouraging. My understanding of Spanish grammar/vocabulary has improved a lot since having lessons with Raquel and I would highly recommend her as a tutor. The reason I stopped my lessons was due to my work re-locating away from the city and is now too far for me to travel.

Clare 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 60 25-08-2016
I've been having lessons with Raquel for the past year and a half to help with my spanish ab initio IB course in school. Raquel not only significantly helped me develop my spanish, she also helped me expand my love of languages! Raquel is a very enthusiastic and engaging teacher who helped me prepare for all my major exams. She helped me reach a level of spanish I never thought would be possible in the short period of time I've studied it. I'm not quite sure what I would have done without her help!

Sarah F 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
IB Spanish ab initio 10 11-07-2016
Raquel is the best Spanish tutor you could ask for! She helped me prepare for my oral examination for the IB Spanish ab initio course, encouraging and teaching me to use a variety of tenses and structures and most of all become confident with my speaking while doing so. Having only had 10 lessons with her, I've gone from not knowing the difference between past tenses - preterite and imperfect - to being able to use them confidently and almost fluently (relative to my level of experience). She also helped me to become confident with the subjunctive and future, probably taking me from an IB grade 5/7 to a 7/7. She challenged me to communicate in Spanish many things that I didn't think I could and helped me to become so confident for my upcoming examination. More than anything else though, she helped me to love the Spanish language! Definitely look into getting lessons with her if you're anything from a beginner to advanced, she's wonderful!

Louise M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 80 24-06-2016
Raquel has tutored me quite regularly for the past 4 years and has been an outstanding tutor. She is patient, organised and as a journalist, she is extremely knowledgeable across many subject areas and areas of conversational interest. I was quite nervous to begin with - learning a new language in my 50's - however Raquel's style of teaching builds confidence quickly. So much so that I have now commenced university studies in Spanish and received a High Distinction in my first semester. This is due in no small part to the solid foundations in Spanish that Raquel has provided through her tutoring and she deserves to share in my success. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Raquel as tutor of Spanish. Muchas gracias Raquel por todo!

Milena 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 200 14-05-2016
Raquel tutored me in Spanish for the last 4 years. When I first started lessons, I had absolutely no prior knowledge of the language. However, within a very short period of time, Raquel helped immensely with my confidence in speaking, reading and writing, and furthered my understanding of the culture. I attended one lesson per week, and quickly found that each coming lesson was far easier than the last. Her teaching style was both structured and flexible. Raquel knew exactly where I struggled most, and was very patient in the way she pushed a particular concept until I understood it perfectly. In this way, she prepared me very well for several DELE exams, which are internationally recognised and are an accomplishment i am very proud of, but could not have achieved without her help. She does a fantastic job in structuring lessons according to individual needs and abilities, and therefore ensures continuous improvement. Raquel is also always well prepared, always punctual, and is often flexible in organising a set time for lessons. I would definitely recommend Raquel to anyone looking to either learn, or improve their Spanish skills. With her help, I am now able to go over to Spain and speak comfortably and confidently with people native to Spain. Gracias, Raquel!!!

Jasmine 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 45 02-04-2016
Raquel is an excellent tutor who has helped me through the first and second year of my IB Spanish ab initio course. Raquel has greatly assisted me in speaking, writing, listening, grammar and pronunciation through each well-prepared and tailored lesson. Her enthusiasm, encouragement and kindness always makes each lesson lively and thoroughly enjoyable. Raquel has helped me revise and prepare for my upcoming exams through our conversations on a wide range of topics, and through IB past paper questions. Over the time I have been with Raquel, my confidence has improved, I have been able to learn Spanish in a way that is clear and easy to understand, and I have been able to learn about Spanish culture, which is a key component in the IB written assignment. I cannot wait to visit Spain when I finish school and to apply the skills I have learnt. Thank you so much for all of your help!

Sam S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 6 16-12-2015
Raquel, you are a great Spanish tutor. Thank you Sam

Jessica 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Journalism 50 25-10-2015
Raquel has been such a lifesaver with my Spanish! I have been studying journalism and International Studies at UTS and this was my first time doing a language. I really struggled with how they taught Spanish at Uni and the pace at which we went through concepts and grammar and found myself unable to keep up. Raquel managed to explain everything in such simple and basic terms that allowed me to really grasp the grammar techniques and I managed to catch up to my class in no time. Not only this but each lesson is always enjoyable and fun and I really love going to Raquel, it is something to look forward to. My Spanish has improved considerably and Raquel has also helped me with pronunciation and speaking, preparing me for a year of exchange to Spain. Muchas gracias Raquel!

Asith H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 25 07-09-2015
I started learning Spanish at the end of last year with Raquel. I started with no knowledge whatsoever of the subject. I honestly cannot fault her teaching. Over just a few months of weekly lessons I found myself improving incredibly quickly. Her teaching style is very active, which keeps the lesson interesting and makes it very easy to keep focused. As she is experienced, she notified me that as the months went by, I would slowly find it more difficult to grasp the more advanced concepts of the language, and in doing so, prepared me well for the slight difficulties I faced in a few areas of the subject. As a teacher, she does a fantastic job of motivating you to continue practicing as much as you can, and is also very understanding of how busy you may be, and as a result, provides great tips on small ways to maintain your current understanding of the language. In terms of preparation, she is always on time, frequently available on short notice, and provides many worksheets, making it very easy for the student. I highly recommend Raquel to anyone who is looking to learn Spanish.

Leah 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 4 5 4
Spanish 200 07-09-2015
Raquel has been my Spanish tutor almost every week for at least 4 years. I atteneded Instituto Cervantes for over a year before and found group classes didn't work for me. Raquel is patient and open and i feel comfortable making and learning from my mistakes with her quidance. She is always able to help me better understand what i have been studying during the week. I learn as she corrects me and goes further into depth during our converstations. I am not a stuctured learner and she works with my interests and questions. My confidence has grown exponentially since i have been her student.

Lisa B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 60 03-08-2015
I have been taking Spanish conversation classes with Raquel since March 2014 and have no hesitation in recommending her as a tutor. She's very flexible and will tailor your lessons to suit your needs. We have conversations on broad range of topics often based on interesting articles that she sources. She's friendly and encouraging and is able to explain Spanish vocabulary and grammar clearly and in a way that is easy to understand. She's helped me improve my vocabulary, pronunciation and confidence in speaking and listening to Spanish.

Filiz G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 120 29-07-2015
I have been receiving Spanish lessons from Raquel for the last 3 years or so and can honestly say getting her as my private tutor has helped me progress so much. I started learning in a Spanish school but soon came to a point where I stopped making progress. Raquel has been a wonderful tutor as she provides a friendly, no pressure environment where you feel comfortable to learn. She is very patient and she structures her lessons based on the student (sometimes more formal lessons going through exercises, sometimes conversation practice - it's all up to you). Also she will speak Spanish to you (and encourage you to do the same) even right from the start which is so good as you learn so much without even realising. Thanks to Raquel I'm now at the point where I can understand most things and can carry on conversations with Spanish speakers. I even have a couple of friends who I can communicate with who don't speak any English! I have been back to Spain twice since and the locals were surprised and impressed with my Spanish which was extremely satisfying, and on my most recent trip my Spanish came in so handy. I would recommend Raquel to anyone who is interested in improving their conversational Spanish.

Kathryn R 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Subject 20 05-07-2015
I would highly recommend Raquel. She taught both myself and my 14 year-old daughter and was engaging, fun to be with and clear in her explanations. We both really enjoyed and benefitted from our lessons with Raquel.

Christopher N 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 50 21-06-2015
Raquel is very approachable articulate enthusiastic pleasant and flexible and willing to provide "out of hours" suggestions and corrections to any work or matters discussed. Highly recommended.

Henry E 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 200 24-03-2015
Fantastic tutor, very knowledgeable, provided clear and easy to understand details regarding concepts of the language. I studied Spanish with Raquel for nearly 4 years. I found her teaching style to be very easy to understand, comprehensive and very supportive in terms of learning. I know that Raquel adopts her style of teach for each particular individual. For me personally, I need to understand the mechanics of language and treated the learning process as formulaic, that's the way I learn. I found that Raquel fully understood the way that I learned and therefore adapted her classes to suit me whilst still allowing for me to extend myself and develop. Without hesitation I would recommend her. I understand that the 'Eight point review' system that accompanies this evaluation is completely arbitrary but with all sincerity I would without a second thought award 5/5 in all the areas mentioned. If you're looking for an extremely knowledgeable teacher that can tailor their teach style to suit your own way of learning, then look no further.

Kerrie D 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Spanish Tutor, Raquel Suter 6 21-03-2015
Raquel was a wonderful tutor; very organised with well structured lessons. As a new student to Spanish, I found Raquel to be patient, positive and good fun which made the hour pass quickly. Raquel provided exercises and printed handouts, which were good for homework and refresher info. We also practiced reading outloud and conversation, to work on pronunciation. I would highly recommend Raquel.

Joel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Raquel Suter 10 01-03-2015
Raquel is absolutely fantastic. She is organised, patient and very good at focusing and keeping a student focused on core grammar principals. It is such a helpful tutoring style and gave me a lot of confidence knowing my learning foundation was solid. I cannot recommend her highly enough.

Jackie 4.0 5 4 2 4 5 4 5 4
Feed back 7 27-02-2015
She has a very good way of explaining grammar and is quick to pick what problems the student is having. She is definetely a very good teacher. Correcting the home work at home will save time during class which can be used for further teaching as sometimes the entire class is taken up by correction of homework.

Carmen B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 1 22-02-2015
Raquel is a fantastic Spanish teacher who makes learning the language easy and fun. I had tried studying Spanish with another teacher prior and was having troubles grasping the language (I'm a person without a languages ear). Raquel makes lessons fun, interesting and tailors them to her students and I can now travel in Spanish speaking countries and communicate without a problem. My Spanish lesson is a massive highlight in my week! She is warm, friendly, knowledgeable and interesting. You won't regret starting lessons with her! :)

Mike A 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
SPANISH 25 16-02-2015
Great Teacher. She was able to teach me Spanish in a way my brain learned things. I did not learn through standard text book and set lesson guides rather through speaking about things I was interested in or learning about. This flexible approach helped me learn at a much faster rate with limited time. I did not do the homework, I did not practice, I only learnt the language during my weekly lesson yet I still was able to learn to speak at a level which was competent enough for me to have a conversation with someone who spoke Spanish. She also tailored our lessons to the topics appropriate for my reason to learn the language. On first meeting her I was learning Spanish for business in Central America, even though she is from Madrid I was still taught the South American Spanish dialect which was important when different words mean different things over there. After a break from lessons I contacted Raquel again to brush up on my skills, this time needing to learn Spanish to use in Spain. Again she was accommodating to my needs, flexible with my busy work schedule and always eager to help. Highly recommend Raquel for any level of Spanish yo wish to learn...

Mike 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 4 5 5
Spanish 50 21-01-2015
I practiced Spanish with Raquel for just over 1 year. She is an absolutely fantastic teacher that truly understands how to bring someone with little/no Spanish experience to up to speed very quickly. Raquel took the time to find a style of learning that best suited my ability and development. I highly recommend her and I am looking forward to continuing classes with her

Steve W 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Fantastic!The real deal 14 20-01-2015
Raquel is a perfect match for anyone who is serious about learning Spanish. Although I'd had some earlier tuition in the UK, the difference here is that you learn with structure and a solid foundation. Raquel inspires confidence and enjoyment - for me, the key thing required to break through the language barrier and speaking fluently. The homework assignments are thoughtfully prepared and I find that because I'm prepared to put the time and work in, Raquel rewards me by encouraging me in class to experiment and try things out. The sessions are really flexible while remaining planned and structured. Some weeks we discuss and explore subjects of common interest - great for expanding your vocabulary quickly. Other times we work through grammar, structure and more formal aspects. Above all it's lots of fun, filled with laughter and easy conversation. 3 months in and I'm able to have a mini conversation. Excellent!!!

Sophie B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 45 10-12-2014
Raquel's expertise guided me through the second year of my IB spanish ab initio course, with greater confidence. The one crucial thing, that I found that set Raquel apart from previous tutors that I had, was the fact that she was constantly prepared for class, and was able to provide structure to a wide variety of topics. I enjoyed the fact that within lessons, we took time to do different things. For example, when preparing for the oral exam, we practiced conversing about everyday topics, talking about objects within a picture and the location of them. This was already set criteria that was needed, but Raquel, also gave me some tips extending my vocabulary and emphasising other tenses. Overall, Raquel's guidance and tutelage helped me grasp the concepts of spanish easily, especially objective direct and indirect pronouns. Her constant patience and friendliness helped my confidence and love for the language grow. Thank you so much for all your help.

Jasmin 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 5 07-12-2014
I am studying at Sydney Uni in Spanish level 2 and Raquel helped me achieve a great mark in a minimal amount of time! She was always helpful, had lots of resources and overall was a great tutor!

Harrison M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Review 25 15-10-2014
Truly a fantastic teacher of the Spanish language, so friendly, passionate and eager to help me learn inside and outside the classroom, extending our communications to email and sms whenever i needed help with spanish work outside lesson times. I am a high school student learning spanish for HSC spanish beginners, and Raquel enabled me to reach beyond what i was expected to achieve in my course recquirements. I have now realised that learning a language was one of my favourite achievements in life, and I cannot wait to apply my skills in the Spanish/Latin American world. Thank you very much Raquel.

James B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 60 11-10-2014
Raquel tutired my daughter in IB Spanis for eigtheen months. Raquel was an outstanding tutor in all aspects - knowledgeable, patient, a good coach and acheived great results. I would highly recommend Raquel to any prospective student or parent of student. James Brindley

Luka 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 4 4 5
Spanish 10 28-09-2014
Raquel is a passionate and dynamic teacher. She is very engaging and enthusiastic about language and her understanding of grammar is excellent, as well her ability to provide cultural context. Raquel tailor-made lessons and homework to suit my level and my aims with the language. I was very busy with work and she was able to accommodate my changing schedule at short notice so I could attend when and as I needed. I highly recommend her if you want a focused and passionate teacher.

Steve J 4.5 5 4 4 4 5 5 5 4
Spanish Language 5 11-09-2014
Raquel has assisted me in improving my spanish language pronunciation and grammar as well as encouraging me in conversation to expand my vocabulary. I wanted to learn more spanish to assist me at work as well so we held business and social conversations. Raquel is always very prepared for each lesson and can alter her teaching style depending on how/what the student wants to learn, which may be different from lesson to lesson as in my case. She always asks what you want to do as well as having a plan to follow. I would have no hesitation in recommending Raquel as she is very personable and explains things very well.

David & 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 15 12-06-2014
Raquel was enthusiastic and encouraging - an excellent tutor. Our lessons were great preparation for our trip to South America. We would recommend Raquel to anyone wanting to learn or improve their Spanish.

Tony 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 12 20-02-2014
Raquel is an excellent tutor who prepares well for lessons and always keeps them lively and fun. You will never find a more enjoyable way to learn another language and you will be speaking basic Spanish sentences in no time. While a native of Madrid, Raquel is well informed on all South American countries and the small differences between the Spanish used in each. Raquel combines numerous, interesting cultural insights into her language instruction to prepare you for your eventual interaction with native speakers. Whether going to Spain or South America, I cannot recommend Raquel too highly.

David K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Outstanding tutor 30 14-02-2014
I went to Raquel for assistance in preparing for the exam Diploma de Espanol como Lengua Extranjera (Diploma of Spanish as a Foreign Language), level C1. This is an advanced level and Raquel's help during my preparation was fantastic. Obviously it is what one would expect from a professional journalist, but at the same time Raquel was extremely patient, and explained things very well to me. Also, she didn't show any frustration at all when I made the same mistake more than once - she would only give positive encouragement. Raquel was very flexible with times for lessons, and I had lessons both at her home and via Skype. Both worked extremely well. On the day of my exam, Raquel came to have lunch with me during one of the exam breaks, and I really felt like I had a "partner" for the exam, and that I was not doing it alone. I could not recommend Raquel more highly. While I was doing an advanced level, I have no doubt she would be great for beginners and intermediate levels as well, because she is such a lovely person and always offered positive reenfocement, no matter what the gravity or frequency of mistakes! I now live in South America so I can't go to Raquel any more, but I would certainly be continuing lessons with her if I still lived in Sydney.

Louise M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 10 06-01-2014
Raquel is a great tutor - I thoroughly enjoyed my lessons with her and my Spanish skills improved considerably. I have no hesitation in recommending her - thank you again, Raquel!

Jason K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
AAA+++ Spanish Tutor! 50 08-11-2013
Fantastic Tutor. I would recommend Raquel to anyone wanting to learn correct, great and useable Spanish. AAA+++

Bridget S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Spanish 20 18-09-2012
Raquel is an amazing tutor, I would recommend her to anyone wanting to learn not only the language but about spanish culture also. She is extremely patient and wonderful to be around. My family and me were taking private lesson and they were the highlight of our week. Brilliant teacher, 10/10!

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors