Matching Students and Tutors around Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Student Reviews

Mr Thomas Vu -  Brisbane - Carindale

Overall rating of 5.0 stars based on 55 reviews Show Ratings
Student Stars K C P A A P I V Subject Lessons Date
Helena 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry, UMAT 40 29-01-2019
Thomas was an amazing tutor who I found really easy to connect with. He definitely helped lift my grades and get me into medicine at UQ. I always looked forward to the weekly tutoring sessions and knew I could always count on him, particularly during stressful times. 10/10 would recommend

Isabel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 24-11-2018
He seriously knows everything. And often times he had many ideas for my writing when I got stuck.

Shreyas 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 100 24-11-2018
Definitely all the assignment help (especially sciences: Biology and Chemistry) since I wasn't particularly strong in structuring scientific reports but Thomas helped me take it up to a much higher standard of work- can't thank him enough- as well as clarifying lots of chemistry principles and content.

Trisha 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, UMAT 50 07-11-2018
I think Thomas is a great tutor, he really helped me extend my thinking and ideas. For UMAT, he provided me with many resources that helped me expose myself to a variety of questions. He is very knowledgable and has a deep understanding in every subject. I totally recommend Thomas to anyone, He is a very kind and helpful person and coming to him has definitely benefitted me academically at school.

Jaina 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English, Chemistry 60 07-11-2018
Thomas explains concepts in a way which students understand and can relate to. Often, my teachers can be really confusing and uncommunicative and Thomas helps to fill the gaps in my knowledge. I genuinely look forward to lessons as I feel like the most effective way to learn is if you are able to engage with the teacher, and with Thomas, I am able to approach him with any questions of concern (I had many, many questions). Could have been more flexible with time, but I understand that he has many students!

Blake 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 40 07-11-2018
Very patient, rephrased explanations if I didn't understand them at first. Has a very wide knowledge of chemistry and was able to prepare me for upcoming terms when I understood the current topics. 10/10 would recommend.

Matt 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 35 07-11-2018
Very welcoming and accepting to all knowledge levels in different areas of study. An excellent all rounder of all queries posed in science subjects that excelled in helping polish off final assignments to ensure the deserved mark was achieved.

Savindie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT, Chemistry 30 02-11-2018
Thomas’ guidance was more than just the average tutor’s. Every lesson was extremely productive and I found myself understanding concepts/topics with so much more clarity than I had previously. He has a special knack for being able to turn such a complex concept/topic or UMAT question into one that is actually straight-forward. Whenever I had any UMAT queries, he was always able to assist in a constructive manner that taught me HOW to approach those question (rather than just telling me the answer). His guidance gave me such a strong foundation for UMAT preparation and I could not recommend him enough.

Zoe 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Biology 50 23-09-2018
Thomas is very helpful and ensures that I understand all of the concepts and explains how to do everything better in future. He explains everything clearly and effectively, and will help explore other ways to approach certain areas if needed.

Sufi 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 45 23-09-2018
Thomas is a very engaging and supportive tutor who explains topics in extreme detail in a very understandable manner

Chanith 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 70 23-09-2018
He is a very knowledgeable person who is enthusiastic about what he does.

Andre 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 40 23-09-2018
Thomas is a brilliant tutor. He is a great communicator & is able to provide helpful responses to any queries proposed to him. His aura & ambience, personally, makes me feel very comfortable - taking away any sort of hesitation that might come with asking a question. His ability to help with any assignment - EEI's, ERTs, analytical essays and pieces of creative writing, you name it is second to none. I say with confidence that Thomas is the best UMAT tutor you will find in Brisbane. With any UMAT related query I had, he was able to walk me through getting to the right answer & teach me the appropriate techniques required to solve problems of a similar nature in the future. Thomas has greatly assisted me this year, and his help has no doubt had a significant influence on my results. Thomas is a legend, that pretty much sums it up.

Linda 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 10 07-09-2018
Thomas was very professional and knowledgeable, he was great at helping me identify areas to improve and boosting my confidence before the exam! Always willing to find time for his students, particularly during the busy UMAT season. Highly recommended!!!

Pavleen 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
UMAT 30 24-07-2018
Thomas is friendly and knowledgable in regards to UMAT preparation. He has helped me in improving my skills in tacking question and taught me methods to approach questions. He is a good listener and effective communicator. I would recommend him to future students.

Stephanie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 20 24-07-2018
Very knowledgable, experienced and down to earth. He is passionate in his job and works hard to focus on improving your individual results. He uses strategies that are specific for your skill and experience rather than applying a generic strategy and expecting you to understand. :) I am a person who lives of constructive feedback, but unfortunately I have none for you Thomas, just very grateful for all the help you've given me! You've been fantastic!

Sammey 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 25 24-07-2018
Thomas was empathetic and able to provide the type of learning that was best for me. He has a great amount of knowledge about the topics he teaches. He is also very easy to get along with and encouraging.

Emja 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 40 14-12-2017
I think Thomas is very friendly, approachable, and intelligent, and hence allows his students to grasp concepts to their full potential without having to fear failure. I like that when he is asked to reiterate on things, he does so willingly. Lastly, I appreciate that Thomas creates a comfortable environment for his students, which is very important when learning.

Kian 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 50 14-12-2017
Thomas was a really effective tutor who definitely improved my results. Chemistry was a subject that I was very worried about going into my final year at school. However, with Thomas providing additional assistance and explanations, for both assignment and exam preparation, I was able to conclude the year with an A in Chemistry. Thomas is incredibly proficient at conveying information and explaining concepts in a way that was easy to understand and apply. Additionally, Thomas is very aware of current curriculum elements and teaches all necessary aspects - not wasting precious time on irrelevant concepts.I would highly recommend Thomas for both high achievers, and those wishing to improve their results. Thank you for all your help, Thomas.

Jonathan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 120 08-11-2017
The Sessions were great enjoyable and the sessions times were flexible. A Near Perfection for tutoring. He teaches 'Easy'. Has Flexible hours and discusses and any problems that occurs. Pretty Chilled. Really Smart. Relaxing environment and does a great job educating where the teaches fail to. Should become a teacher? Its was very entertaining and quite the learning experience having him as a tutor! I feel motivated to go home and study after our sessions complete. a feeling that rarely occurs Thanks for putting up with me these last three years tom! I looked forward to every session that were both education and entertaining. I always became inspired to work and study harder after our sessions together! I do hope we meet again in the future and until then best of wishes

Kyle 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 07-11-2017
Excellent even from the first impression. Allowed me to learn a lot more than inside the classroom

Sophia 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 60 07-11-2017
Very smart and very good at explaining complex topics using simple terms.

Natalie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 50 07-11-2017
Thomas was able to significantly relieve the amount of stress that I experienced in year 12 and ensured i achieved high marks in all subjects. He improve my writing and editing skills and effectively prepared me for university by helping me to distinguish areas in which my work could be improved. With the help of Thomas my work always exceeded teachers expectations and was of a high standard.

Alessia 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 01-11-2017
I felt that Thomas could guide and help me understand the learning in my subjects that I struggled with, better. I found the editing most helpful as it helped improve my work to make more sense. Improvements? Nothing, you were such a great help and I couldn't thank you enough!

Tasmim 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Legal Studies 25 28-10-2017
Very successful on how he teaches me, I get all my work done and my grade increases all the time. Improvements- nothing really :)

Bea 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 100 28-10-2017
Thomas has been nothing short of excellent. Having Thomas for UMAT, English, Biology and Chemistry, I can easily say that there’s nothing that Thomas doesn’t know; he has an extensive knowledge on every subject. With his ability to create a comfortable learning atmosphere, great communication skills, and your best interest at heart, he is everything that you would want in a tutor. Saying this with 100% confidence, he’s the best UMAT tutor you’ll find in Brisbane. He provides up to date resources, and can teach you how to approach and solve any UMAT question. In terms of assignments, he has an profound understanding of assessment criteria, thus ensuring that all work reaches a high standard. Not to mention, his editing skills are impeccable! English assignments, EEI’s, ERT’s, you name it. I come out of every lesson feeling confident in my work. Would highly recommend!

Iman 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 40 28-10-2017
He was very helpful in the structuring of assignments. Also, he helped in what I had to write and with grammar extremely well :)

William 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 60 23-10-2017
Thomas was incredibly helpful with my academics in year 12, he was always enthusiastic , insightful and friendly.

Janani 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 60 30-09-2017
Thank you Thomas

Avishek 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 30 30-09-2017
Very good knowledge. I felt comfortable in Thomas's tutor lessons, as he was open to reiterate and explain things, as opposed to some other tutors who have an 'attitude' and treat you like a kid.

Lachie 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 40 30-09-2017
Thomas helped me in maths and made maths easier for me.

Vy 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 12 29-07-2017
The tips and tricks Thomas gave about his experience of how to do the questions on the UMAT exam were very useful and it helped me understand better. I wish that we could have more time and I would have known you sooner. Overall it was very very good.

Sean 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 18 29-07-2017
I found Thomas most helpful because we would go through the different strategies and get feedback on every question

Bek 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
UMAT 24 29-07-2017
The face-to-face interaction was an essential part of my tutoring experience with Thomas. It enabled me to clearly understand concepts and methods for understanding answering questions. His extensive knowledge also meant that he could give very insightful answers. Furthermore, the easy-going yet productive atmosphere provided a great area to learn and engage in study. Everything was great, the only improvement I could suggest is to be available for more time slots.

Doris 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Medical Interviews 6 07-07-2017
Very professional and insightful preparation techniques for interviews. He was quite knowledgeable in all the aspects regarding medical applications. We focussed on preparing responses that were well constructed but didn't seem rehearsed which I thought was good. I ended up feeling very confident following my interview despite some tricky questions. He also helped me with editing my personal statement and portfolio with a lot of detail and made it really stand out. He had a professional and easy going attitude. Highly recommended

Rene E 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 40 22-02-2017
I got into med Tom :) life changer

Vilasini 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 35 07-11-2016
Very helpful. Improved my grades for everything.

Sophie M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 45 03-11-2016
Thomas was very helpful in exam preparations- we went through the revision sheets and then other questions that I haven't already done in the text book. When there weren't answers to revision questions, he would tackle it in a logical, helpful way.

Sophie F 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 03-11-2016
Continue being your perfect self!

Orinda 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 03-11-2016
He was able to improve my grade drastically and after tutoring lessons with him my english in general also improved :)

Ambika 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 50 08-09-2016
Thomas was most helpful in all my subjects. every lesson we had he provided me with better knowledge and understanding of my subjects every time.

Mel 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 90 08-09-2016
I owe a lot of my success to Tom. He maintains a friendly and welcoming atmosphere but always ensures that the work is done, and done well. He is extremely dedicated to his students and will always lift the content and creativity of the work to a higher standard. I had no hesitation in asking him questions or to stop and elaborate on a point as he is truly someone you can have a genuine conversation with and be entirely comfortable around, which is important in a tutor. Tom is able to connect with the student and possesses a certain level of reliability which a lot of other tutors lack and because of this, I never felt as though going to tutoring was a task. Instead, it was something I looked forward to. With our tutoring sessions always being the most productive two hours of my day, I have and will continue recommend Tom to all my friends.

Caryse 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 45 04-09-2016
Thomas is extremely knowledgeable and provided very insightful assistance. He was a great help with assignments and coursework and was invaluable in helping me survive grade 12.

Dylan 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 35 04-09-2016
Thomas provided me with excellent guidance on my assignments and other in class work. I felt as if Thomas was not just my tutor but my mentor at times, with this came great results. Thomas was always prepared for my lessons with a positive attitude as well as an easy to understand lesson plan. I recommend Thomas to all who wish to have a highly knowledgeable and understanding tutor. Thank you for my final year Thomas, I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.

Eleni M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 50 02-09-2016
An education, a calculator, a pencil, a pen, a ruler, some laughs, a reason to live. Thomas was a wonderful tutor. Nothing to complain about.

Adele R 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 35 02-09-2016
Probably the best English tutor my sister and I have ever had. He teaches everyday of the week and always goes above and beyond to fit as much into one lesson as possible. An extremely interesting tutor with a wide knowledge of every different topic

Marco 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 30 19-12-2015
All was great. Cannot think of an improvement. Would be great if tutor could also do Home Visits if possible. But everything was a great experience. Thomas is not only a tutor but also a mentor for students. He not only has a great knowledge on tutored subjects but he is also great with young people. His communication and student approach is excellent. Thomas is able to motivate a student, and is excellent for students who are shy or lack confidence like my nephew was at first. He also teaches students "How to study, research information and present" - skills students can use later in life such as University or in general. Thomas just gives that bit extra to each of his tutoring sessions. Grateful Aunt

Nathanael 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 50 28-10-2015
Thomas was able to enhance and improve my English and assignment writing skills which has aided in my schooling pursuits.

Jenny L 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Chemistry 60 25-10-2015
Excellent Knowledge. Positive encouragement!

Jade D 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths B 50 20-10-2015
Tom was very helpful and accomodating to all my work that I needed and questions that I asked. I was able to send questions and assignments through outside of my session and they were answered and the assignments were sent back with feedback that I have found very useful.

Chris S 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
English 20 03-08-2015
Tom is the best when it comes to writing assignments. I've had tutors before and none of them sit down and actually really help they just talked. I was afraid that this would be the case. You can tell Tom has helped a lot of assignments because he knows exactly what my teacher wanted. Even The first lesson he setup a full structure for me just by looking at the task sheet a for few seconds so i could start writing straight away. Tom goes through my writing line by line and if there is a better way to put it he can think of it straight away and he explains exactly why so my writing skill improves as well. When I show him what I have written he tells me exactly what my assignment needs so when I walk away I know exactly what to do when i get home. Since tutoring with Tom I haven't been afraid of starting assignments and essays

Joane G 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Umat 40 29-07-2015
I learn best when I talk things out and have meaningful discussion, which is what I most liked about Tom's way of teaching. I did think that possibly having a slightly more structured approach to learning would have helped (eg. goals and timeline), but overall great teaching and value for time/money.

Rachel C 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Umat 12 27-07-2015
I would highly recommend Thomas as a tutor. He is very well prepared and knowledgable. He provided a lot of insight and aid into my preparation.

Olivia M 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths B 187 29-04-2015
Thomas comes well prepared, he explains the subject matter well and does not move on to the next topic until he knows I have a full understanding of the topic. Tom gives examples for me to do in the lesson. Tom was enthusiastic and patient with me. My results have improved drastically since tutoring with Tom started last year.

Jess T 4.5 5 5 5 4 5 4 5 5
English 35 30-03-2015
My Mum and I were very happy with his considerable commitment to my studies, his willingness to continue teaching even after the lesson time expired, if there was something that I still needed to grasp before the rest of the school week. The way he was always able to think up of a better sounding sentence or key point was impressive.

Anna T 5.0 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
Maths 150 14-07-2014
11/10 Very helpful, would attend future lessons.

Melbourne Tutors

Sydney Tutors

Brisbane Tutors

Perth Tutors

Adelaide Tutors

Canberra Tutors

Gold Coast Tutors

Sunshine Coast Tutors