Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Dr Erika Hild -  Sydney - Castle Hill

Overall rating of 4.9 stars based on 37 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Daniel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 22 22-08-2019
I could not recommend Erika more highly! I had 22 lessons with Erika to prepare for German language exams for a humanities PhD at Yale University. This required Erika developing a specialised programme that focussed intensively on reading skills. She was exceptionally helpful when contextualising the learning materials and guiding me through translation exercises. Erika immediately identified my specific learning needs and tailored our lessons appropriately, and her experience, professionalism and dedication were always apparent. Her warm and friendly manner also made lessons a delight. You won’t regret studying with Erika!

Ellen 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 49 01-08-2018
Erika is an awesome tutor! She is the best of the best! I've learnt more from Erika than any other German course I've done - that includes studying German in Germany and Goethe-Institut! She is dedicated, highly knowledgeable and there is never a boring moment in class. I highly recommend Erika if you want to bring your German to the next level!

Alana 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
HSC German Continuers, HSC Ger 56 07-11-2017
Over the months, my understanding of German grammar and vocabulary and my ability to formulate ideas and arguments improved dramatically. This was reflected in the evident rise in marks and rankings, so that I was able to maintain a steady 2nd place, which I had previously not been able to do. What set Erika apart, however, was not just the increase in knowledge I received, rather her active interest and enthusiasm, making lessons actually enjoyable and very meaningful. She was very punctual and looked over work prior to the lesson so that no minute was wasted. She offered alternative authentic expressions, which I would otherwise not have known. Overall, it was a genuinely pleasurable experience learning from Erika!

Chitra S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 45 18-02-2016
Erika Hild tutored my daughter (for both HSC German Continuers and German B1 exam preparation) during the HSC year about 1 hour each week (total of about 45 hours). Erika was very helpful in building my daughters confidence in the language as well as to increase her interest German. She helped her overcome the fear of writing in German and helped improve her grammar. Mekala achieved excellent marks in her HSC and great result in her B1 exam. Mekala is now so much interested in German that she wants to continue learning the language and also wants to go on a exchange program to Germany. Thanks Erika. Chitra Shanker

Amelia C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 17 07-02-2016
My daughter was chosen to be a Rotary Exchange student in Switzerland and needed German language tuition. Over 2.5 months she had 17 lessons with Erika and really made improvements in her level of understanding of grammar and syntax, as well as acquiring some spoken language skills. Erika has an abundance of experience in language tuition and her patient nature, pragmatism and good humour make her an ideal teacher for teenagers. I would highly recommend her services to others and gratefully appreciate the efforts she made to help my daughter achieve her required German language proficiency. Janelle and Amelia Craig February 2016

Eliza G 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
German 35 17-01-2016
Erika Hild was my German tutor (for both HSC German Continuers and Extension) during my Year 12 studies (approx. 35 hours). I found Erika to be extremely helpful, as she provided me with lots of colloquial German phrases, vocabulary and grammar that I would have other whys not known, allowing me to stand out against other students. Erika strived to keep me working at the best of my abilities and made each session informative and entertaining at the same time. I am really appreciative of all the help Erika has given me and I can proudly say I achieved great marks with her help! I would definitely recommend her tutoring for both German students and future-travellers, as learning from a native speaker really makes a difference!

Gavin G 4.5 5 5 5 5 4 4 5 5
German 7 16-12-2015
I found Erika suited my needs as a German tutor as she tailored the sessions to my level of ability, and was effective in taking my German to the next level. The main area of improvement during our 7 sessions was my grammar. This is an area I have struggled with and she explained the difficult aspects clearly to me and helped me cement my learning with drills. Thank you Erika.

L. B 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 4
German Continuers and Extensio 23 27-12-2014
I have been doing German since year 7 and did German Continuers and German extension for the HSC because it was always my favourite subject at school. I went on exchange at the end of year 10 for three months to Münster which also prepared me well for yr 12 german. I did 23 hours with Erika and i found the lessons extremely helpful for assistance for a few reasons. Erika allowed me to tailor my lessons to my needs, ability and what i was doing at school. This helped me prepare for exams or difficult grammar i wanted help with- i could ask her anything on the spot and she was able to help me in a clear way which wasn’t as convoluted or overwhelming as it was at school sometimes. Her knowledge as a native german is obviously optimal, and she was patient and relaxed, which meant i looked forward to my lessons. I would also write lots of practice essays or responses on past papers and she would go through them with me in detail, which meant i improved greatly throughout year 12. Skype was also extremely convenient as i had time to work on other subjects that night without wasting travel time.

Chloë H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 42 21-11-2014
Erika was very supportive and encouraging while i was studying for my IB German B (SL). i lacked confidence yet she focused on my specific areas of need, as well as covering the syllabus. she was also very supportive when i needed help and support before tests and exams. Erika was able to accommodate my school activities by providing on on-line learnign class via Skype and it worked really well for me. If you are serious about improving and learning German, I can highly recommend Erika for her patience, warmth and expertise. She's made all the difference.

Lucy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 85 13-11-2014
Erika was an extremely supportive and helpful tutor over the two years I had her prior to an exchange in Germany, and onwards for HSC German Continuers. She provided help not only tailored to my specific weaknesses regarding grammar and writing, but also provided me with great insight into authentic german idiom, broadening my understanding of the culture and dramatically improving my ability to communicate in German - especially in terms of pronunciation. Her Skype sessions provided me with great flexibility in tutoring times, and her genuine warmth and sense of humour made learning an absolute pleasure. Her professionalism and patience are testament to her fantastic skills as a German tutor - I would highly recommend Erika to any potential language student, whatever their goal or ability! Lucy

Ckesby 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4 4
German 40 07-10-2014
My daughter had Erika for the past year using Skype for the weekly sessions. This occurred without problem, Erika always on time and well prepared for the rigors of HL IB German. Our IB student gained fluency and confidence which was the aim. Many thanks for all your help Erika.

Brian A 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 110 31-01-2014
I highly recommend Erika to anyone who wants to learn German at any level. She teaches clearly and is patient with you if you don't understand something. She really helped me a lot in the 3 years I studied with her.

Liz G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 77 13-01-2014
Erika is a kind and patient tutor who is genuinely invested in her students. Her tuition is worth the price.

Bonnie S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 24 06-01-2014
Throughout the latter half of 2013 I received tutoring from Erika for my HSC German Continuers course, and by extension, my own interest in the country and language. The regular sessions we spent weekly over Skype (and the flexibility that provided) from May to October improved my ability enormously. Despite becoming a part of my HSC studies fairly late, she was able to take my somewhat lackluster base knowledge, show me how to improve and cement what I already knew. Her patience, skill and politeness saved me in no small part from meltdown, and helped me to make it through the exams which I had been so afraid of. Furthermore, in light of the release of my results it’s worth noting that my exam mark rose from my internal assessments (before I was with Erika) – in itself a testimonial of her skill. Erika’s teaching style is personalised and her knowledge (of both German and English) is extensive, whilst her adaptable nature (focusing on the areas of the exam such as speaking, writing, grammar etc.) made learning easy and achievable. I would absolutely recommend Erika.

Mark G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 83 18-12-2013
I chose to have a tutor to aid my studies in the International Baccalaureate (IB), in the IB German B SL course. For Over 2 years Dr Hild showed flexibility, punctuality and understanding in what I can confidently say have been the most stressful years of my life so far. This flexibility is epitomised in our ‘switch’ from lessons in-person to Skype lessons due to the long travel time. This increased my study time but sustained the quality and productivity of our lessons. Aside from the undeniable benefits of conversing with a native German, her vast knowledge of the language (and its forms) and her genuine desire to improve my level of German saw my results and enthusiasm improve throughout the 2 year course. For this reason I would strongly recommend Dr Hild to anybody studying German. Although my results have not yet been released, I can confidently say that whatever success I see will be largely due to the guidance, skill, vocabulary and what I call ‘Golden Sentences’ of Dr Hild! Danke schön!

Kimberley H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 54 15-11-2013
After receiving tutoring for my HSC German continuers course my German has improved exponentially! This would not have been possible without the knowledge and skill Erika brings. Erika is a fantastic tutor who's enthusiasm and patience has helped me further my studies and develop my knowledge of all aspects of the German language, especially my weakness - grammar. Erika is polite and punctual and makes learning accessible through the flexible nature of her lessons, shown with her willingness to host lessons both online and in person. This allowed us to focus on different aspects of the language over our 18 month tuition. Erika's extensive knowledge and resources were useful due to the varied nature of the course with Erika willing to plan lessons depending on the nature of the exam e.g. speaking exam, listening exam. These resources and flexibility combined with Erika's dynamic attitude to learning proved invaluable in preparing me for all aspects of the exam. I would wholeheartedly recommend Erika to anyone wishing to learn German!

Stephanie H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German tutoring 14 04-07-2012
When I met Erika in January I was living a life of glorious naivety at how terrible my German really was .She soon snapped me into reality and for the last 5 months ( 14 sessions altogether ) has guided me to a great level of grammatically perfect German ! I wanted to be at a suitable level to move to Berlin in July and be able to communicate at a decent level and Erika has amazingly got me there … I couldn’t ask for a better teacher , guide and friend that allowed this to happen . Erika du bist Uberragend !

Malcolm & 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 15 02-05-2012
We are seniors planning to visit Germany and need to be able to communicate in German. Erika has put a lot of time & effort into helping us achieve these goals. Learning with Erika has been a great deal of fun and she was able to explain German grammar where other teachers have failed.

Gokhan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 30 07-02-2012
I went from 0 German to having a conversation with my wife and understanding her....Erika is a wonderful teacher and her methods of teaching is first class.I am a business professional in the field of Engineering and am in the process of moving to Switzerland and Erika has made my integration into the German language easy and fun with easy to learn teachings. I found it quite useful and equally effective learning via Skype. I recommend her to anyone who wants to learn German. She is fantastic.

Mary C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 20 10-01-2012
"I spent 3 months learning German with Erika prior to moving to Germany. I did attend many other German classes at various language institutions before but was never 100% satisfied. I am amazed how much my German ability was able to excel in a very short period of time under Erika’s guidance. For the very first time, I actually felt confident that I have finally acquired a very solid foundation in the German language. I would recommend Erika to anyone who is serious about learning German."

Madeleine K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 16 09-11-2011
Having a native speaker as a tutor meant that I learnt not only about the grammar that I had been struggling with, but about idioms and customs that I had no idea about with my high school education. Tutoring was fun and I definitely feel like I have improved in my problem areas and I feel more confident in using my German. At first I was not keen on getting a tutor, but now I would highly recommend it to anyone considering tutoring- it has helped me much more than I thought it could. Danke Erika!

Charlotte 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 27 03-11-2011
Erika was enormously helpful in my HSC preparation for both Continuers and Extension and I felt that both my German and confidence improved greatly! The online tuition using Skype made it a lot easier and more convenient, especially as Erika was always happy to be flexible with times. Having a native German speaker tutoring me was invaluable as I learnt a lot that my class teacher would probably not have known. Without Erika I would certainly not have been up to the challenge of the Extension monologue!

Eward S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 29 23-10-2011
My son's performance in German has improved markedly. In his words he describes Erika as, "a good teacher, very friendly and someone who makes learning German an enjoyable experience". He has therefore decided to continue studying German in year 11.

Jon . 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 27 09-10-2011
I am a high school student and Erika has tutored me via Skype for the last year. It has been fantastic! As an expert German teacher fluent in English, she has helped me to fully understand German grammar and has improved my speaking and listening skills dramatically. Erika always follows up lessons with an Email, including additional learning materials which have been invaluable. Her encouragement and careful and patient approach have made the tutorials a great pleasure and I look forward to them each week. I cannot recommend Dr Hild highly enough to anyone learning German.

Bianca 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 40 12-09-2011
Erika Hild has been inspirational over the past 12 months with her enthusiasm and commitment. Her lessons are always organised and well structured. Her continued persistence has enabled me to improve my conversational skills, grammar and marks. Thank you Erika!

Elaine K 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 16 03-12-2010
Dr Erika Hild has been tutoring me for 8 months now. In the past, I had also learnt Spanish & French for many years from various teachers. However, no other language teacher compares to Dr Erika Hild! She is by far, the best language teacher I have ever come across. Her lessons are comprehensive, well structured, and fun. After every lesson, Dr Hild follows up with an email providing you with exercises & grammar documents to reinforce what you have learnt with her. Dr Hild tailors the work to suit you and your learning requirements, style and pace. Dr Hild is professional, reliable, courteous, patient and encouraging. Though Dr Hild’s first language is German, she is also fluent in English & possesses a strong understanding of English grammar, idioms, culture, etc and she is well able to explain the differences between the German and English language. I highly recommend Dr Hild to anyone who is wishing to learn German, be it for academic, informal or professional purposes.

Nicholas C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 20 02-12-2010
I had a number of lessons on Skype, and this didn't present any problems to our lessons. It was more convenient for us to find lesson times. Lessons were always prepared thoroughly and Erika brought a commanding knowledge of Grammar which was taught with great clarity. Within about 5 months, I was having basic conversations and listening to German News on TV and understanding most of it!! Highly recommended

Debbie H 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 36 27-11-2010
I am a secondary school teacher and a mother of two who decided to enhance my skill set by undertaking a Certificate in Languages at University. Due to my other commitments I had to undertake the course as a distance education student and I found it very difficult to make sense of the course material posted out to me. There were no recorded lectures or tutorials to follow and I found I needed some help. I started working with Erika Hild at the start of 2010 for an hour a week face to face. From the start she was understanding, supportive and friendly. It was a pleasure to come to tutoring. Erika has an extensive knowledge of German grammar and an exceptional ability to clarify concepts by choosing approaches that suit the individual learner. I can clearly remember the “ah ha” moment I had when the function of Konjunctive II suddenly became clear to me. I had poured over text books, written notes and attempted countless exercises but it was Erika’s explanation that finally made the pieces fit together. The support she offers with resources, emails, audio files and every day texts is invaluable. After every session I would find an email with the work covered that session, resources to help me and clear goals to direct my learning. We worked on grammar, speaking, reading, listening and writing. In every area Erika had the ability to support my learning and managed to identify my weaknesses and find solutions to the problems. As a teacher myself, I admire the commitment she has to her students and the sound approach she has to instruction. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone seeking a tutor. If you are committed to improving your skills Erika is the person to ensure you have the supported needed to achieve your goals.

Tristan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 24 11-08-2010
Erika is a great and highly qualified teacher, always very organised, and eash lesson is well structured and still manages to be flexible, allowing learning to occur at a pace suitable for me. New areas are always thoroughly and well explained and I never feel uncomfortable to discuss any issues I may be having with German. I highly recommend Erika to anyone. Vielen dank Erika. Tristan

Joe a 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 18 25-07-2010
We are learning German for a work-related move to Germany in late 2010. Starting from scratch Erika has managed to give us a thorough grounding in German grammar and we are now applying that successfully to every day applications. All that in only 18 hours of work so far! Erika has always impressed us with her preparation and we have been thrilled with the speed of our progress so far. We are looking forward to continuing to work with Erika until we make the big move to Deutschland.

Grace 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 15 23-06-2010
I have been learning German in a small group with Erika for over 9 months. The lessons are well prepared and the classes are enjoyable. I am now well on my way to my goal of becoming fluent in German. Thank you!

Bianca M 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
German 9 26-05-2010
I studied with Erika for a number of months in preparation for moving to Germany to study. She tailored the lessons to my immediate needs, ie. the focus was on the syllabus for Goethe B2 level as that is what I asked to work towards and each lesson was focussed on my areas of weakness. I enjoyed the lessons and felt she was very thorough with Grammar... very helpful. I would recommend her to someone looking for a personal course and for someone who has specific goals. She would always set a homework task and follow up the weeks lesson during the week with extra material via email.

Natalie G 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 4
German 17 21-05-2010
Erika has helped me to re-gain confidence in my studies of HSC German Continuers. She is always prepared for lessons, and caters her lessons to the individual. My improvement in German under her tutelage has really surprised me! She is always punctual and kind, and I feel comfortable asking her about my difficulties in German. I would recommend her to any student struggling in German.

Kate B 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 7 10-11-2009
Erika as one of the best tutors I have had . I would not have been able to do my German oral exams with out her.

Simon Q 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 11 02-11-2009
I have spent three months learning German with Dr. Hild. She has provided well-structured and engaging lessons with lucid exposition. Each lesson was designed to suit my learning style and pace. As a native speaker who has spent much of her life in Australia, Dr. Hild has a firm understanding of the idiom and cultural elements of the both the German and English languages. She is versed in English grammatical terminology. Dr. Hild is amiable, personable, timely and flexible in her approach. I highly recommend Dr. Hild to all students of German, both beginner and advanced.

Kathryn 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
German Beginners 15 06-08-2009
Erika is patient, punctual and always enthusiastic. Undertaking German Beginners in year 12, i was recieving marks of 50 - 60% and am now recieving 90% as Erika has been able to help me improve my grammar, listening, reading, writing and speaking skills which has also dramatically improved my overall confidence and attitude towards German. Our lessons are always prepared, interesting and fun.

Rachel M 4.5 5 4 5 5 5 5 5 5
German 8 19-05-2009
Erika is very skilled at teaching- she is structured in her approach and very practical. She is also a lot of fun and the lessons are interesting and enjoyable. I have been impressed with her knowledge of learning styles and her ability to teach in a way that is specific to the learner. I have learned to speak German with a lot more confidence. She is organised, punctual and very kind.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors