Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Tudor Amarasena -  Melbourne - Noble Park North

Overall rating of 5.0 stars based on 22 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Dulara 4.5 5 4 5 4 5 4 5 4
Sinhala 200 11-12-2020
A great teacher with a vast knowledge in his area of subject

Budvin 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 72 11-12-2020
The best sinhala teacher there is. Helped me get raw 40s in vsl exams

Ayani 4.5 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5
Sinhala 200 11-12-2020
Excellent teacher, helped me gain a great understanding of the sinhala language and motivated me everyday to achieve a high result for my VCE sinhala exam.

Navodya 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 43 11-12-2020
Tudor Sir is always very enthusiastic and passionate about teaching Sinhala to his students. He is fun and friendly to talk to. He taught me VCE Sinhalese very well and it helped me to get an excellent study score . Overall, He is very knowledgeable and helpful and I enjoyed learning from him.

David 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 161 11-12-2020
Excellent service

AQEEL 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 25 19-09-2020
Mr Tudor Amarasena is well versed in the subject and is unparalleled in his delivery and approach to teaching. With many years of teaching experience and many great literary work, Mr Amarasena immediately understood the key issues I had and was able to provide me with many solutions and ways to improve my knowledge and use of the sinhalese language. He was able to provide me with insight into the way the language should be best expressed in literary and spoken terms, key areas examiners focus, the intricate use of sinhalese wordplay and also a deep background on the history of the language including the origin of key statements/phrases. Overall Mr Amarasena helped me improve to a level far beyond what I expected myself to be at and after only a few lessons it was clear that he understood my capabilities and where I was lacking.

Kethmi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 20 26-01-2020
I was very young when I arrived in Australia and as a result, my knowledge of the Sinhala language was rather poor as I began VCE. I was struggling heavily with writing long essays and at times, speaking fluently as well. I reached out to Mr Tudor Amarasena, in hope of improving my skills for the fast-approaching VCE Sinhala examination. From the very start of the year, he was focused on the upcoming SACs and the examination. He guided me through past VCE examinations and ensured that I fully understood the required components. He not only went through the past papers but also on examination techniques, ensuring that I played to my strengths and was always reassured of my capabilities. His knowledge of the VCE examinations and the language itself was immense and inspiring. As a student who was increasingly becoming annoyed with the subject prior, found herself to be enjoying learning about the language and wanting to always do better. Mr Amarasena also supported me a great deal in preparing for my VCE oral examination. While helping me draft the perfect speech, he provided me with useful sources and ensured that I practiced it regularly. I can confidently say that without him, I would have been lost in my pursuit of grasping the language and achieving such unexpectedly high marks. I am forever thankful for his support.

Arani 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 100 05-01-2020
I was so lucky to find Mr. Tudor to support me in Sinhala subject for VCE. He not only taught me the language but also the right way to approach the past paper questions. on the day of my Sinhala exam, I was super confident and assured before I enter to the exam hall because of him. Also on the day of my oral, I exactly knew the questions they would ask and the depth I should know because of his successful guidance throughout the year. He is a very organized and a kind hearted teacher who is ready to help any child who needs help and support. not only that, He makes the language so much easy and fun with a bit of entertainment. Through out the year, he made me do over 10 past papers and instant essay questions. Also made me super ready for section A by practicing all the listening audios from 2010 to 2018 past paper questions more than once. And made me do over 15 comprehension questions and correcting them on the spot. Also he made a huge effort to mark my essays every week and pin pointing my grammar and spelling mistakes over and over again. so a big Thanks to Mr. Tudor for supporting and guiding me to get an over 40 score for Sinhala. I highly recommend going to him if you seek help in Sinhala language and looking forward to get high 40's.

Pawani 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 102 05-01-2020
Teachers are some of the most unsung heroes we have. Among them Mr. Amarasena is a dedicated and one of the best teachers I found in my entire life. He helped me to improve both the written and oral component of the VCE Sinhala exam immensely. From the very beginning he prepared me for the exam after doing more than 20 past exams with time restrictions. This assisted me to face the exam courageously without any fear. He helped me to improve all the three sections of the VCE Sinhala exam as follows: Section 1: Listening and responding- He trained me to listen to the words more attentively with good concentration and tackle the questions properly. His effective feedback helped me to identify my weaknesses and improve my strengths. Most of the time we did the same paper twice to get a better understanding. At first, I felt that listening track in this exam is the hardest to approach. However, after attempting several practice exams, listening section was my strongest and easiest section to approach. Section 2: Reading and responding -He taught me to answer the questions more efficiently without even referring to a dictionary which helped me to save time in the exam. His tips on how to attempt and understand the questions was quite beneficial when answering the questions. He assisted me to complete the reading section within 20 minutes and move on to the next section. Section 3: Writing in Sinhala- Mr. Amarasena requested me to write at least one essay per day which developed my literacy and writing skills overtime. Most of the time he sacrificed his personal time to grade papers, prepare lessons, and to attend conferences which cannot be expected from every teacher. He also gave me books from his personal collection in order to improve my knowledge. Oral component- From the beginning of the year he encouraged me to research on a topic and collect information on the relevant topic. This helped me to familiarise the details and answer the questions more effectively without any fear during the exam. Mr. Amarasena’s proper guidance assisted me to score “A”s and “A+”s in my SACs with an overall score of 40 in the V.C.E exam. His teaching wasn’t only narrowed down to V.C.E exam. He also shared his life experiences in order to give me good life lessons. His words and actions inspired me not to quit and to never stop learning. I highly recommend Mr Amarasena for every student wishing to achieve a very high score in VCE Sinhala.

Bavanthi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 102 15-12-2019
When I first came to Australia from Sri Lanka at a very young age I began to loose my knowledge of Sinhala. However due to VSL I was able to regain that almost lost ability. Towards the end of year 9 I felt as if I wasn't ready to face VCE Sinhala, so I seeked help from Tudor sir. He helped me back with basics of general grammar and writing types. Being in year 11 I did Sinhala year 12 in 2019. With the help of the weekly classes I was able to face SACS and prepare for the exam with confidence. I did practice exams from 2005-2018 with the assistance of sir checking my answers and essay. Fixing my errors so I can redo them and refrain from making the same mistake again. I spent 1 and a half years in Tudor sir's class, which I believe strongly helped me get raw 40 in Sinhala this year! He is very approachable, knowledgeable and understanding! I would surely recommend to seek his help of you feel you need that bit of extra help ! Good luck !

Subodhini 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhela 20 14-12-2019
As the last resort I sought after him for support in VCE Sinhala Language when I got squeezed with my study time due to unexpected personal circumstances. He was kind to me by well instrumenting me with the techniques and tools, to building my confidence for facing Sinhala Language exam. Especially for the preparation of Oral exam, he gave me a big support. He has an enormous wealth of experience and knowledge to exactly identify the lapses and gaps we have with respect to the current context of VCE requirements, and provided the optimum bridging support. As a matter of fact, because of his immense support and effort I was able to score well above 40 in year 2019 VCE exam.

Manesha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 20 19-10-2019
Mr Tudor was an excellent tutor and helped me immensely in achieving success in my VCE Sinhala journey. He is especially extremely helpful with exam revision as he marks all/any amount of practice essays you give him and provides constructive criticism on each piece of work you provide him with. This helped me improve my essay scores by a significant amount. He also helped me substantially for the oral component of the exam and SACs as he goes through your practice speeches with you and pinpoints any errors or room for improvement.

Nithini 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 50 11-04-2019
Mr Amarasena's dedication and guidance was critical in my journey towards scoring a raw 50 in Sinhala in 2019. Not only was he extremely experienced and knowledgeable, his attitude and teaching style allowed my to reach my full potential. Section 1- Listening and Responding Mr Amarasena began preparing me for this section quite early on. Each week we did a practice exam and corrected it together. While doing so, he taught me numerous exam techniques, tips and tricks that are essential to perform well in this section. As there are lots of unfamiliar Sinhala and English words used in this section, Mr Amarasena's extensive vocabulary and his perseverance as a teacher helped me to not only learn these words. but also to familiarise myself with the first section of the exam. Section 2- Reading and Responding Similar to section 1, for section 2 also, we did numerous practice in class. We discussed questions from past papers together and he made sure I identified my mistakes and understood everything completely before moving on. As being fluent in Sinhala is essential in performing well in this section, Mr Amarasena also guided me by giving me books from his collection and always encouraged me to read and extend my knowledge of the language. He taught me many things about literature that still help to this very day. Our discussions about Sinhala literature, cinema, culture and society prepared me for the exam and made me feel confident and capable on the day of the exam. Section 3- Writing in Sinhala As this is the section with most marks allocated in the exam. Mr Amarasena made sure I was developing the correct skills and techniques for this from very early on. He taught me the structure of various types of essays until I was comfortable with each one and could write comfortable on any of the prompts at the exam. Mr Amarasena was willing to correct as many essays I wrote and made sure to give me constructive feedback on each one. The time and effort he spent on each essay I wrote was reflected in my sac and exam marks. Without Mr Amarasena, I would not have been able to achieve what I did. However, his classes did not only prepare me for the exam- they made more aware and appreciative of the language and the Sinhalese culture and history. I wish for you to get the same benefits that I did, as a student of Mr Amarasena. Best of luck for the future!

Hansi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 50 06-11-2018
Mr Amarasena is a dedicated tutor who helped me to improve both the written and oral component of the VCE sinhala exam immensely. He helped me to improve all of the three sections of the VCE sinhala exam as follows: Section 1: Listening and responding -Gave out lots of helpful tips on how to tackle the questions under stressful exam conditions. -Trained me to listen to and isolate key, important parts in the listening track. -Provided lists of common words and phrases, so, that, I am familiar with common unique sinhala phrases and play on words that may appear in the listening component of this exam. This allowed me the opportunity to catch words quickly from the listening track and make note of them. -The listening track in this exam is very fast and so, it is often difficult to concentrate on the relevant sections and simultaneously, make notes. However, through multiple practice exams, Mr Amarasena, trained me to extract the core message and hence, answer the questions successfully. -After every practice exam, he discussed the answers thoroughly and even replayed the track until I was 100% sure I understood it. - He also pointed out common mistakes and tricky parts of questions that might cause misunderstandings and by being aware of them, I was able to avoid them completely in future exams and really focus on what is relevant. Section 2: Reading and responding -Taught me how to use reading time efficiently. -Explained difficult words in these readings in an easy to understand manner. -Provided a variety of resources with extra readings so that, I am able improve my reading comprehension. -Provided access to sinhala short novels from his collection for me to read, hence, I was able to become familiar with the language and improve my vocabulary, which also helped with the writing component. -Trained me on how to efficiently highlight important parts and skim read these passages. -Provided links to useful readings from Sri Lankan newspapers, so, I was constantly updated of the current events that were taking place in Sri Lanka. We often discussed these events in class and the wealth of knowledge I attained from these discussions, greatly assisted my writing and helped me to face the exam with confidence. Section 3: Writing in sinhala -Provided expert sayings from famous people that really helped my essays stand out from other students. -Improved my knowledge of the historical and cultural heritage of Sri Lanka which helped me to write informative essays. -Greatly improved my grammar, punctuation and sentence structure. -Provided a range of exam style practice topics for me to write. -Helped brainstorm ideas for essays. -Provided useful tips and techniques, that would otherwise cost marks. -Reviewed my essays outside of class hours. -Taught me on how to manage time and organise information effectively and efficiently. -Provided information on how to structure different formats of writing, for example what to include when writing a letter, how to address it and what kind of key features I need to include to make it distinct from another format such as a speech script. -Provided A+ model essays that helped guide my writing. He also provided excellent advice on how to tackle and achieve a great mark in the oral component of the exam. I was able to confidently approach my speech because of his support and tutelage. I travelled 2.5hrs for his tutoring as he is an excellent, enthusiastic, patient and dedicated tutor with a wealth of knowledge to share. He helped me to greatly improve sinhala in a very short amount of time, therefore, I highly recommend Mr Amarasena for every student wishing to achieve a very high score in VCE sinhala.

Nicole 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Singhalese 20 31-10-2018
Tudor is a great tutor and helped me build language skills and confidence in the sinhala language. He is professional and flexible and has a world of knowledge to share

Imma 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 60 16-12-2017
Mr Amarasena is an excellent tutor for anyone hoping to achieve high results for Sinhala. He constantly improved my Sinhala writing and speaking abilities by reviewing the work I’ve done. His support and advice given to me during my oral presentation preparation gave me the confidence to perform well with no hesitation. He also has a wide range of materials such as books and sample essays helped me enhance their vocabulary and grammar. Throughout the lessons he went through past VCE exam papers including the listening component which gave me the experience to face the final exam without much anxiety. The raw score of 40 I received is a reflection of the guidance I was given by Mr Amarasena, who has 20+ years of experience.

Ruwanima 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 40 03-06-2017
I would highly recommend Mr. Amarasena to any student who is hoping to achieve a high mark in Sinhala. I was struggling with the writing component and I had no idea about the oral component, But Mr Amerasena helped me to improve my writing skills tremendously. He believed in me and encouraged me to do my best. He always gave feedback on what I did wrong and where I need to improve. He has experience and had material to help me to improve my writing skill which would have never happened without his help. His knowledge about the language and the society helped me many times while practicing for my oral. He did all the past VCAA examination papers and went over them thoroughly. He always did his best to help the students to achieve their best and offered his time and knowledge to help them.

Disara 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 40 06-05-2017
Mr. Amarasena is a dedicated tutor who is always trying to help his students achieve their best He is always ready to answer questions and explain concepts clearly and he is always willing to offer his time if you need any extra help I would highly recommended for students who want to attain a good knowledge about the Sinhala language and is also hoping to achieve great results for their VCE examinations.

Nisanki 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 40 02-05-2017
Highly recommended for students who want to attain a good knowledge about the Sinhala language and is also hoping to achieve great results for their VCE examinations. I personally had no idea on how to prepare for my exams especially the oral component, but Mr Amarasena who has experience at teaching for over 20 years knew just what to do to help me. He has a really in depth knowledge about the subject and offers to help you anytime you are faced with a question. All past VCCA examination papers where discussed in class and he constantly gives you feedback on how to improve your ways in tackling the exam papers and also how to allocate time during the exam for great results. I personally felt really prepared for the exams because of Mr Amarasena's guidance, I knew exactly what to do when I sat for examination and I was also able to gain important life skills through his teaching.

Danushika 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 40 25-04-2017
I would highly recommend this tutor for students who wants to achieve a high mark for VCE sinhala. He has extensive knowledge on the language and has material that would support the understanding of the language and improve writing ability. I personally received a raw score of 41 and I can confidently assure that his teaching played a major part in me receiving that score as he went through all the past papers and tremendously helped with the oral component of the exam.

Chathuni 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 40 05-02-2017
Highly recommended for students who typically want to achieve a higher study score for sinhala. The explanations and demonstrations are very clear and various methods have been used to make us understand the concepts more thoroughly. All the VCAA pastpapers were discussed during the class and we can ask questions anytime if we need help. Oral and the listening components in the exam were well practiced during the class and in that way, we were prepared for the exam well before the exam.

Sachintha S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Sinhala 100 21-11-2015
I was tutored by Mr Amarasena for over 2 years whilst I was attending the Victorian School of Languages. He was a great teacher with a very sound and deep knowledge of the subject of Sinhala and was invaluable in improving my Sinhala writing and speaking in preparation for the LOTE Sinhala exam for VCE. I attained a scaled score of 43 for the subject, which was the highest score in my class. He is an excellent teacher and I would highly recommend him to others.